1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Final Fixes Reborn

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by Ronkhar, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,788
    I will update the pedias with this info, it's better that it actually shows ^^.

    As for the Barbarian questions, a leader is a requirement for any faction in the game, but it was called Barbarian in vanilla. The names that were chosen were purely for flavor ^^.

    As far as i know, the barbarian city limitation is mostly an ai one ( barbarian units of any barb would flock to the city whatever barb faction it is owned by). it and other little glitches could be fixed, but it would take some time and not really grant any real gain to the game ( though i'm thinking the demon-captured cities should be ceded to the infernals if in game instead of being razed).

    Similarly, Barb diplomacy is only forbidden because it's explicitely coded to be. the ban could be lifted
     
  2. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,602
    I guess just create a "Barbarians" entry under Fall From Heaven Concepts, probably simplest

    Doesn't seem to be any reason to create Leader entries for Agares, Bhall, and Cernunnos, since it's not like they have Traits or anything.

    As for Barbarian diplomacy, the only thing that I think would be neat would be if a player could conduct diplomacy with the Barbarians with whom you're at peace. The others you should be permanently at war with.
     
  3. Dunadd

    Dunadd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2021
    Messages:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks again - I haven't played any civ games in decades until playing this mod, so I thought all the info you got from non-unit civilopedia entries was what you got in a mouse-over. I didn't realise you could click them for more info,
     
  4. Calavente

    Calavente Richard's voice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,861
    Location:
    France
    IIRC it was (at least partially) for two reasons :
    - so that the different barb factions could war between each others (thus earning some xp)
    - so that you could have the Doviellos, at peace with barbs, and the Clan, at peace with Barbs, and Infernals, at peace with barbs... still be at war with some barb faction.
    (it didn't make sense that Clan couldn't hunt animals, or that Doviellos be friends to skellies and wraiths :) )
     
  5. Mr.Misfit

    Mr.Misfit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    At Earths End
    Is there any way to decrease icon size? Seeing as the mod seemingly doesn't use the BUG features, I find the icons unnaturally large and big and its really disturbing to look at once you get a few more options in the far too small interface Oo
     
  6. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,788
    not easily, though i can adapt the code for it. could you show me a couple of examples of what you mean though ? i don't really see where this issue may show.
     
  7. Mr.Misfit

    Mr.Misfit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    At Earths End
    Not easily, I suppose? It's not an issue as a bug per se, more of a personal preferences, I just prefer small icons, and these seem overly big, but then again I've been playing with BUG&BAT mod for so long that I've grown unaccustomed to bigger sizes and try to change them sometimes but cIV doesn't make it that easy.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Mr.Misfit

    Mr.Misfit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    At Earths End
    Another Question, its a Bug I noticed in ORBIS as well: Am I supposed to retain feats gained from the Republic-Civic? I thought those were only applied for a number of turns and then gone?
     
  9. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,788
    yeah, you're supposed to retain them till the next election.
     
  10. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,602
    Instead of "Barbarians," it might be better to have the ''pedia entry called something like "Barbarian Factions" or "Barbarian Groups," so people understand that there's a difference compared to Barbarians in the regular game.
     
  11. Mr.Misfit

    Mr.Misfit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    At Earths End
    Apologies, I mean: Am I supposed to retain them BEYOND the next election? Cause all I've done so far is accumulating traits with each and the old ones never go away Oo
     
  12. Nor'easter

    Nor'easter Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,602
    That used to happen to me sometimes a while back, but hasn't happened recently. So no, you're not supposed to retain the new Traits, they're supposed to change with each election.

    Are you playing with the latest SVN revision? And if so, which modules are active? That'll help @black_imperator track down the problem, I think.
     
  13. Mr.Misfit

    Mr.Misfit Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    At Earths End
    I'm playing with the latest SVN revision and the following modules:

    [adv-workers|BlackDuke|Dural|Dwarves|fortifications|Frozen|Hamstalfar|lizard-art|LoyalCorrupt|mom-buildings|mom-arcane|MoreEvents|PPQ_Effects|PPQ_Flavor|PPQ_NAVY|scion-healthcare|SilverCircle|Werepyre]

    If needed, I'd be able to upload a save as well?
     
  14. MrBody

    MrBody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Mod won't start for me.

    Fresh install of BtS 3.19
    Followed "full installation" steps

    When I click "Launch AoE" from the launcher, the "Ashes of Erebus Launcher" window flashes on screen for a fraction of a second before disappearing and nothing happens. If I try to load the mod from within BtS, it just loads back into the standard BtS screen again.

    Tried turning off all virus protection and controlled folder access. No luck.

    (Game is installed to D drive. Does that make a difference? The correct path is set in the launcher)
     
  15. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,788
    hmm, can you get me the full path of the Assets folder ? this kind of error usually happens when the path is wrong ( usually one folder too many)
     
  16. MrBody

    MrBody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    D:\Civilization IV Complete\Civ4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Ashes of Erebus 14.11\Ashes of Erebus
     
  17. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,788
    Yep, that's what i thought. Try this one :
    D:\Civilization IV Complete\Civ4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Ashes of Erebus
     
  18. Jojo_Fr

    Jojo_Fr Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    321
    Location:
    France
    I crash regularly with the mod. When I play, or when I reload a save.

    I don't have any special modules activated.

    Any idea of solution ?
     
  19. MrBody

    MrBody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    That worked! Thanks!
     
  20. Dunqan

    Dunqan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Really enjoying the Mod - I used to LOVE Fall from Heaven and this addition of extra depth makes it feel new again. So thanks to all the contributors!!

    I have a couple of questions that I'm not certain are bugs, or perhaps I've made a mistake that is causing some issues.

    1 - There are a couple of Demonic Barrows near my southernmost city (playing Hamstalfar) that show "0% Demonic, 100% Hamstalfar" but the terrain is still grey and appears to be owned by the Demonic faction - is this due to a missing tech (as I see that my Centaur Village needs Horseback riding to utilize I believe as it's not growing yet and I assume that's the issue) but this one is different because I can't even take over the hex ownership.

    2 - One of my Vagabonds (Hunter type unit) just beat a Gorilla band, but now upon gaining a level is showing promotions for Commanders (such as Increasing Command limit by +1). I'm guessing this is a bug. Is it common or an issue or can I ignore it?

    3 - Is the mod generally stable or is it still under a good amount of development and are significant bugs to still be expected - I don't mind if it is just want to be sure I know what I'm getting myself into.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page