• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

Graphics bugs, mods and Windows 7

cfkane

Emperor
A while back I made the upgrade to Windows 7 and I noticed something odd.

In mods with new unit graphics, the unit would be displayed with its base art rather than the custom art, until it was clicked. For example, the FfH gorilla is based on the Berserker. In my game the gorilla showed as a Berserker until I clicked on it, after which it displayed as a gorilla.

Anyone else had this problem?

Hehe... sounds familiar. Please download the latest beta of my Magyar Mod ("Ho ho ho..." in forums new civilizations section) and check whether there is the same effect. If there's not, then I can tell you what this is caused by. When I started playing and modding civ4, I had two rather weak machines (a laptop and a desktop pc). On both machines, I had the same problem, but noone else had. I figured out, that this was because I had animations deactivated in the menu for performance reasons while most other users had it actived as they had better machines. In this case, the same problem occurs that you describe. This can be fixed by copying the kfm and kf files to the modded units folder and make the reference in the xml file to there. Then, the freeze files of the original unit - which still contain the original units modell - don't get used and therefor the freeze mode (animations disabled) works again, although I guess that at least for those units, animations are still active (as there are no freeze files, right?). I pointed that out to the community several times, but nobody cared. Well, back then, animations could have been deactivated in the menu to solve this. But as this is not so obvious to less experienced users, I decided to deliver my mod with kf files dispite several modders wondered about that and even after I got a new machine some months ago (well, it's true that I haven't tested the units I have added since then, so theremight b