1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Main Download Information

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by 45°38'N-13°47'E, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. Cr0wz

    Cr0wz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Ahh I finally see goodie huts in map editor again with the patch.:goodjob:

    Am Beginning a new game and testing it now. Thank you much Afforess!:hammer:
     
  2. Dastingo

    Dastingo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks for fixing the Civilopedia bug Afforess! :goodjob:
     
  3. The Rusty Gamer

    The Rusty Gamer Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Can we still install the original Rise Of Mankind as well? Since A New Dawn is in a directory within Rise Of Mankind directory (which currently has no other contents), will installng Rise Of Mankind still keep the A New Dawn there? Or perhaps I'll have to do some renaming?
     
  4. Sinapus

    Sinapus Defenestrated

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    AND 1.75 shouldn't go into the Rise of Mankind directory at all. It's supposed to go into the Mods directory like all the other mods. Afforess's installer program defaults to the last directory used so if you installed 1.74 or earlier you have to manually change the target to the Mods directory.

    My own mods directory has Rise of Mankind and Rise of Mankind - A New Dawn directories in it, for example.
     
  5. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Currently my BtS Mods folder contains:
    Rise of Mankind (2.92)
    Rise of Mankind AND (175a)
    Rise of Mankind 1.03
    and
    Rise of Mankind NWAI AND (Prehistoric)

    When you have all these stand alones, there is one thing you should do when you load any of them, Hold the Shift key down during the loading to clear the cache of the previous settings.

    PreHistoric NWAI Rom/AND you will need to rename the Mod in the RoM config file, I chose Rise of Mankind NWAI AND. This line in the Config file:
    # ; Name of Mod
    Name = Rise of Mankind NWAI AND

    JosEPh
     
  6. Ophryon

    Ophryon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Would you be willing to share your secret for getting rid of the shortcut reminder? It keeps coming back for me too despite unchecking the box.
     
  7. FoulFoot

    FoulFoot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Go to: Rise of Mankind\Assets\Python\Afforess\ANewDawnSettings.py

    Look for: (it's right near the top)

    Change the "true" values to "false". Save.

    For some reason, Civ will occasionally overwrite this file, meaning you'll have to change it again. But it should last through your current game, at the very least.

    Foul
     
  8. Ophryon

    Ophryon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Excellent! That did that trick. Thanks Foul!
     
  9. tranx

    tranx Civilized

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Qingdao (China)
    As I have the exact same problem as the gentleman here quoted, I would like to know how the matter has been eventually solved.

    AND 1.74 (located in Programfiles/Civilization4/BeyondtheSword/Mods/RiseofMankind) still works fine but loading AND 1.75 (installed in Programfiles/Civilization4/BeyondtheSword/Mods) will bring me to Vanilla BTS. Holy smokes !
    Well I guess I'll stick with 1.74 until I can figure the matter.
     
  10. trevort

    trevort Corporal of Marines

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    Did you delete or rename the old RoM? I renamed mine to "Rise of Mankind Old".
     
  11. tranx

    tranx Civilized

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Qingdao (China)
    No I didn't. I will try that. Thanks!

    Wait. Does that mean that Rise of Mankind is integrated into AND 1.75?
     
  12. trevort

    trevort Corporal of Marines

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    Yes, they are merged together.
     
  13. Kavroz

    Kavroz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    I have wierd problems with multpilayer on AND 1.75, well actually it's my mate cause he can't join the game when i try to load our save, still he can join fresh games without problems. His visual studio clamis that this is unhelded c++ exception, any ideas how to fix this?

    edit: problem solved;p he didn't install patch A (ehh) but funny that we were able to lunch this;]
     
  14. Miyagui

    Miyagui Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Anyone can direct me to the link where I can download the torrent file? I'm having issues with sourceforge. It keeps disconnecting me, making me restart the download a few kbs after downloading.

    Thanks in advance
     
  15. The Rusty Gamer

    The Rusty Gamer Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Do I have to reinstall A New Dawn again or can I simply rename the directory?
     
  16. tranx

    tranx Civilized

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Qingdao (China)
    Same question here, since simply renaming the directory didn't work. I'll try reinstalling everything later.

    Another question : is AND 1.74 and its latest patch still accessible to download anywhere? A friend of mine wants it (also has problems with 1.75). And we're living way too far from each other for him to come to my place - he's living in Utah, I'm living in Belgium.

    Thanks!
     
  17. os79

    os79 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Eastern USA Coast
    When you install 1.75, you should be installing to ..../Beyond the Sword/Mods folder, NOT ...BEYOND THE SWORD/MODS/RISE OF MANKIND. Or you can install to ...My Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword/Mods as another optional destination.

    Read the Installation instructions CAREFULLY!
     
  18. tranx

    tranx Civilized

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Qingdao (China)
    B... But? That's exactly what I did! :cry:

    See my previous previous message:

    I will try as you state putting the mod in My Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword/Mods, it could work that way. For all it's worth, I will reinstall everything from CIV4 to BTS 3.19 (actually I might even be switching to the mac version soon - AND works fine on macOS, right?) therefore I won't have to delete or rename any RoM or AND 1.74 mod because I'll install AND 1.75 from the start.
     
  19. Afforess

    Afforess The White Wizard

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,239
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    AND does not work on Macs.
     
  20. tranx

    tranx Civilized

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    Qingdao (China)
    Ok good to know.

    BTW, I tried what os79 suggested and installed AND 1.75 in My Documents/My Games/Beyond the Sword/Mods rather than Program Files/... (after having deleted all RoM and AND-related folders) and it works!!!!! WOOHOO! I'm so glad! Thank you for the tip! :goodjob:
     

Share This Page