Let's discuss computer programming

ParadigmShifter

Random Nonsense Generator
Hopefully this is the appropriate place for this thread, otherwise move it to sci/tech, KTHX.

The learning programming thread has started some discussion about object oriented programming, but I'm fine with talking about procedural programming, and even functional programming (a bit ;)).

I'm a professional programmer working in games... so discuss away. Don't ask about games programming though, bump my thread in OT if you want to ask about that (you'll have to search my threads started to find that, probably).

Is learning linked-list and linked variables (nodes?) still relevant for average programming tasks?
A large chunk of the theory in my AS in Computer Science (decades ago) required manipulating linked lists in variables. In retrospect, it seems like it was wasted time versus learning an up and coming language like C++.

Opinion?

Linked lists are still one of the best data structures for insertion of data (at the beginning, end, or in the middle). We use them to add groups of polygons to be rendered into the scene, for example.

You need to have a variety of containers for data and pick the one that best suits your needs.

C++ has lists (single and doubly linked), resizeable arrays (vectors), double ended queues (deque), stacks, heaps, red black trees (map/set, and multimap/multiset) as well as hash maps/sets provided by the standard library. Each has its own advantages and disadvantages.

Is learning linked-list and linked variables (nodes?) still relevant for average programming tasks?
A large chunk of the theory in my AS in Computer Science (decades ago) required manipulating linked lists in variables. In retrospect, it seems like it was wasted time versus learning an up and coming language like C++.

Opinion?