1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Graphics Modification Requests Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Thunderfall, May 22, 2006.

  1. SkipperXIV

    SkipperXIV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Modding Hell
    I'm afraid I don't follow. What do you mean?
     
  2. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,525
    Welcome to your first steps in Civ4 modding. :)

    To modify the appearance of resources, one has to change buttons (relatively easy) and modify the gamefont files (in principle easy, but can just as easily cause problems). Also I would include some xml editing (easy again).

    First place to go for modding question is always the tutorial subforum: https://forums.civfanatics.com/forums/civ4-modding-tutorials-reference.177/

    Here are some tutorials that could be helpful:

    https://forums.civfanatics.com/thre...uide-to-gimp-making-buttons-for-units.265746/
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/how-to-edit-the-gamefont-religions.663847/
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/game-font-editor.429541/

    I have also attached a very simple mod that just changes the appearance of the iron resource. This should give you an idea how a mod needs to be structured and what kind of files you need to include. You need to copy the unzipped folder into your Civ4 BtS mod folder. (Should then look similar to this: ...\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\NewIronGraphic\Assets\...)

    Hope this is already helpful. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    SkipperXIV and topsecret like this.
  3. topsecret

    topsecret Believer Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    At the Foot of the Cross
    And here's a video tutorial I made on how to make a custom button:

     
  4. SkipperXIV

    SkipperXIV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Modding Hell
    Hey, guys, I followed your advice and actually made my own mod!! I threw it together real quick and it's not great, but it works and I'm super glad!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,525
    Congratulations! Looks very nice and I'm glad that you got the mod working so quickly. :)

    If you are happy to share your work the best way would be to upload it to the forum downloads via your resource manager:

    https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/categories/civilization-iv-downloads.1/

    Also, althought there is no update on the frontpage anymore, some people still post in this thread when they upload stuff:

    https://forums.civfanatics.com/thre...-files-for-frontpage-coverage.181026/page-159

    This way, uploads get noticed a bit easier. But you are of course also welcome to create your own thread, for example in the graphic modpacks:

    https://forums.civfanatics.com/forums/civ4-graphics-modpacks.172/

    Have fun with playing and expanding your mod! :)
     
  6. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,888
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I finally got around working on this. The building itself is done, but for some (currently unknown) reason it doesn't show up in the pedia. It does work ingame though. I will release it when I find out what's wrong.
     
  7. Kathy

    Kathy King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    607
    Maybe it is to big for the pedia, so you have to make fInterfaceScale smaller? I know this problem from some buildings I downloaded here, when they are too large, the camera of the pedia is somewhere inside the building.
     
  8. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    I'll make the movie ASAP.
     
    merijn_v1 likes this.
  9. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,888
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    I found the problem. Somehow the coordinates changed and the building was moved underground. Tomorrow I will do the last finishing touches and release it.
     
    Zeta Nexus likes this.
  10. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,257
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
  11. Darkator

    Darkator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2020
    Messages:
    77
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Poland,EU
  12. Twind

    Twind Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Are there any Mods that make Civilization 4's units look like those in Civilization 3? I'm used to playing the latter and don't like how each Civ4 unit looks like several sub-units on the map.
     
  13. merijn_v1

    merijn_v1 Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5,888
    Location:
    The city of the original vlaai
    You don't need any mod, it is already in the basegame. Go to the options menu. In the graphics tab there is an option "single unit graphics".
     
  14. Kathy

    Kathy King

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    607
    I would like to renew my request for wild west and south states cityset
     
  15. LPlate2

    LPlate2 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Messages:
    204
    Would someone be able to create a canal pavement dds for cities (Venice/Altissia)?
    There could be some paved areas but typically between the buildings, I’d be looking for straight canals. Is this possible or is it too difficult with the way pavements are used in the L system?
     
  16. hrochland

    hrochland Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,231
    Location:
    Czech Kingdom
    Maybe in Lsystem leeve and settle the channel / channels exactly between the buildings.
     
  17. Hafenguy

    Hafenguy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi
    I have a question. I would like to install "Details terrain v2"
    How can i so this? Just didnt find any Tipps in the Details terrain v2 thread.
     
  18. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,779
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Not a bad idea.

    My requests are abit boring I guess by comparison:





    I'd like to request a Hittite Lion statue, as well as a Hittite Sphinx statue. Basically as monument flavor for Ancient Anatolia.
     

Share This Page