1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Insane Amount of Gold

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Delekhan, Jan 26, 2015.

  1. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,016
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    The code is currently set up so that you can only receive the gold bonus from city capture once (same goes for any of the city-capture-related policy bonuses). It has been that way since the beginning.

    G
     
  2. Delekhan

    Delekhan Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Then I'm getting mountains of gold from conquest somewhere. I got to 60,000 gold while on 300 GPT income and stopped playing, at that point you can buy victory.

    All I took 4 or 5 coastal cities, liberated Berlin, liberated some crappy hun city, and took Moscow. And St. Petersburg too I think, that was 28 pop. I didn't raze that one. All the gold came from those captures, since I was buying stuff until there was nothing left to buy. The coastal cities varied in size from 16 to 24 in pop size.

    I lost 40% of my army in that little war, and no ships lost at all. With the gold gained I could have replaced the losses 14 times over. That makes this strategy too good to pass up, and therefore makes the game somewhat dull.

    If you test it in a game, Modern Era, you'll see it too. I wonder if the gold bonus is being applied multiple times per city capture perhaps? Could it be popping twice: once when you move into the city, and again when you select raze/liberate? Something's going on.

    Also I'm wondering if it's getting applied when an AI gives you a city through diplomacy when making peace? Worth testing.
     
  3. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18,016
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    It only happens through conquest, and only once per city. It is just too high a bonus (as it multiplies by era and city pop, and doubles if a capital).

    G
     
  4. Llednar Twem

    Llednar Twem Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    420
    It may just be the era scaling that's too high. Now that I think about it, I haven't been doing more late game conquest. In my recent games as Greece, Mayans, and Carthage my conquest has generally been early, since that's when those civs are at their best. Especially Carthage. Anyway, I've found the gold gained to be fairly reasonable...but that could just be from rushing through the policy trees and grabbing it in the early to mid Renaissance era. Even late Medieval if the stars align and everything goes perfectly. After I use the early factories to start Order I don't really do much more warmongering, instead focusing on infrastructure in what I have.
     
  5. Delekhan

    Delekhan Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    539
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Well now it's clear. I did take two big capitals, in the Modern era, and with all those multipliers stacked I can see how I ended up with tens of thousands of gold in no time.

    I would say maybe reduce the per era modifier by half? I can't even imagine what it's like in the Information Era.

    Also I've seen a few people mention getting factories in the Renaissance using Civilizing Mission. I got that policy late, but it seems weird that it should provide a free factory through conquest when you can't even build factories yet. That can lead to a super-early ideology.
     
  6. MayNilad Man

    MayNilad Man King

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    Annapolis
    Out of curiosity, would it be possible to code a cost of purchase increase for every copy of the unit a la Rise of Nations?
     
  7. WileyNg

    WileyNg Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    595
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    What do you mean?
     
  8. Lord Tirian

    Lord Tirian Erratic Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,724
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    I think he means that the costs of units rise with every purchase, much like the faith costs increase for great people, for example. Meaning buying the first or second unit is cheap, buying your 8th or 9th unit costs a lot more.

    Not sure whether that's a good idea, though, as it probably resets with new units, unless you count currently owned units or size of your current military as a whole.

    The last might double up with maintenance a bit, but I kind of like having slightly diminishing returns for getting too much military - to some extend, that would reward smarter use of units over rush buying lots of them.

    The ability to just rush buy benefits the AI, though.
     

Share This Page