1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Crash Exception Policy Update

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Hall of Fame Discussion' started by Denniz, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. Ozbenno

    Ozbenno Fly Fly Away Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11,063
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    If the save is more recent than the autosave and you didn't make any moves from it when you crashed, yes continue from that save. Remember to send us an email when you submit the game and upload the crash recovery save.
     
  2. Infantry#14

    Infantry#14 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,577
    What is the crash recovery save?
     
  3. Ozbenno

    Ozbenno Fly Fly Away Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11,063
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    From the Crash Exception page...

    Two save files are required to verify the circumstances of the crash:
    The autosave file used to restart following the crash.
    A manual save file taken at the point when you have replayed up until the point you where when the crash occurred.
     
  4. Infantry#14

    Infantry#14 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,577
    Thanks. Nevermind, I decide to start a new game.
     
  5. shulec

    shulec Grrrrr... I AM the force! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    No longer Chicago :(
    This is from the crash exception page:

    "The CivilizationIV.ini file setting: "AutoSaveInterval" must be set to 1."

    Can someone help me do this (for Vista). I go into Documents>mygames>BTS and open the CivilizationIV.ini file in word pad. I change the setting to 1. As soon as I start the game, it seems to revert back to 4.

    Can anyone help?
     
  6. cabert

    cabert Big mouth

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,710
    Location:
    France
    are you sure you changed the BtS civilization.ini too?
     
  7. Denniz

    Denniz Where's my breakfast? Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11,007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas
    It shouldn't do that. Does it remember your game settings (Lock modified assets, no Barbs, etc.)? I am not sure about using wordpad for editing. It might do something to mess with the format. You should use Notepad, instead.
     
  8. shulec

    shulec Grrrrr... I AM the force! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    No longer Chicago :(
    Actually, I changed only the BtS civilization.ini. Do I have to change the Vanilla one too?

    When I click on the BtS civilization.ini file, it automatically opens in Wordpad. I am not familiar with Notepad.
     
  9. Lexad

    Lexad royalcrownchinpokomaster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,342
    Location:
    Russia
    I have similar issues sometimes when I switch in between BUFFY and regular 3.19 for Pitboss game.

    Do you have non-standard-English letters in the path to .ini?
     
  10. shulec

    shulec Grrrrr... I AM the force! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    No longer Chicago :(
    No. All standard English.
     
  11. Sun Tzu Wu

    Sun Tzu Wu Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,907
    NotePad is under Accessories folder in Start menu for Vista, XP and earlier Microsoft operating systems; probably same place in Windows 7.

    I prefer to use free and open source Notepad++:

    http://notepad-plus-plus.org/

    Both notepad and notepad++ will edit CivilizationIV.ini files just fine.

    Sun Tzu Wu
     
  12. shulec

    shulec Grrrrr... I AM the force! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    No longer Chicago :(
    I changed the civilization.ini file for both vanilla and BtS and that seems to have resolved my issue.
     
  13. shulec

    shulec Grrrrr... I AM the force! Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,374
    Location:
    No longer Chicago :(
    My problem is not fixed after all. I found that when I save the civilization.ini file after I have changed the auto save interval to 1, it reverts back to 4 once I start BTS. If I change it after BTS is started, of course, it has no effect.

    I tried the above suggests and none helped.

    Below is an image of me saving the file:
    Spoiler :
     
  14. Denniz

    Denniz Where's my breakfast? Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11,007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas
    What about you other settings. Did they reset as well?

    The only time I have see Civ4 rewrite the ini file has been related to patches. Did you do something with your install, play a scenario, etc. that might have caused it to rewrite it? Something has to be different as most players don't have a problem.

    You might want to check the Civ4 Tech support forum for similar reports.
     
  15. Sun Tzu Wu

    Sun Tzu Wu Chieftain Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,907
    My BtS CivilizationIV.ini is rewritten with default values with roughly weekly regularity.

    My solution has been to keep backup copies of my CivilizationIV.ini and always copy from the backup over the game's ini before starting the game. Since doing this I've had no issues with ini parameters not being what I expect them to be.

    Also, I always check that my auto directory is being filled with an auto save file for every turn as validation that my CivilizationIV.ini is correct. Actually, I check this at least after each session, not necessarily after every turn like it sounds.

    Sun Tzu Wu
     
  16. Misotu

    Misotu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    931
    Yes, I have noticed that my .ini file reverts to default values periodically. It's not just as a result of patches. It feels like it happens spontaneously, although I'm sure that can't be right :hmm: I haven't been able to link cause and effect so far, but I can confirm that it definitely does occur. I have been badly caught out by it a few times ...
     
  17. enKage

    enKage Follower of Zoamelgustar

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Location:
    Łódź, PL
    Ugh, I've already had a really nice game heading straight to my personal best, and... the storm cut off electricity for some time ;/ I suppose in such cases crash policy is not working (very peaceful game, nothing special in the turn played, no chance and need of cheating)?

    :( :( :( I'm really really really saaaaaaaad and angry
     
  18. Ozbenno

    Ozbenno Fly Fly Away Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11,063
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Follow the rules and submit the games as normal with an email to us and we'll look at it.
     
  19. BLubmuz

    BLubmuz HoF Quattromaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,157
    Location:
    Vicenza, Italy
    Hi HoF Staff,
    i've just had a complete PC crash (it happens every few weeks since i got the SSD) in the middle of a turn. I can only reload from the last save (turn beginning).

    I forgot what you need to verify the problem, for now i post the autosave, then i will save before the end of the turn. I'm tryin' to reproduce all my moves. I think you need that save too.

    BTW, i've also forgotten if this is the correct procedure :blush:

    Thanks for your patience :)
     
  20. Ozbenno

    Ozbenno Fly Fly Away Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    11,063
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    For reference here is the full policy. Complete the game, submit and email us the saves and details.
     

Share This Page