1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback: Buildings and Wonders

Discussion in '[MAC+WIN] Civ4 - History Rewritten' started by Xyth, Jul 16, 2011.

  1. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    Something a little odd about the new Shipyard building: It seems that it can't be built in cities that are alone on their landmass, even if they have a harbour.

    Edit: Solved it. Going into Mods>History Rewritten>Assets>XML>Buildings>CIV4BuildingInfos.xml and changing the line

    <bWater>0</bWater>

    to

    <bWater>1</bWater>

    for the Shipyard entry fixes this (and also the annoying issue of it being in the build list for landlocked cities, albeit grayed out for lack of a Harbour).
     
  2. Howard Mahler

    Howard Mahler Since Civ 1

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    The transit capability of the Airport increases in value as the map size increases.

    If it is possible, it would therefore make sense for the cost to build the Airport to increase somewhat with map size.
    Perhaps the cost could be proportional to N, where N is the number of buildings needed to build certain national wonders, such as the Forbidden Palace.

    Just a thought.
     
  3. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    A shipyard does not require coast to build - just a harbour. In landlocked cities, it appears in the city screen, but greyed out (Like tanks when you need oil).
    I didn't read the post at the top of the page.
     
  4. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    See my post at the top of this page.
     
  5. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Since monuments don't obsolete, shouldn't monument UBs not obsolete as well? I haven't actually tested this, but I've avoided playing civs with monument UBs because when I hover over them, it says that they obsolete.
     
  6. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Fixed for 1.19. None of them are meant to obsolete anymore.
     
  7. Howard Mahler

    Howard Mahler Since Civ 1

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Proposed World Wonder
    Naval Arsenal at Venice.
    Requires Shipyard.
    Requires Guilds.
    Gives ships built in any city +3 experience.
    (If it can be, maybe limited to Wooden Ships, or obsoletes with Combustion.)
     
  8. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    I'm definitely adding the Venetian Arsenal as a world wonder. The art is actually already in 1.18, just disabled as I didn't get around to finishing it. It will be unlocked at Compass and require X number of Shipyards. I just need to decide what effect it will have. Experience or a production bonus are obvious choices but are already readily available.

    I'm tempted it to give it the BTS Moai Statue bonus :)hammers: from water tiles in its city) as it's main effect, and probably a smaller bonus for other coastal cities as well. If I do use this, the Dutch UB will need to be redesigned. Not a bad thing, it's pretty overpowered on Archipelago maps.
     
  9. Simon_Jester

    Simon_Jester Prince

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Hm. Could the Dutch Dike give a percent bonus to production? Or commerce?
     
  10. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    So, anything come from this? I just got the same bug. Tried to build a Cho Ko Nu in Beijing, got a settler. At first, I didn't notice because I'd been planning to build some settlers and had just loaded the game after queuing the Cho Ko Nus.

    You can see the settler with 8 xp in the lower left. Ignore the stuff above it - that's from pressing command or shift. In the upper right you can see a Cho Ko Nu in a little box, indicating that the game thinks it just made a Cho Ko Nu.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Ah, thought I'd finally fixed it but I guess not. Added back to the todo list.
     
  12. Nightstar

    Nightstar Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    408
    Gender:
    Male
    Is the Polynesian Marae UB (Courthouse replacement) supposed to lack the Courthouse's +2 :espionage: and spy specialist slot?
     
  13. Skidizzle

    Skidizzle Gameshow Host

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    I built the Nazca Lines wonder which produced my first great prophet, being this late in the game I thought I had missed the chance to found a religion with the fewer religions options checked. But several turns later one gets founded buy another civ...
     
  14. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    It's meant to have +5:culture: instead of the espionage and an artist slot instead of the spy. The latter seems to be missing, will fix.

    I think I know what's causing that, will fix for 1.19.
     
  15. Jarlaxe Baenre

    Jarlaxe Baenre Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,959
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    The new feature of the pyramids is broken. I have the pyramids built, but the city still pauses growth while training a worker.
    And on a unrelated note, the random event where industrious villagers build a pasture doesn't remove forests or jungles. You can actually see it in the screenshot just southwest of Quelimane.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Boggy

    Boggy Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Germany
    Are you sure? I've just tried it out, the city grows, but the city screen does not display it rightly. Like on your screenshot, it shows stagnation, but the city grows in the next round.
     
  17. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Yeah, the food is being added but the city screen isn't showing it properly. Not sure what to do about that, I'll experiment.
     
  18. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    I am guessing that was a feature from one of mine?:D
    Great Zimbawee if I remember.
    It is a python effect which adds the food directly so it won't be shown unless SDK is used to change the mechanics.
     
  19. Xyth

    Xyth History Rewritten

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    4,054
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    Yep, borrowed code and idea from you! I will no doubt be borrowing a lot more yet, still quite a few wonders I want to add to HR.

    As for the cityscreen problem, I'm thinking it might be possible to insert some sort of kludge into CyMainInterface.py. Not had time to investigate yet.
     
  20. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Hmm worth taking a look in that file, but personally I wouldn't bother for just 1 wonder.
    Better to spend the effort to fix more important bugs :D
     

Share This Page