1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

For the Next Patch

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Star Trek Mod' started by deanej, Jun 30, 2009.

  1. apenpaap

    apenpaap Tsar of all the Internets

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,468
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    A better idea would be to do an Alpha Quadrant map, with only the Alpha Quadrant civs (Not on the Galaxy Map, but an Alpha-Quadrant only map). The only non-alphies should be the Borg and the Dominion, who both spawn with a massive fleet during the 24th century.
     
  2. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    Still doesn't solve the wormholes issue, sadly. They are just a graphic representation - the way I have them codes, units would move wherther the wormhole was there or not.
     
  3. TC01

    TC01 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    You could use my mod. :)

    Seriously, you can create a new wormhole type, let's call it "PURPLE_WORMHOLE" (Barzan Wormhole looks light purple-ish in Voy episode), then in onUnitMove script it so that whenever you move onto Wormhole, you get sent to the other Wormhole provided it's not the Wormhole you're currently standing on. Like this, except it says Red Wormhole because it's the code from my mod:

    Code:
    		if pPlot.getFeatureType() == gc.getInfoTypeForString('FEATURE_WORMHOLE'):
    			iX = pPlot.getX()
    			iY = pPlot.getY()
    			for i in range (CyMap().numPlots()):
    				pWormhole = CyMap().plotByIndex(i)
    				if pWormhole.getFeatureType() == gc.getInfoTypeForString('FEATURE_WORMHOLE'):
    					if (pWormhole.getX() != iX and pWormhole.getY() != iY):
    						iiX = pWormhole.getX()
    						iiY = pWormhole.getY()
    						pUnit.setXY(iiX, iiY, False, True, True)
    		if pPlot.getFeatureType() == gc.getInfoTypeForString('FEATURE_RED_WORMHOLE'):
    			eX = pPlot.getX()
    			eY = pPlot.getY()
    			for i in range (CyMap().numPlots()):
    				pRedWormhole = CyMap().plotByIndex(i)
    				if pRedWormhole.getFeatureType() == gc.getInfoTypeForString('FEATURE_RED_WORMHOLE'):
    					if (pRedWormhole.getX() != eX and pRedWormhole.getY() != eY):
    						eeX = pRedWormhole.getX()
    						eeY = pRedWormhole.getY()
    						pUnit.setXY(eeX, eeY, False, True, True)
    Plus, it would save me from having to make a Barzan Wormhole graphic for my mod...
     
  4. os79

    os79 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    One final time, just for clarification sake:

    I want BUG or BULL, whatever works, in next version.

    However, if you know for solid fact that it is impossible because of conflicts in code, please say so here so I can remove that from my "looking forward to" list for this mod.
     
  5. Vrenir

    Vrenir Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Maryland
    I would say a smaller map only needs really major powers, like the following sample of 12, plus a smattering of Barbarian and Independant Systems. With these nations, it would be possible to reenact most of the major alliances and conflicts within the Star Trek universe in a fairly balanced manner.

    Alpha - Federation, Cardassians, Ferengi, Breen
    Beta - Klingons, Romulans, Orions
    Gamma - Dominion
    Delta - Borg, Kazon, Hirogen, Vidiians
     
  6. deanej

    deanej Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,859
    Location:
    New York State
    A merger of BUG and Star Trek would require merging BUG's GameFont.tga and Star Trek's. While this is possible, I seem to break the game every time I edit that file (It's arguably the most difficult file in the game to modify). Additionally, I would maintain a separate version for BUG as I don't think it looks as polished as the regular interface. If BUG modified the city screen this gets more complex as Final Frontier made extensive changes to it, and Star Trek made more changes.
     

Share This Page