1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Legions

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Modpacks' started by Kael, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Hybrisma

    Hybrisma Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Have you messed around with limited stacking at all?

    Civ4-esque stacks of doom, to put it frankly, sucked. But maybe limited ability to stack will help the AI protect their ranged units a bit better.
     
  2. Kolath

    Kolath Eternal Lurker

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Kael, as for an interface, the game already has something like it for air units. Could you apply the air unit stack interface to all units or would that also require source code access?
     
  3. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,599
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Dones anyone still have a copy of the documents of Legion 1? I need them or just a copy of the Member Count part is just fine also.
     
  4. Lebowski89

    Lebowski89 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Heh, the one change that makes this game a million times better for me is the one change that many of you want modded out. Thank goodness for mod's they allow the game to be accommodating to everybody.

    Stacks of death do suck though, come on.. admit it:p
     
  5. Xmas

    Xmas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Watford, UK
    Kael, do you know if there's a way to make a ranged attack hurt all the units in a stack (except civilian ones)?
     
  6. darkedone02

    darkedone02 The Suggestor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,734
    Location:
    Louisville, Kentucky
    I liked this mod cause it bring back the classic promotion's, but too bad it won't let me purchase more then one unit.
     
  7. pduthie_au

    pduthie_au Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Is there anyway to modify the stacking so only certain units can stack (ie a naval unit with a transport, defender with artillery/ranged units ?
     
  8. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    I noticed an interesting siege of Sidon in my last game, which the Ottomans wanted to capture (and indeed did). A lot of unit moving around was going on, but if an exposed Archer or Catapult got damaged (from green to yellow) they pulled it back. Even Sidon tried this, but to little avail, as they didn´t really have any spare room. As I had made Sidon my ally, they even gifted me a damaged Catapult, which I however immediately gifted back, because I had no need for it. (In retrospect I might have kept it, but I was interested to see how long they would hold out.) Anyway, there was a lot of stacking and unstacking going on.

    Another question: have any CTDs been reported associated with Legions? (I suspect not, but want to eliminate a possible cause, as I have Legions enabled all the time now.)
     
  9. QES

    QES Court Jester

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,139
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    Lol Kael. You read my mind every time.

    I hope you are well man, I see you are still der uber furor of the civilization community.

    EDIT/ADD: I did like the intention of civ 5 to make terrain and positioning matter. I was just wondering if it was possible to have stacking but limit it to "unit types." One can have a civy and a military unit together, what if it was 1 civil, 1 infantry, 1 ranged, and 1 cavalry per hex? This would still limit mobility and require strategy, but then some things could get some protection.

    A compromise worth making?
     
  10. MasterDinadan

    MasterDinadan Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    Where in the XML is it determined whether a unit counts as a combat or a non-combat unit for stacking?
    And what about missiles and aircraft, which can stack?
     
  11. SerriaFox

    SerriaFox King

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    751
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok I have played 1 game to the discovery of coal.

    My impression is the AI handles this allot better than the 1upt.
    Not having an interface to see the unit is annoying but livable
    1 Bug i notice however is a melee unit garrisoned in a city cannot attack out of the city in a double stack, I was also trying to attack across a river if that matters, sorry no save

    Overall I would say until the AI is fixed for 1upt this is infinitely more playable.

    p.s. the city has a place to view two units, i wonder if you could use something similar to display two units. probably not but it might be an avenue to look into.
     
  12. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    Stacked units doesn´t mean you can stack attack. But I have noticed difficulty trying to get a unit to attack from a city, so that´s confirmed (I can click endlessly on the Attack button, but the unit won´t budge; if I do 1 move out of the city, then attack, it works fine.)
     
  13. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    What happens if you simply right-click the target unit instead of using the attack button? FWIW, I never use the attack button.
     
  14. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    Tried that too. Plus left and- or rightclicking. Especially Swordsmen, Longswordsmen and their upgrades I can´t seem to get to attack directly from a city. I get the attack button plus odds, but no go...
     
  15. Kissa

    Kissa Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Location:
    Paris
    I have the same problem.
    Aparently only the range attack units can attack from a city.

    Dont know why ?

    Plus, in Civ4 range attack units can "suicide" attack (direct attack non range attack), but not in Civ5 ?
     
  16. MasterDinadan

    MasterDinadan Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    235
    I had a similar situation occur without the mod. It seems that it's just some kind of bug in the game's code.
    I had a garrisoned melee unit in my city, and a naval unit in the same city. The melee unit was not able to attack out of the city, but after moving the naval unit out of the city, he was able to attack.
     
  17. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    I can verify this behavior. In my case I had a Bowman garrisoned in the city and moved a Swordsman from behind the city to attack a unit on the other side. It stopped in the city and would not attack. Since I had already attacked with the Bowman, I had to move the Swordsman out to perform the attack. Luckily it had enough MPs. :whew:
     
  18. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I'd like to see stacking discouraged, but not removed entirely. Doesn't this just restore the old problem in it's unholy glory?

    One unit per tile is bad
    Stacks of doom are bad

    Can't we have some middle ground?
     
  19. JeBuS27

    JeBuS27 Heretic

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    321
    Small stacks of lesser doom?
     
  20. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,102
    Location:
    In orbit
    You can stack, but you can´t stack attack. Though IMO there should be a limit to the stacking (especially since you can´t currently see what´s in the stack and it´s excruciating to try ´n pick the unit you want to use from a stack - so I´m currently only using the stack feature as little as possible).
     

Share This Page