1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

March Patch Notes (formerly february)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by lietkynes, Feb 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cicerosaurus

    Cicerosaurus Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,010
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    It wasn't me counting- that was the error message I received.
     
  2. tbrichter

    tbrichter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I'm not sure if this the right place to ask this, but since it came up after I downloaded the patch, I'll put it here. I also don't know if this has been asked on any other thread, but after downloading the update and lauching Civ V, at the bottom of the main menu is an option stating that Polynesia dlc is available. I opened the steam overlay, but could not find the dlc. Has anyone else seen this and do you know if it's available or not? For that matter does anyone know what this is exactly - a new civ? a map? or something else entirely?
     
  3. Ceedub

    Ceedub Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Anyone else getting much slower load times since the patch (not that it was quick before)?

    I just timed it at 3:12 just to get to the copyright and ESRB warning text. It's at least that slow every time.
     
  4. magnus333

    magnus333 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    119
    The Earth map has been messed up like this for a long time now. The resource distribution is also messed up on it.
     
  5. Jimbo30

    Jimbo30 Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    575
    Location:
    Scotland
    Playing a game as France on King and Greece, Egypt and Aztec's all declare war on me within 2 turns. After Egypt loses a bunch of units it pretty much capitulates offering 3 cities and a bunch of resources.

    The AI has a long, long way to go yet. Sure I was holding my own but I wasn't exactly in a position to go attacking out, and what's more Greece would have been the obvious choice.
     
  6. sav

    sav Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    596
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    YAY! Might have to give this game a second (third? Fourth?) chance...
     
  7. Calouste

    Calouste Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,725
    Not for me, the game loads markedly quicker.
     
  8. Sneaks

    Sneaks Brooklyn Bum

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,877
    Location:
    NYC
    It helps to disable the opening video to speed up loads.
     
  9. markusbeutel

    markusbeutel NiGHTS

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,976
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    I found that can help - but, at least on my machine, the game crashes probably around 25% of the time while the other 75% of the time you're worried that it might crash.

    Also, it seems that Civ - and all games on Steam for that matter - load slower starting around 12am pacific time until around 2 am. Again, might just be me.
     
  10. Drill IV

    Drill IV Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Paderborn, Germany
    Medical Lab now stacks with Aqueduct. Still says Hospital in the description.

    Hospital now gives a whopping 5 food.

    Just played a game up until 2010 AD or so on Prince and did not get a single DoF offer. Funny.
     
  11. LegionSteve

    LegionSteve Motörhead

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,127
    Location:
    England
    Played with the new patch for a few hours last night, and I am enjoying the game a lot more now. I'm actually having fun deciding what to build while I pwn the AI. I finally feel that I can give Civ 5 one of these:

    :banana:
     
  12. janboruta

    janboruta Artistriarch

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Tarnów, Poland
    I'm sorry to say that, but in terms of research speed, tile yield and building balance (plus the re-introduction of Aqueducts), the patch obsoletes Thal's Balance mods... But there's still a lot to do in diplomacy and combat. I hope Thal's mods will soon work with the new patch, as well as an updated What Would Gandhi Do.

    Otherwise, the yesterday's fix makes Civ 5 a new game. :)
     
  13. lietkynes

    lietkynes Hello sword !

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    Rome
    Patch is very good (finally) and improved the game much.

    There are still some problems:
    - Combat AI is dull as ever
    - Diplomacy has been improved but it needs more work
    - On Deity level, AI huge bonus to city growth means that all AIs have infantry and artillery by 1000AD and nukes by 1200AD, WTF
     
  14. Mustakrakish

    Mustakrakish In 'Node' We Trust

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,520
    Location:
    Grainvillage, Finland
    Well one thing I can say for sure... Building is now fun again. :goodjob:

    @Calouste, @AfterShafter... Complain? No one was complaining. What does historical accuracy have to do with it? :) I said do not conduct diplomacy with Washington, not "hey, Washington is not acting historically". If you want to justify Washington's behavior with history then please do have in mind that Washington was merely an example... They ALL pretty much behave this way, Washington is just a bit more crazy. Which is why I said, do not conduct diplo with him. :lol:

    That is not to say I don't like it. In the very post I said it's BETTER than before. I like the ****storm. That's how it should have been in the first place. BUT... see below:

    So far I think I have to agree with that. :(

    Actually that is quite logical. It might be lame that you got attacked, but at least it wasn't random and you deserved it... sort of. :) You attacked a CS under his protection and refused to back off, so he attacks you. I'm actually surprised he reacted so fast, never ever happens to me. In my games they are all talk and no walk. You captured a CS and therefore a warmonger. So you got attacked by the other 2... :)

    No, it's actually much faster now. I only see the tip of the bonfire now. Before I had to watch as far as "This is a lash, fertile land...".
     
  15. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    You can watch for updates at civmodding.wordpress.com, and there's a beta up compatible with the patch. It's undergoing testing to squash possible bugs. :)

    I agree the patches have done a lot of fantastic work balancing the game. There's still more to do but it's looking good. I've been working on additional leader balance lately in preparation for Firaxis's own plans there.

    Now that balance work is mostly complete (at least what's possible with the existing modding tools) I've been shifting focus to enhancing the user interface like BUG did for Civ 4. There's been a lot of advancement with this in the "Civ V Unofficial Patch" part of the download.
     
  16. brxbrx

    brxbrx Worthless loser

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    o'er at 2k, yeah, there's an "official" bug thread started by some guy that knows very little about what constitutes an actual bug
     
  17. Civsassin

    Civsassin Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    I really like the updated liberty and tradition branches. Being able to garrison units for no maintenance and double the cities ranged attack is extremely helpful. If you have a large empire, you can garrison units everywhere, keeping units on hold with 0 upkeep until needed. It used to be a no brainer to go for tradition, but now it is a toss up between liberty and tradition, especially since policies are easier to get early on with the increased culture available.

    It is definately way more difficult to earn gold early on, and new cities take time to become productive.
     
  18. JamesCivFan

    JamesCivFan King

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    Greece
    This is definitely good news. :goodjob: One of my main issues with the late game especially, were the upscaling costs of units and buildings. So what about building costs? Do they upscale as well?
     
  19. V. Soma

    V. Soma long time civ fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hungary
    I haven't playeed it yet, but the new patch seems to be a giant leap for Firaxis, at least comapred to previous ones.
    It raises me the question: who is behind all this as lead developer? Who is the new captain on the deck of civ5?
     
  20. lietkynes

    lietkynes Hello sword !

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    Rome
    Most of the changes were "inspired" by some of the more successful mods.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page