Graphics Modification Requests Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Thunderfall, May 22, 2006.

  1. MalayanGamer

    MalayanGamer Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    331
    Gender:
    Male
    Can anyone make a Charles XII that aren't just complete recolored?!?!
     
  2. Leoreth

    Leoreth Friend Next Door Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35,317
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Faraway
    Oh yeah, a Qing LH would immediately find a home in my mod.
     
  3. Kathy

    Kathy King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    623
    I wonder it there is a church/cathedrale graphic anywhere which could be used for the Salt Lake Tempel.

    Or, if not, if anyone could do a suitable modell.
     
  4. LPlate2

    LPlate2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Messages:
    234
    Hi,

    Would someone be able to create a building wonder to represent an Armada (as in floating city, similar to that in China Mieville's The Scar)?

    I had been hoping to create a city artstyle using ships from @ramzay1945's EU IV European Sails (https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/eu-iv-european-sails.26568/) & @Refar's Early Sailing Ships (https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/early-sailing-ships.11489/). However, it appears that I can not get a city artstyle to display on a water plot.

    Instead of a city artstyle, I'm therefore hoping someone could create a graphic adding a number of vessels together to represent a floating city. It's the only building graphic that will be displayed in the city, so the more ships the better.

    ---
    Edit: Done, https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/armada.28473/.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 29, 2020
  5. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus <{[(Nexus)]}>

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Could someone create a Fushimi Inari shrine wonder model?
    I don't need the building to be the same (reusing jingu building model is fine for me) but the torii path would be important. The best solution would be if it could work like an Aqueduct - placing the shrine part on the nearest hill/peak and
    running a torii path to it from the city.

    Something like this:
    Spoiler :




     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2020
  6. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,687
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Hi guys,

    I am looking for "quality graphics" to create "Large Rivers" (technical concept see here).
    (It is for our Civ4Col mod "We the People" - but once the graphics exist, they could be used for Civ4BTS as well.)

    It is not going to be a "River Type", it is actually going to be a "Terrain Type" (and a "Plot Type").
    (For explanations on that, please read the technical concept linked.)

    In our development team, we would have the skills to do the coding. :c5happy:
    (We have at least 3 really experienced programmers on board.)

    But currently we completely lack the necessary graphical skills in our team ... :c5unhappy:
    (We would really like to make it look good.)

    ------

    I know that "Strategic Rivers" mod comp exist, but there are reasons why we do not want to use it as a base.
    (Our concept looks completely different and we really want to use better graphics.)

    So if there is any skilled graphical modder that would like to cooperate with us, please contact us. :c5influence:
    (And of course once it is implemented we would share it with anybody interested - like we always do.)

    Of course, if there are skilled programmers interested to cooperate, we would also appreciate. :c5influence:
    (This "feature project" will be quite some work and any help is appreciated.)

    ------

    Thanks in advance for any offer to help. :thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2020
    devolution likes this.
  7. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,687
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    For our feature "Large Rivers" we are looking for the following 2 graphics that might already exist.

    It is a Civ4Col game, so the graphics should fit the colonial time period.
    Those graphics are placed on a Water Terrain.

    1. Improvement graphics for a "Raft Station" (that allows to cross a Large River)
    2. Terrain Feature graphics for "Sand Banks" (that allows to cross a Large River)

    @Zeta Nexus has kindly offered to help us with this, but maybe such graphics already exist and can save him some effort. :dunno:

    All help is greatly appreciated. :thumbsup:
    Thanks in advance.
     
  8. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus <{[(Nexus)]}>

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Yep, that's me.
    I have a problem with the attached files:
    I tried to render the graphics bellow water but failed so far.
    I was editing Z coordinates in Nifscope but in the game it either disappeared or nothing happened. I tried -5 and -10. Maybe I was looking at the wrong place?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,532
    From the kf files I can see that the nodes 'cultivated', 'wild', 'master' and 'master NonAccum' will be set to certain values, so any changes in the nif will most likely be overwritten. Maybe if you add a dummy node between 'master' and 'master NonAccum' and change the z with that node you get an effect in-game.

    Since the texture uses the Alpha channel for transparency and the meshes have therefore a NiAlphaProperty node, you might run into trouble with everything that is located below water level, since I think water does something similar and overlaying transparency can cause problems. But that is only a guess from my side. You can test if this is causing your graphics to disappear by removing the NiAlphaProperty from the meshes.
     
    Zeta Nexus likes this.
  10. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus <{[(Nexus)]}>

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    I don't see any NiAlphaProperty :confused:
    upload_2020-10-13_20-46-39.png

    Attach Node or Attach Parent Node? Where exactly should it be? :confused:
    Sorry for being so lame :undecide:
     
  11. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,532
    No worries at all.

    You need to go a bit deeper in the node structure to reach the mesh (NiTriStrips) node: Scene Root - master - wild - Plane03. Plane03 then has a NiAlphaProperty node as child.

    About the dummy node, this is what I would do with my NifSkope (Version 1.1.3): Right-click on the 'master' node, then Node -> Attach Node. Choose a NiNode and call it something like "Dummy_master NonAccum". Add the 'master NonAccum' node as a child to that node and then remove it child-status from the 'master' node. For more details, maybe this old post of mine might be helpful: https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/swedish-carolean.420758/#post-10456518
     
  12. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus <{[(Nexus)]}>

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    No, that didn't work unfortunately :(
    But thank you for your help. I greatly appreciate it :)
     
  13. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus <{[(Nexus)]}>

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    So I tried something totally different but ran into a problem again :scared:
    Can someone tell me why these sand-like colours in GIMP...
    upload_2020-10-14_12-53-21.png
    ...turn to cyan in Col??? :wallbash:
    upload_2020-10-14_12-54-20.png

    EDIT:
    It looks good even in Nifscope:
    upload_2020-10-14_13-53-6.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2020
  14. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,687
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Is it stil a Terrain Feature?

    It might be because the Water (added by Civ4Col graphics engine) above is transparent Light Blue.

    Light Blue + Yellow = Cyan
    (depends on the mixture rate)

    @Zeta Nexus:
    By the way:
    That "Cyan" Colour is also exactly what happens in reality if flat Blue Water is above Yellow Sand.

    See here:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 14, 2020
  15. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus <{[(Nexus)]}>

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    A kind of forest from Planet fall mod.

    But the largriver terrain's color is unchanged. :dunno:
     
  16. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,687
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    I know, but
    • the Water itself is transparent blue (Water and Water effects added by Civ4Col Water graphic engine)
    • the yellow sand is below it (due to heightmaps of our new Civ4Col Terrain Large Rivers) on which this new Terrain Feature is placed on
    So the 2 colours mix. (see my picture above)
    At least that is my current explanation. (might be wrong with it though)

    So nothing wrong is happening:
    Actually you are probalby on a good and realistic way. :)

    You might just need to tune the colours a bit (e.g. making the yellow a bit darker) in the .dds so the mixture will become a tiny bit less cyan.
    If you then also succeed putting a flat "sand hill" in the .nif graphics that sticks out of the water, it is probably perfect.

    Edit:
    I also corrected my post here.
    (What I had written first was misleading.)
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2020
  17. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus <{[(Nexus)]}>

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    I think you are completely wrong in this regard, because even those parts of the model that are out of water (see red circles) are also cyan.
    OTOH the sandy part of the coast (blue circles) not, although under the water.
    upload_2020-10-14_17-42-24.png
     
  18. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,687
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Ok. :thumbsup:
    It just seemed plausible to me, but of course I am not a graphics expert.
    Sorry for misleading then. :(
     
  19. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,532
    I know you can have a colour change if you have a some wrong settings with gloss or shaders, but that normally goes pink and is probably both not activated for a terrain feature. Maybe the NiMaterialProperty of the mesh is set to colourise the mesh? You could try to exchange that with a NiMaterialProperty from a vanilla terrain feature.
     
  20. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus <{[(Nexus)]}>

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,542
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    It actually has 15+1 nif files:
    upload_2020-10-14_21-7-27.png

    Can boundshape.nif be in control of all the rest?
    I hope I don't need to edit them all individually.
     

Share This Page