Do Barbarians hamper early combat against other civs?

Warmonger Max

Chieftain
Hi all,

I started playing Civ5 again after several years and noticed something in the two games I have played so far. Huge maps, epic speed.

First game had no barbarians and my neighbors were always starting trouble with me early on in the bc years, then the second game I added them back in and there was hardly any combat with other civs until the AD years.

Do you guys see the same behavior or is this just the luck of the draw after only 2 games?

Thanks!

Ai is notoriously poor at handling barbs (set barbs to raging and see civs effectively crippled all around you). I have long held the view that barbs are much worse (for the AI and the player) on Warlord or Prince than they are on Immortal or Deity (where the AI gets enough buffs to deal with barbs efficiently). Epic speed probably makes things worse overall, since it takes longer (than Standard speed) to develop a city, build an army or settle new cities to clear barb no-mans land, while huge maps give the barbs more places to hide and spawn new barb camps and units.

Good points all. Now that you mention it I remember in past games that the barbs run over civs on the default difficulty. I think I will have to bump up from Prince to make it tougher on me. Thanks.

Hmm, interesting observation and answer. I always thought barbs made the game harder for me. Constantly threatening my workers and settlers, pillaging my land, beating up on my scouts. I usually play with barbs off because they annoy me so much. They really make he game less fun for me. I never thought that I may be making it easier on the AI too.