1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Does anybody use district workers/specialists?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by KayAU, Jan 11, 2019 at 6:22 AM.

  1. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7,036
    All been covered in another thread however to clarify here the key points.
    Working a factory is rarely a good idea, however working a campus is.
    Once your city is grown to a sensible size ( working all its good tiles for example) then working more tiles is of much less use. Your city is often +4 food at this stage so why not put 2 pop in a campus for 4 science. A university gives you 4 science. It may not seem like a lot but 10 cities = 40 science.
    Take that a step further... culture is harder to get so one may argue culture has more value than science... so placing 2 pop in a theatre could be considered more valuable.
    I would place specialists in harbours and encampments because but
    nothing else seems worth it,maybe a holy site if the pop are not doing a lot.

    GPP from specialists seems OTT

    Nice point on starvation @redfox85
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019 at 2:34 AM
    acluewithout and Ivan Hunger like this.
  2. Aussie_Lurker

    Aussie_Lurker Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,515
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    In fairness, the terrain limitations for districts already helps to create that balance, we don't need a Specialist Nerf to balance Tall & Wide (wide, btw, is still far too superior).
     
  3. acluewithout

    acluewithout Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,568
    @Aussie_Lurker Terrain for Campuses is basically irrrelevant. You just build them in every city next to your city centre. Then you just get science from the buildings and from running projects. The Campus is way too powerful - comes too early and you can build too many. When I play, I never build more than three, otherwise the AI doesn't have a hope.

    It'd be a bit lame just having a hard cap for Campuses - e.g. no more than three. But some sort of soft cap would be good, perhaps based on the total population of your empire and or government level ... whatever.
     
  4. Draco84

    Draco84 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    172
    I don't think I've used them more than a handful of times, but I'm not convinced they need to be buffed.

    I've had cities I dropped just to place epic campuses with nothing else but coast tiles to work. Instead of wasting energy I dropped my pop in the campus. +2 science per pop is better than a little extra food for a useless city.
     
  5. Trav'ling Canuck

    Trav'ling Canuck Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2,297
    Gender:
    Male
    Civ 6 cities don't need room to breathe. Cities packed as close together as possible generally works better than spacing your cities out.

    Both of these observations basically boil down to that sometimes a Campus or Theatre or rarely another district slot is the best place to put a worker when you otherwise have that population in the city.

    I'd still suggest, however, that it's rarely worth the effort to invest in growing extra population in the city so that you have an extra worker to place as a Specialist, and almost never worth the effort after the city hits size 10. That's why I feel you can safely add a buff to larger cities.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 12, 2019 at 11:03 AM
  6. Leathaface

    Leathaface Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    I never do since it is almost always better to work a tile. The only way I can see myself working them, is if I had to city with high population but all of the mines/lumbermills were used and I still had population to spare.

    I might work a district then. But i've played Civ VI a lot and that hasn't happened yet. Which i'm OK with it TBH, though it's nice that it's there.
     
  7. Josephias

    Josephias Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Imho, just moving the +1GPP from the buildings to the specialist Will do. You can still have a (slow) amount of GPP acquired via the district.

    Or maybe just changing the GP wilcards to actually needing specialists -> this is no more +2/+4 free GPP per wildcard, but wilcards making the specialists provide GPP...


    All in all, I think the problem is also the population formula. With 36 potential tiles to work (actually more around 20) it takes a long time before population can be considered both for specialists and workers… and you want to play the map, and you have a housing and an amenities cap.

    Maybe an interesting idea would be specialists & workers being two different subsets of population - you can get a number of specialists that is a % of your number of workers (population), maybe based in the happiness status (amenities & similar). So in a content city you Will have an extra 25% population to be allocated as specialists, a happy one wil be a 33%, and an excited one will push it up to 50%. As amenities problems increase when you go wide (each luxury only covers 4 cities), this will make tall play still ideal for specialists, while not punishing wide that much, and the number of specialists normally less tan the number of available slots, so you need to consider were to place them.
     
    Trav'ling Canuck and Alexadamz like this.
  8. Breadsmith

    Breadsmith Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    That seems a lot like how "Specialists" worked in Alpha Centauri. Now I want to Nerve Staple Dumfries.

    They know what they did.
     

Share This Page