1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

March Patch Notes (formerly february)

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by lietkynes, Feb 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Louis XXIV

    Louis XXIV Le Roi Soleil

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13,579
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    I never found corporations to be anything but numbers. If I ever wanted to use them how I imagined a corporation would be, I'd find my economy in shambles (no bailout jokes, please).

    I do agree about religion and even espionage up to a point.
     
  2. greggbert

    greggbert Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    176
    Just played the patch and noticed a change in the barbarian behavior when they are guarding encapments.

    They don't flip back and forth from 50% fortification to 25% every turn anymore. Now you have a much stronger incentive to bring archers or go with Honor.
     
  3. Civsassin

    Civsassin Immortal

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    830
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    We're only one or two expansion packs away from total immersion. This is the price we pay for following a game from day 1 through maturity.:)
     
  4. Clammo

    Clammo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Well, since the patch I have to say my turn times have improved a fair bit - maybe around 25% or so. Also, the annoying de-rendering of graphics I was experiencing has been fixed, which is definitely nice.

    Buildings are improved since last time I played a fair while ago, and whilst not totally enjoyable yet, it's definitey not mind-numbingly tedious now to empire build.

    What's also nice is the 1 extra space we need between cities - there's less instances of the AI building a city in the gap in your empire before it has chance to culturally expand. Unfortunately the infuriating "stop settling near us", when they plonk a city right on your borders is still there.

    However the psychotic schizo AI is still there in all it's glory, chain denouncements, millenia long friends, allies and trading partners turning hostile for no discernible reason, in general just acting like unbalanced pricks.

    And I can't say I've seen all that much, if any, improvement in the AI's ability to handle war. Sure cities seem a little tougher, but the rest of it feels depressingly incapable of utilising it's armies.
     
  5. Txurce

    Txurce Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,259
    Location:
    Venice, California
    Denunciations and DoF's now expire after 50 turns. I've had it happen in three post-patch games.

    Addressing the combat AI is slated for a future patch - not this one.
     
  6. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    Forgive me but I fail to see how any of that is relevant to what I wrote about. I was attempting to explain that keeping steam in offline mode is a sufficient and least inconvenient way to ensure a game (e.g. civ5) does not get patched. Keeping a computer permanently disconnected from the internet is going over the top i.e. unnecessary.

    If you're presenting a reason or reasons as to why it's inconvenient that Steam is required for the game then don't worry - you don't need to convince me.
     
  7. Clammo

    Clammo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    They do expire - and the AI several times has reverted to being all friendly with me (again for no particular reason), and then a few turns later is back denouncing me again for my sins. It's totally erratic. I suspect most of the ridiculous AI behaviour is due to the poor, in my opinion, design decision that the AI plays to win - it means diplomacy is pretty much not an option.

    As for the combat AI, well, they've supposedly improved that in previous patches already, but I don't really see it, so colour me sceptical when they say they're improving it again.
     
  8. Carl5872

    Carl5872 Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    763
    Location:
    Mentor, Ohio
    Actually made me think of an idea. Someone who knows many languages should start a forum topic with a list of what each leader says in their native language and the translation.
    Moderator Action: It's not allowed to respond in the public to a moderator action.

    And we already have at least 3 threads about this topic.
     
  9. Kerosene31

    Kerosene31 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    402
    Well, I'm now seeing some diplomacy. I'm on a fairly large and isolated continent (a few narrow ways in blocked by CS). I've got room to expand without bumping into the AI. I've got Spain and Polynesia nearby and Greece somewhere as well (not sure where exactly).

    Spain and Polynesia are friends and have been friendly with me as well. Alexander is a little stronger so they've been declaring war on him.

    So far the AI isn't coming after me all the time, although I'm not the front runner.

    I'm still keeping the #1 military because I still worry about my "friends" turning on me in an instant.
     
  10. thamis

    thamis King of Kish

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,576
    Just to give a different opinion: 1UPT has finally given CIV the tactical depth it needs. The stack of doom was the most annoying things in the older games. I believe that CIV5 is far, far better in this aspect. 1UPT makes the game much more fun and challenging to play.
     
  11. Inhalaattori

    Inhalaattori Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Up North
    I like the changes, but huge amount of bugs are killing the game.
     
  12. JohnnyW

    JohnnyW Gave up on this game

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Any word?
     
  13. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    I agree. I personally wouldn't have gone for 1upt, instead something more flexible (armies, again), but it is VASTLY superior to SoD combat.

    Woops, sorry.

    I can only see one thing in the wiki that might work (I didn't check building xml, as if that exists then it's in the schema and easy for you to check). Unfortunately, it has no example, and I'm not sure that it means what it sounds like.

    SetCitySizeBoost(iBoost). Also a GetCitySizeType().
     
  14. Zyxpsilon

    Zyxpsilon Running Spider

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,057
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On Earth
    That wasn't my intention.
    Civ4_BTS, checked Online for Updates often enough - exactly when & how i needed to.

    The DVD boxset stated clearly; Internet connection and acceptance of Steam Subscriber Agreement required for activation.
    Done.
    But right at this moment... some steam executable is holding on 12252Kbs (on average) worth of active memory and i'm NOT even playing a CiV game.
    Going in OFFline mode... yep, 10648K - now.

    And Seamonkey, 112000 for typing this reply.
    Firewall, 21704.
    OS_Explorer, 28216.

    Which of those four only should be considered essential assets -- when playing.

    Newell got his business cut. Simple as that. Times are changing however inconvenient they can be too, btw.
     
  15. Clammo

    Clammo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Just a quick query here - has anyone seen a whale since the patch on a game started after downloading it!? I've now had 3 games on huge maps, even tried "abundant" resources, and specifically gone for the island style map - and not one sighting. Could be a coincidence, but I wondered if the atolls had somehow messed around with them? No idea if that's possible as I have no idea about how the game works. Or maybe i've just had some strange map generations?
     
  16. AfterShafter

    AfterShafter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,057
    Location:
    World's largest lentil producer
    Clammo, I had whales in my last game - large size, small continents, with standard resources. So, just must be wacky luck of the draw for you, or a particular map script that isn't whale friendly.
     
  17. Clammo

    Clammo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    OK, thanks for that. Maybe as you say, a weird map script then, as I just realised I hadn't seen any pearls either.
     
  18. sav

    sav Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    594
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Completed a game last night, was fantastic. Only a few seconds between turns, even in the modern era. It almost runs better than Civ 4 if you ask me!
     
  19. AfterShafter

    AfterShafter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,057
    Location:
    World's largest lentil producer
    You know, one thing I will say... I'm still getting *very* significant wait times between turns on huge maps in multiplayer - pretty much as soon as I start exploring the globe. Like, several minutes per turn. My computer is well over the listed specs as well. Anyone else getting this?
     
  20. PieceOfMind

    PieceOfMind Drill IV Defender Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,312
    Location:
    Australia
    Why are you even replying to me? I don't disagree with you, and I've seen all the arguments for and against steam many many months ago. I just don't care anymore. It also has no relevance to what I was discussing earlier.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page