1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Human Model for Poser

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Tutorials, Reference, & Guides' started by Kinboat, Nov 29, 2003.

  1. livewire

    livewire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Don't take what I said as a neglect light use it to see better in the dark. :)
     
  2. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    I could have said, "PMing him would be the thing to do, instead of spamming up this thread about it."

    Or I could have said Moderator Action: PMing him would be the thing to do, instead of spamming up this thread about it.
    Please read the forum rules: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=422889

    By not using the mod tags, I'm giving you the benefit of the doubt here.

    So, you can take it as the constructive criticism it was, with no other intent aside from keeping the thread nice and orderly, or I can warn you for Public Discussion of Moderator Actions, delete your off-topic posts, and log warnings as necessary.

    Your choice.
     
  3. livewire

    livewire Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Thank for a nicely informal introduction. I only came here to find some directions on where or how this could be done. I did PM Dawg but I don't think he gonna reply anytime soon especially after seeing what happen here nor he willing to be interested in our little youtube project. That really is a unfortunate thing that it turn out this way. Hopefully in a couple days, thing might just surface up in the right direction, we see how it go. :cry:

    Livewire-
     
  4. ruby_sauce

    ruby_sauce Outside the box

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    Netherlands
    could someone please explain me where to place all of these files? Im new to this unit making thing :S. I tried to place some of them in the "library > props > civ3props" or "library > character > civ3figures", but some won't work. can someone help me?
     
  5. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,338
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    From what I remember, a couple need to be imported (file->import) as some kind of .obj file. I particularly remember the Long Kilt needs to be imported this way.
     
  6. PatrickGoettert

    PatrickGoettert Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Porto Alegre
    How may I contact Kinboat???
    I really need to! I have some business that may be of his interest... (talking about ca$h here)
    I appreciate any feedbacks!!!

    Thanks!
     
  7. Bjornlo

    Bjornlo Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    Hjørungavåg
    Click on his icon/avatar. This will take you to his profile. Select Send E-Mail or Send Private Message.
     
  8. PatrickGoettert

    PatrickGoettert Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Porto Alegre
    Ok I will try!
    I just asked because I didn't trust that sendind an email through the forum would really send him the email (AFAIK he is not active here anymore).
    Thank you!

    By the way, Bjornlo, I heard you are a 3d modeler as well (And I heard you are a very good one)... Is this information correct?
    (Sorry if my english is bad, as I am Brazilian!)
     
  9. Bjornlo

    Bjornlo Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    Hjørungavåg
    If the e-mail he registered with is still active he will still get it. If not, well than no. PM might work, since he does occasionally surf here even though he does not post.


    I can model, but I do not know if you would call me good or not. I am faster at hard surface stuff than organics stuff. (guns are easier to make than kittens).

    For example: Utahjazz's clothing is easier to work with than mine.

    Another modeler would be Civ's Army, who is brazillian like you.

    I prefer to not discuss this further in this thread as we are not talking about Human Models for Poser. If you have other questions about civ3, modeling, or stuff... please start a new thread or use PM.
     
  10. Master of Life

    Master of Life Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Im impressed.....
    and slightly confused:confused:
    :lol: hahhahaha
     
  11. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    .. not if you are a cat.. :huh:

    @Master_of_Life.. um.. huh? What are you on, dude? :crazyeyes:
     
  12. bigdog5994

    bigdog5994 Lady Day

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,959
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    does this stuff work with poser 7?
     
  13. Bjornlo

    Bjornlo Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    Hjørungavåg
    yes (search can be your friend)
     
  14. bigdog5994

    bigdog5994 Lady Day

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,959
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    ok do you where i zip them to?

    sorry for being an idiot
     
  15. Bjornlo

    Bjornlo Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,701
    Location:
    Hjørungavåg
    You can place them anywhere you like.

    because I model a lot, and did not want to mix up the main P7 runtime with my civ3 nor my test runtimes, I use the following:

    disk drive\program files\(curious labs or whatever you installed your Poser in to)\
    then in there I have
    \Poser 7
    \Poser 6
    (had poser 5 too, but uninstalled it)
    \Civ3
    \Test
    \historical
    \military
    \females
    \males
    \scenes_and_plants
    \vehicles
    \cartoon
    \animals
    \fantasy
    \kids
    \and maybe 1 or two I am forgetting...

    Open Poser 7
    open the Libraries menu (windows\library)
    click the up arrow in the library twice.
    click on the + symbol (it will say add runtime)
    one by one select all the runtimes you wish to have.

    It pays to have several... easier to backup. Poser runs far faster with small runtimes. And it is easier to find stuff.

    Once you have done this, go back to the folders....
    in ...\civ3\runtime\libraries
    you will see
    props
    characters
    pose
    those are the only three you need to worry about.

    Inside Characters make a folder or two or more (I use Civ3Main and Civ3Test)
    inside props make a folder or more
    inside pose make a folder or two or more....

    It pays to plan things out.
    Use a layout which makes sense to you and one you can maintain.
    Remember you will have to have test and temp folders too... so you do not pollute your "good" stuff with works in progress.
     
  16. Civman33

    Civman33 Gunship Pilot

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Is this used for making units? If so, how do I create it?
     
  17. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,810
    Location:
    Somerset
    It is. It's a model for use in Poser. Have a look at this tutorial by utahjazz7, which gives step-by-step instructions for making units with it.
     
  18. Courtjester1

    Courtjester1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    For some reason I can't make a texture map for the shield that comes with the knight figure. When I export the shield as an "obj" file and then open it in UV mapper, it says "This object has no UV texture coordinates." Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?
     
  19. utahjazz7

    utahjazz7 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    2,068
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Yeah, I tried exporting the shield as a .3ds and a .obj model, but neither worked. I'm not sure if anyone else has had luck with that or not. Sorry, I couldn't be of more help.
     
  20. FruityFetus

    FruityFetus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Hey I know this thread is quite old and this will probably never get a response, but I am using the trial version of Poser 9 and Utahjazz7's unit creating guide. Everything seems fine except that the feet on the PDM model don't have xtran, ytran, or ztran properties. Is there a way to fix this?
     

Share This Page