1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civilization 5 Rants Thread

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,583
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Your right, it is a matter of personal taste. What you call a beautiful game I call a total waste time and money. That's the neat thing about opinions and these forums, they mesh into an ecclectic array of differing viewpoints :mischief:
     
  2. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,583
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Let me know if you run for congress bro, you prose really well :goodjob:
     
  3. MedicalElephant

    MedicalElephant Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Well why not. Saw this thread so thought I may as well say my bit.

    Got Civ5 purely to see how all the bad reports could possibly be true and this is what I found after my first game..

    Where on Earth did all the different units go? I seemed to go warriors-archers-swordsmen-musketmen before I thought I'd even got going. Yep, its way too easy for some reason, I didn't feel like I was really having much effect on how the game was going. I hardly looked at the city screen cos everything seemed to just take care of itself. I didn't mind the hexes or the non stacking units and overall its a nice looking game, I just didn't feel like I was play civ. All the little details that go into management of cities was somehow hard to find. The satisfaction you get from playing civ comes from the huge number of options and ways to change your gameplan to win. If this were the first civ game ever, it would have been good, but you would be eagerly awaiting the sequel to see how they expand on the idea.

    Sadly most of what I heard was true. They ripped the heart out of civ.

    Have gone back to civ4 bts...
     
  4. mintcandy

    mintcandy King

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    609
    Two things I really dislike about Civ V.

    One: I can't save or load in Strategic View, I have to switch back to "Normal View". Maybe not much of an issue for most people, but it is with my putput laptop.

    Two: When I click on the icons reporting the change in the status of some of my units (like the spawning of a new Great Person or that one of my units is now eligible for a promotion), the view centers on where the appropriate unit is, but the active unit cursor does not automatically switch to the centered unit. Why is this an issue?

    Because sometimes I forget, and I try to move the centered unit a couple of spaces, but it turns out that I just told the real active unit on the other side of the world I want them to move 10+ turns right next to the centered unit...and it's a hassle to figure out where that unit is, because it isn't active anymore. Urgh.
     
  5. lollibast

    lollibast Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    yes you can, don't hit ESCAPE, use your mouse. Took me a while to figure it out though. But yeah, you're right. CIV 5 sucks, I tried oh so hard to learn to like it but to no avail.
     
  6. Brian Shanahan

    Brian Shanahan Permanoob

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,897
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The house that I shaped in my heart
    Still not playing the game. No point until there is a total mechanics overhaul to remove all the broken stuff (basically the whole game).

    But I noticed that in a SG I'm following (found in here) that while you can walk a soldier unit through a neutral non-soldier unit (settler, worker) you can't do the same with your own non-soldier units.

    Way to not fix a broken feature properly guys!

    P.S. This thread should be stickied as first thread and retitled "Read before you buy". Seriously.
     
  7. logintime

    logintime Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    I realize I've ranted on here before about how I place most of the blame for Civ 5's lack of quality squarely on Jon Shafer. Having come across something that drives the point though, I thought I would share it.

    This is a link to a discussion on the problems his mod for Civ4, Final Frontier, had. Notice how many issues seem exactly the same as the complaints about Civ5. Not enough resources? Check. Tech tree too short. Check. Not enough buildings? Check. Slow movement system, Barbarian (Pirate) issues, not enough units, shoddy diplomacy, not enough improvements, and bad AI? Check, check, check, check, and check.

    There are even very specific complaints there, like a simplified gameplay that somehow actually leads to more micromanagement or how the AI will travel halfway across the world/galaxy to found a city right next to you, that might as well have been written directly about Civ5.

    With that having been said, it's noticeable how much Civ5 has improved since Shafer left and how many changes have been made that directly contradicted the original game design as he laid it out. Unfortunately, the base of the game is still broken and I have very limited hopes that this will ever be fixed, but it's worth saying that Firaxis on a whole was not the problem. Their inexperienced and problematic lead designer was.
     
  8. Torisen

    Torisen Professor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Whittier, CA
    Unlike a lot of the posters here, my first impression (or maybe second) of CiV was pretty positive; at least, I remember enjoying the game. I hadn't played any Civ in a long time, and decided to fire it up again pretty recently.

    Oh. My. God. So. Slow.

    I don't suppose there's a fix for that?
     
  9. n00bxqb

    n00bxqb Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Buy a new, top-of-the-line computer in 2017, travel back in time to today.
     
  10. lollibast

    lollibast Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    and dont forget to bring civ6
     
  11. Jarwy

    Jarwy Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    This still going? Damn.

    Personally I'm already waiting for Civ6 that they will most certainly make because they sold so many copies with their false advertising. Or maybe there was no false advertising. I wouldn't know since I have bleached all relevant details of this monsterous game out of my mind in hopes it would end the nightmares and waking up screaming covered up in cold sweat. :cry:

    But it's still good to come by occasinally to swat at the odd kid of Civ family. Bitter civ vet out. :p
     
  12. Ozzy88

    Ozzy88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    I don't understand why people are thinking that Civ VI will be "better". Civ V is clearly the new direction that Firaxis wants to take this series and personally I am all for it. Hide the heavy micro management stuff away and let the hardcore people find it, make the game more accessible to new comers and fix some bugs.

    Entitled much?
     
  13. Freesmog

    Freesmog Skeptic1938222569

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    outside the city
    I also don't see Civ6 being a huge improvement, at least I won't trust review sites this time unless truly independent.
     
  14. gps

    gps King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    Totally agree. I well remember the "CIV sucks so much but CiV will be so much better" threads - and allready at that time said: let's wait and see before starting to get ecstatic. The problems with CIV only were some hardware issue, some unfamiliar game mechanics plus many people having their difficulties with the new 3D graphics. Issues with CiV today seem to be much more severe...
     
  15. lollibast

    lollibast Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    You're getting us wrong. We don't want CiVI so much but the rants thread that comes with it.
     
  16. Brian Shanahan

    Brian Shanahan Permanoob

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,897
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The house that I shaped in my heart
    I don't think moving every single unit every single turn contributes to cutting micromanagement. In fact the whole war engine is a massive increase in micromanagement.

    Anyway what was the amount of necessary micro in Civ 4 anyway? I'd put it at moving the sliders every so often. Yes you could do a lot more, but the game was well enough designed that for large parts of the game that was essentially all you had to do.
     
  17. claestw

    claestw Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Any reason why improvements won't automatically remove Marshes? That, or I want a worker command that sends my worker around automatically removing all marshes and redundant roads.
     
  18. Civciv5

    Civciv5 Grand Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,103
    Location:
    Nergenshuizen, Belgium
    Some things that I dislike about Civ5
    -Terrible diplomacy
    -Preposterous Eurocentrism
    Everything is Eurocentric,the techtree,the scenarios,the civs,the leaders,the everything!
     
  19. Ajuga

    Ajuga Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    303
    Most people seem to complain about the most silly things in this thread.
    The game is pretty good, the diplomacy needs some work but they are fixing that in the expansion so it's all cool.

    Also Eurocentrism? What do you want then? South-Americacentrism?
    Thing is, the European countries are the norm, America started as nothing but colonies from European countries and pretty much all non-European countries and civilizations died out early or were technologically behind.
    The only exceptions being some countries in Asia which had the same technologies but were a bit ahead.
     
  20. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,394
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    not sure where else to post this, I don't want to create a thread for one quick question.

    My first game building guided missiles, but I've noticed that I can't seem to rebase them to other cities. Is this a bug or feature? Can you not put guided missiles in other cities? Or can they only go on naval vessels? I was pretty sure I was able to do it once my game, but after that it wouldn't let me rebase them to another city (close to the front lines).
     

Share This Page