1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Gods and Kings Mac

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by oliver, May 1, 2012.

  1. oliver

    oliver Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Amman, Jordan
    I've been looking around and cannot find any dates when gods and kings will be released and know its approximately 30 to 50 after it's released on windows but when exactly.
     
  2. CGPanama

    CGPanama Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Aspyr has not released a date yet, but say they are working to keep the delay as short as possible.
     
  3. Sidlicious

    Sidlicious Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Sssshh, quiet quiet. I'm trying to pretend I have not heard of this expansion until it comes out on Mac, so that I don't have to listen to all my PC friends going on about how great it is while I wait with barely contained excitement.

    Then once they start patching it we'll have to do the whole 'can't play cross platform cause patches are out of synch' thing again.
     
  4. forty2j

    forty2j Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    At least, we should be able to play vanilla cross-platform while waiting for G&K patches.
     
  5. AspyrRyan

    AspyrRyan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    308
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    All I can say for certain at this point is that it won't be out before June 19th.
     
  6. dojoboy

    dojoboy Tsalagi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4,248
    Location:
    Tansi, USA
    :goodjob:
     
  7. CGPanama

    CGPanama Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Ryan, This leaves open the possibility that it will be available on the 19th. :eek:

    :D
     
  8. docbud

    docbud Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,504
    I can't hardly wait until it comes out. I'll be keeping my eyes open at the App Store.
     
  9. wagboy

    wagboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    My hope is that it will run smoother on Macs. I wonder if Aspyr or Firaxis will be able to accomplish that? Or am I just hoping against hope here?
     
  10. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    28,755
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    That's a triumph of hope over experience if ever I saw one!
     
  11. forty2j

    forty2j Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    Unless some hardware acceleration for OpenGL magically appears, this is just a dream.
     
  12. wagboy

    wagboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    I dare to dream :). "Sigh," o well. I've been playing Civ, since Civ I (is that 1994?!), and Civ V is the only game that I cannot play on large map types. Maybe I should just bite the bullet and play on bootcamp. :)
     
  13. IgnatiusTBarfat

    IgnatiusTBarfat Puppet Master

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Just out of reach
    If your are using a MBP for your bootcamp'ed CivV, it will just overheat and go into thermal shutdown.
     
  14. Heinage

    Heinage Khan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    503
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    I googled Aspyr Gods and Kings (because my girlfriend has Civ V on her MacBook Pro and I enjoy playing with her...as well as playing Civ with her, so wanted to see when the expansion will be released for Macs) - and found an article that says they "are working hard to have a Mac version released soon after PC."

    Here's the link
     
  15. wagboy

    wagboy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Are your words the words of a prophet or a charlatan trying to ruin my joy? I've played . . . Civ IV on bootcamp before, and I did not experience "thermal shutdown" —whatever that means precisely. To be honest, I am not extremely computer savvy when it comes to gaming on MACs. I do have a MBP (2011).
     
  16. AlanH

    AlanH Mac addict, php monkey Moderator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    28,755
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    The reference here is to Civ5 not Civ4. They are different games.

    I have no experience of trying to run Civ5 in Bootcamp, so I would start by assuming that IgnatiusTBarfat has, and speaks from experience. On the other hand .... this is the Internet :)
     
  17. autumnmist

    autumnmist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Well, I for one disagree with IgnatiusTBarfat. I can barely run Civ V on a standard map in OS X on my core i5 MBP (mid 2010, 8 GB RAM, Nvidia 330M).

    I can run large (haven't tried beyond that) maps perfectly in Boot Camp (Windows XP and now Windows 7).
     
  18. technome

    technome Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    I believe Ignatius is referring to the popular urban legend that the cooling systems of Macs are uncontrolled in Windows and rely solely on intel's inbuilt safety mechanisms. This only used to be the case where the bootcamp drivers weren't installed correctly but has somehow achieved the status of dogma on the internet.
     
  19. forty2j

    forty2j Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    The 330m runs, in my experience, poorly in Windows and not at all in OS X. That's just a feature of the 330m. The 2011's, from what I understand, do much better than the 2010's.
     
  20. Mavfin

    Mavfin Artillery Rocks

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Missouri
    The problem isn't your i5, it's the 330M and nVidia's Mac drivers.

    Anyone with an nVidia GPU in their Mac should use Bootcamp to game. Simple as that. No game publisher, not even Blizzard, can work around the mess nVidia and Apple left behind on those GPUs.

    I have an ATI 4870 in my 3 year old (April 2009) Mac, and I run Civ 5 max graphics. even huge maps just fine, as well as D3 and SC2 at max graphics. I run Rift in Bootcamp fine, too.

    so, the problem is not in Civ5, it's a problem Apple and nVidia caused, and when push came to shove, nVidia refused to fix it, even when Apple asked them to. So now, Apple doesn't use them.
     

Share This Page