1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

FFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUU (The Rage Thread)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Moshe Dayan, May 16, 2010.

  1. Neomega

    Neomega Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,261
    stack defense mechanics. your stack is attacked, and your best unit gets bashed. Bad enough to have a 60% chance at victory vs the next attacker, but not bad enough to be hidden behind your cannon fodder unit which has a 55% chance. Your best unit dies, when if you could choose formation, your best unit would have retreated, and the cannon fodder unit would have gone to the front of the line
     
  2. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    Getting the 'Blessed Sea' quest as Russia or worse, Mongolia...
     
  3. phoenix_sprite

    phoenix_sprite King

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I had no idea what "Take Control of civ" meant, this is my third RFC game. I thought it meant vassalize the civ. It's 1290 AD, I'm playing Arabia, I'm one turn from winning, I declared war on Turkey, then the option to control them prompts. I click yes, realize my mistake (my jaw was on the floor now) and in 1300, Sal'adin wins a Historical victory.
     
  4. fdgsgds

    fdgsgds Mustard Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    The Empire State
    It's the most stupid idea ever, culture is. I mean really, are territorial borders decided on how much art a nation produces?? And why would cities revolt and join another empire?! Seriously, just because a city was taken over doesn't mean it has to revolt and join the others. And by some magical property of the Civ4 Universe, the enemies get a few units in their new city, and my troops stationed in that city go poof; disappear into thin air.
     
  5. ZachScape

    ZachScape King

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    New York
    This happens in regular Civ IV. Don't forget Civ IV was released about 5 years ago. That's basically ancient by computer standards. It was a new concept that people liked, and there wasn't much other way to show a civilization's cultural power -- and if you don't understand the significance of cultural strength throughout history, well [insert insult].
    Who knows how this will be handled with Civ V... or how anything will be handled for that matter?
     
  6. Oishi

    Oishi Warlord

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    M.M., PH
    At least they're not milking the series every year unlike cod.
     
  7. deanej

    deanej Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    I'd hardly say that. 5 years may be ancient for video cards, but not with everything else. I still play Star Trek: Bridge Commander (which is 8 years old), and my 5 year old mouse still works like new (though it requires an officially unsupported driver setup to use all the buttons on Vista/7).
     
  8. ZachScape

    ZachScape King

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    New York
    I mean in terms of features. Just somethings were not possible to do back then because they were so complicated or our developers weren't experienced enough.
    The world's first plane flew in 1903. It took many steps and much time for mankind to reach the moon. Say the features in Civ IV were like the invention of jet engines -- that doesn't mean the developers can jump straight to outer space (especially when people already go 'oo' and 'ah' for the current technology).
    As for me, I'm getting tired with Civ IV -- especially with the features I used to loved -- like border expansion, religion, espionage, etc. It's a miracle that Civ V was announced just as I lost interest in our current epic installment of civilization.
     
  9. astrognash

    astrognash TXT_KEY_CUSTOM_USER_TITLE

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Empire of North Carolina
    Okay, so I'm France, and, for some bizarre reason, Burdigala doesn't flip to me. So I go and weaken it, there's only one unit left on it, an axeman at half strength. I'm poised to take it as Bordeaux, when out of the Fog of War comes Isabella and her Longbowman, and takes the city before I have the chance!!!

    And what's more, she razes it!!!

    I went to war with her, and took Cartagena and Santiago, and razed them, and she collapsed. So there!
     
  10. fdgsgds

    fdgsgds Mustard Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    The Empire State
    :lol::lol: Awesome story. I love it when people show Isabella who's boss, since she's such a *****. Burdigala won't ever flip, especially since France is a 500 A.D. start.

    Bordeaux might be better founded one tile south, since it would have two more hills (it normally has crappy production), and another city could get the cow above. Speaking about Bordeaux having crappy production, I think it's annoying, since it's such an important city in France. Also, Hamburg and Lubeck's position needs to be stronger.
     
  11. Al-Iskander

    Al-Iskander Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    206
    Location:
    USA
    For the first time ever. In maybe five bloody years or whatever it's been.

    I get Five Religions as India!

    Yay!

    Then 1190AD, I'm #1 in population!

    Then 1200AD, I'm in 2nd place by almost one million people.

    Yay!

    I mean. What? THE F*CK!?

    Then 1210AD, I'm in 1st place by almost one million people!

    Yay!

    I mean. Damn. ./Rage.
     
  12. ICNP

    ICNP The Third Superpower

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    772
    Location:
    Missile Silo
    Should have killed some Chinese, pillaged some seafood or something.
     
  13. Trivium

    Trivium Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Mali History!

    Started with more or less good units ( 1 war elephant , 1 impi + the regular skirmisher). Isabella is a :):):):):), doesnt want to trade Divine Right. Reason - "We would have nothing to gain" :(. After 5 turns a horde of 5 impis come + a random event of barbarian archers uprising - I am thinking "Bye Bye UHV" .Somehow I survived, but 2-3 turns later - plague hits - Alt + QQ.

    2nd try - very good starting position, 3 elephants, 1 camel and 2 impis
    Switched civics on the 1st turn. 2nd turn - flooding in Timbuktu destroyes my mint and granary:crazyeye::eek:

    Cant the mali have more :):):):)ed up luck?
     
  14. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    Try Americans.

    Spoiler :

    (Not my own screenshot by the way)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Trivium

    Trivium Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Maybe u know this already , but u dont need an army to defeat Portugal. All you need is 1 knight. Just when their units appear immediately declare war on them. Next turn, they will move all their units 1 SE of Lisboa ( to attack you I suppose) and all they leave in the city is the settler and the works boats. Then u just raze the city with ur knight, he can get from madrid to lisboa in 1 move.
    Note: If you keep the city on the next move 3rd turn more units will spawn for them , so its better to raze it. This is how i get rid of the portugese.

    PS. This was on the 1.186 patch, i suppose it will work for 1.187 too
     
  16. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    The great artist was a little unhappy that his great work wasn't needed after all. He was on his way to the sheep when domination was called. But he was glad to be recalled to Paris where his culture would matter a little more than in the steppes of Siberia.
     
  17. jokoneli

    jokoneli Warlord

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Finland
    Great job AP, but why are you so angry about it:rolleyes:.
     
  18. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    I really like to maximize scores near the end, so the GA could have bulbed Mass Media for me instead. I didn't realize that the Sistine Chapel gives workers culture too, so my new conquests expanded rather rapidly and I didn't need to use him for land.
     
  19. Moshe Dayan

    Moshe Dayan Da General

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Occupying the Sinai
    I'd just gotten my French triumphal arch/golden age when this occurred. WTF man. How does this even happen?
    Spoiler :
     
  20. nody

    nody Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    You are playing a modmod, anything can happen...
     

Share This Page