1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Legions

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by Kael, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    That would defeat the whole purpose of 1UPT: forcing you to defend your weaker ranged units by having them behind your stronger units. Without a front and rear, your weak units will be too strong since you'll have to defeat the strong unit to get to them. If you're being bothered by ranged units, get some faster units to out-flank them and come from behind.
     
  2. Jezz

    Jezz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    I still think Civ3 had the best representation of archers/bow weapons. Archers are normal melee unit with limited strength, but a defensive bombard. If there are any UU that are archers/bows, they get 1 tile offensive bombard to give them a little uniqueness. But normal archers shouldn't get ranged bombard. For gameplay balance, that should be left to siege weapons.

    I don't have Civ5 yet, but reading about how siege/bombard weapons now works, it seems strange. So if my horsemen attack a catapult, the catapult is destroyed? That doesn't make any sense at all. The horsemen would run down the people manning the catapults, but the catapults should be captured.
     
  3. Quetz

    Quetz The Tallest Lilliputian

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    663
    Location:
    Heavensent
    I really don't understand why archers from the Stone Age have more range than modern firearms.
     
  4. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    You do realize that this thread is dedicated to a mod that has the specific purpose of getting rid of the 1upt system, right?

    IMO then reducing the range of most of the ranged units (and especially the English Longbow) would be a fitting addition to this mod.
     
  5. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,425
    Location:
    Britain
    Sacrilige....burn the heretic.:lol:
     
  6. moondog

    moondog Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Nether one of these mods will download in my game, something about an http error.
     
  7. Shiggs713

    Shiggs713 Immortal

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,361
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Kael, could you please post this and your other mods on the CFC database still, and provide a link on the OP. The mod browser is a bad joke at the moment, it doesn't function properly, and I would imagine most the people trying to download this are having epic failures. I've tried downloading some of these small mods a few hundred times, and it always fails within the mod browser. Only way I have gotten a mod to install successfully so far is the old fashioned way.
     
  8. Martock

    Martock Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    It's not my intent to remove the 1UPT but rather relabel military support units as hybrids. Civilian in that they can be captured, but military in that they can bombard. Plain and simple. I see nothing wrong with having to protect your weaker units.
     
  9. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I like this idea outside of a 1UPT system which this mod creates. Yes, I forgot I was replying in this particular thread above.

    Certainly true, my point is that allowing them to be stacked on the same tile as a significantly stronger unit makes them too easy to defend. But this is an argument against unit stacking in general and thus has no place here. :)
     
  10. Martock

    Martock Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    I'd be happy with just having 1 military unit (sword, warrior, etc) and 1 support unit (archer, cannon, etc). per hex. I have no problems with losing them if the guarding unit is destroyed. That's not really changing a ton there either as you can already have military units protecting civilian units.
     
  11. Kruelgor

    Kruelgor Emperor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,165
    Location:
    The United States
    The difference is in the power/destruction inflicted.
     
  12. MilkmanDan

    MilkmanDan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    I changed it down to 2UPT and dropped the city changes myself and found it worked nicely. Not so many traffic jams but no real SoD either. Hard to say how the AI is handling it (or not) because the one war I had were tech was equal, the egyptians had no army and were quickly overrun.

    Since then, I've come to completely surpass the AI (reached industrial just as first AI reached renaissance) so can't really speak to how well they're using it. Modern armor vs pikes/muskets isn't really fair comparison.
     
  13. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Yes, but if the AI were to stack two pikemen versus your one modern armor . . . er, never mind.
     
  14. Lonkut

    Lonkut ..--""--..

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    ......
    is it hard to mod the 1UPT? I only want that and not the whole mod? Anyway you can post/show how to end the stacking limit?
     
  15. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    NO, there is a value in the global defines for the amount of units per tile. It defaults to 1, this mod changes it to 999.
     
  16. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    999? A little stingy, no? I'm playing a warmongering game now and don't think I've built more than 20 units--and I'm about to reach Rifling. It's tough to build units since you have to build gold, happiness, and culture buildings just to keep your economy afloat.
     
  17. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    For all practical purposes 999 means infinite amount of units per tile.
     
  18. CyberChrist

    CyberChrist You caught my attention

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    The Matrix
    It is going to take a lot more than merely raising the number allowed on each tile before this is going to be workable for play, since there is no code for making the proper checks to see if units can actually advance into a tile containing other units.

    If you move into a friendly unit/stack then you get the popup if you are sure you want to declare war, but before you can answer yes or no your unit will already have advanced into the tile.

    Likewise when defeating an enemy unit after attacking then the winning unit will advance into the loosers tile - regardless if that tile still contains more enemy units.

    Also, civilian units are still not permitted to pass through/share tiles with friendly units belonging to other players.
     
  19. Lonkut

    Lonkut ..--""--..

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    ......
    how does AI deal with this? Does it avoid placing more than one unit in the tile? It would be nice if it only worked for civilians only since that is the only problem I have with 1UPT. Also, where is this mod on my comp I can't seem to find it.
     
  20. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I think your sarcasm detector is broken. ;)

    In any case, I'm really excited to see modding happen even before the tools are available. This should be pretty fun once it gets seriously hopping.
     

Share This Page