1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

HOF Mod Support/Suggestions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Hall of Fame Discussion' started by superslug, Apr 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dracandross

    Dracandross Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Finland
    Well easy way to fix then if table has only 2 submissions second gets 75% and if 3: 75% and 50% and if 5: 75 50 25 and if 5+ well balance it as now. It wont be long and those tables have lots of games as 1) Its easy way to get 70 point conquest [easy, eh!] and 2) Its even easier to drop others down alot when it drops so much. 3) Should be easy to understand and easy to code (well usually when something sounds easy its darn hard, but who cares).

    After very short while this modification has made itself obsolete. I really think HoF should encourage to play games that others havent played too much. Or do we have to wait for gauntlets to fill all those slots? This is really big issue in my opinion. As already weve noticed that theres many players that agree that they shun one some games because of this.
     
  2. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Super Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    I'd have to disagree with this. The above doesn't take into account just how good the additional games are. Take for instance, it wouldn't matter whether the 2nd game was within a turn of 1st place, or 1000 years later, both games would still get a 75 for their BaseQScore.
     
  3. Airny

    Airny Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    Germany
    First, our problem is only for two submissions, so a basis to compare both can only be an estimation.

    My suggestions should help for two submissions:

    Instead of giving the worse game the lowest value (here 10% of max QScore I guess), we take the worst possible game (victory in 2050 AD) to calculate an average. After that we calculate the QScore of the second game based in this average.
    This is not perfect, but it's better than the actual state, because it encourages submissions.


    Getting more submissions is what we need and want, isn't it?
     
  4. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,040
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
    I like that. Maybe we always include the worst possible (2050AD) in the calculations no matter how many games are included. The more games that get added, the less the impact that this fake game has.
     
  5. Dracandross

    Dracandross Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Finland
    The whole idea was that! If only two players are able to submit a game then second one should be worth alot. You should not compare to the one other score but to the fact that no other player even can do such! Check how many players we have... And as I pointed out this will make itself obsolete as then players will compete in the area even if there is one score that surpasses all others. If this causes problems on lower difficulties do it just for deity+immortal.

    Lets think about deity/conquest/bigger maps. Now it really discourages to try as it will take lot of time and you will get most likely 9 pts (nothing as you can get 30 from prince/duel/conq). Well after modification there will be someone trying for the easy 75*.9 (wo barbs) points. Ok that player gets about 68 points for even bad score. Table is open now, there will be others too to submit. Woo! Then scores start to drop. AND finally I suggested that when table has 5+ games it would count scores normally.

    If numbers are too high they can be lowered a bit, but that doesn't make sense. As now you can get easily 50 points from deity/mara/duel/conq anyway with inca. Is that 18 extra points so much more??? It's really not.

    I also proposed that it could be counted from some larger average of games if that category has few games. As a downside its very hard to understand and harder to implement. Simply 75 for 2nd and 50 for third and 25 for fourth base would be easy and motivate to compete and make itself obsolete.
     
  6. superslug

    superslug Still hatin' on Khan Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11,365
    Location:
    The Farm
    Moderator Action: Interesting conversation but off-topic to the HOF mod. Better suited for the cheese annex thread.
     
  7. dutchfire

    dutchfire Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,106
    Location:
    -
    Spoiler :

    I think I might have found the problem with the ini-file. As long as you load the game through the shortcut or the .exe file, nothing goes wrong. However if you start up the game by clicking the play button on the pop-up that appears when you enter the cd into the player, civ resets the whole .ini file to default.
     
  8. murf11

    murf11 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    I cannot play the WOTMs. I download the HOF mod everytime and download the save (or just run it sometimes) and it does not work. The HOF is saved in the mod file. Why does mine not work? Does it have anything to do with the fact that I have vista?
     
  9. Denniz

    Denniz Where's my breakfast? Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11,092
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas
    I know of players using the HOF Mod on Vista. What error are you getting?

    Make sure Civ4 Vanilla is patched to 1.61 and Warlords is patched to 2.08.
     
  10. Gyathaar

    Gyathaar Warlock Retired Moderator GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3,753
    Location:
    Trondheim, Norway
    Also note that in vista you may have to manually download and run both the 1.61 and 2.08 patches... the autopatcher from inside game does not always work in vista
     
  11. Thrallia

    Thrallia Prodigal Staffer GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,836
    Location:
    Maryland

    Doesn't happen for me...the .Civ loads up in window mode every time I start the game, no matter how I start it...with a save, with the .exe, with a shortcut, or with the play button...but sometimes, when I load the mod, it loads it up in full-screen mode, after having been window mode when I told it to load the mod...the times it loads up in full-screen mode tend to happen more often when I load up the mod when I'm already in the game than when I start it up directly into the mod from a save....it does happen sometimes, but not very often.
     
  12. Denniz

    Denniz Where's my breakfast? Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11,092
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas
    Note to self: investigate adding option to Save on 'End Turn'. Also, look at other hot spots liable to cause crashes to see if saving there is possible.

    Other than crashes happen between selecting "End Turn" and gaining control to move again, etc., what things/actions are prone to causing your computer to crash?

    Opening the city screen is probably one, but it may be too much to wait for a save each time. What do you guys think?

    Anything else?
     
  13. dutchfire

    dutchfire Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,106
    Location:
    -
    I've had crashes when a diplo screen popped up (not in HoF mod though), but that was on an interturn anyway.
     
  14. Thrallia

    Thrallia Prodigal Staffer GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,836
    Location:
    Maryland
    One of the few crashes I've had was when I traded maps with an AI...takes a long time to trade maps sometimes.
     
  15. azzaman333

    azzaman333 meh

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    22,877
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS Reputation:131^(9/2)
    I've had crashes by scrolling across the map, but I don't think that there is any reasonable way to prevent this.
     
  16. dutchfire

    dutchfire Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    14,106
    Location:
    -
    True, I've noticed that trading maps will not only lead to crashes, but will also make the game go slower after the trade.
     
  17. ATopic22

    ATopic22 Clan SPADE Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    United States
    I am trying to play HOF for my first time but every time I start up a game with all the settings set for vanilla civ4, the game says in red letters something like: Invalid HOF file, Check victory settings for details. I've retryed it about 5 times and it still doesn't work. Please HELP ME>:mad: :mad: :sad: :sad:
     
  18. ATopic22

    ATopic22 Clan SPADE Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    United States
    I am trying to play HOF for my first time but every time I start up a game with all the settings set for vanilla civ4, the game says in red letters something like: Invalid HOF file, Check victory settings for details. I've retryed it about 5 times and it still doesn't work. Please HELP ME>
     
  19. Denniz

    Denniz Where's my breakfast? Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11,092
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas
    Okay, I'll help. :) Did you go to the victory screen and look the setting tab to see what it says is wrong?

    One common problem is not setting Locked Modified Assets. You should use "Custom Game" to start your game so you can check that option.

    Another common problem is when player install mods to their civ4 install paths instead of customassets under My Games (assets are different message). If that has happened, the easiest way to fix it is to uninstall both Civ4 Vanilla and Warlords, delete anything left behind, reinstall and repatch.

    Let me know if none of this helps.

    BTW, you should use the HOF Mod Support/Suggestions thread for these kind of questions. I have that thread subscribed to so it send e-mails.

    Good luck and welcome to the Hall of Fame. :band:
     
  20. Denniz

    Denniz Where's my breakfast? Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    11,092
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Dallas
    I replied over in the HOF IV Update thread.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page