1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Master of Orion 2 unofficial patch

Discussion in 'Other Civ-Related Games' started by Rocco.40, Feb 7, 2016.

  1. Yee

    Yee Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    That did it! Thanks for your help. Still pretty new at this.

    Understood on the extract.cfg and user.cfg.
     
  2. MegaZAC

    MegaZAC Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    I tried this batch. It does create copies, but the game cannot see them unless they will be manually renamed. What I do wrongly?
     
  3. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    nothing wrong, you indeed need to manually rename if you want to play such save.
     
  4. MegaZAC

    MegaZAC Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Having BSOD every time while switching application makes manual renaming painful :sad:

    I have crash every end of turn from this save. However, I can normally play new game. What is wrong here?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    1. That sounds painful indeed. Salvation lies in using DOSBox.
    2. I have played your save for a couple of turns and i get no crash from it. Noticed it's an ice game and it's pretty late game (>300). Do you get crashes more often in late games?
     
  6. MegaZAC

    MegaZAC Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    It was the first time I survived that long, so have no idea about often crashes. From this save I have crash just from the first turn. I actually cannot continue playing from it. Is there any logs from where I could understand what is wrong? Perhaps some rare file is missing.
     
  7. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    You can take a look in orion2.log, and share here if you see anything out of the ordinary.
     
  8. MegaZAC

    MegaZAC Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    It has nothing regarding crash with my save.
    I did complete reinstallation, started new game, and soon got another crash. This time there was a message on the screen copied to log.

    An unexpected error occured, MoO2 version 1.50.8 will now terminate.
    MoO2 internal error:
    GAME.LBX [entry 29] exceeds number of LBX entries

    If you think this is a bug consider reporting it to the patch authors,
    see README_150.TXT for the appropriate links.

    [21:04:26.011] terminated.
     
  9. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    sounds like something went wrong with installing a game.
    you have to make sure that all game files are in your game folder and are of most recent version.
    game.lbx latest version is from the 1.31 patch.
    thus-
    1. install a game to your moo2 game folder of choice
    2. copy all files from origin of installation to that game folder
    3. patch to 1.31 (after copying files from origin)
    4. install 1.50 patch
    hope this helps...
     
  10. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    ok, we did find that playing this save without dosbox indeed crashes it right away.
    with dosbox the game can be played, but depending on scenario it can cause (graphical) problems later on.
    tbc....
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2017
  11. Depth386

    Depth386 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I'm having an unfortunate problem with this patch.
    My game is freezing when I click the Turn Button. The animation of any black holes on the galaxy screen stops, and after a few seconds, the music stops too.
    Nothing unusual in Orion2.log but I am including the last several entries just in case.
    I am a modder so I tried launching with different .cfg files such as 1.50 Standard and Classic just in case some of my parameters were problematic.
    Unfortunately the problem persists regardless so the issue is likely contained inside the Save10.gam file.

    Here is a link to my save game file.
    https://www.mediafire.com/?8h1c8169vqa04po

    Below is a code box with my recent Orion2.log stuff
    Code:
    [21:44:25.004] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 610ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [21:45:15.002] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 550ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [24:00:32.029] exiting normally, bye!
    [08:13:42.001] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 490ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    loaded version 2 save file (created in 1.50.8.0)
    [09:41:47.079] exiting normally, bye!
    [22:31:17.002] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 1930ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    loaded version 2 save file (created in 1.50.8.0)
    [24:24:22.072] exiting normally, bye!
    [22:58:27.000] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 440ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    loaded version 2 save file (created in 1.50.8.0)
    [24:54:01.071] exiting normally, bye!
    [10:34:28.000] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 500ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    loaded version 2 save file (created in 1.50.8.0)
    [11:07:24.051] exiting normally, bye!
    [14:17:06.001] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 430ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    loaded version 2 save file (created in 1.50.8.0)
    [15:26:16.020] exiting normally, bye!
    [01:22:56.005] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 1260ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [02:33:42.008] exiting normally, bye!
    [11:29:19.004] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 660ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [12:22:34.002] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 930ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [16:19:50.001] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 490ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [06:47:05.004] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 500ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [06:47:34.004] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod 0_SET150i
    loaded mod MAP1_150
    loaded mod ANT_L1
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 1040ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [06:49:11.004] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod 0_SET140
    loaded mod MAP0_140
    loaded mod ANT_L0
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 380ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    [07:44:25.004] starting C:\ORION150.EXE, version 1.50.8
    loading config ORION2.CFG
    loading config 150\language\en\en.CFG
    loading config 150\ENABLE.CFG
    loaded mod Depth386
    loaded mod MAP_D386_v1.01
    loaded mod USER
    config loaded in 490ms
    config extracted to EXTRACT.CFG
    
     
  12. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    Hi, thanks for the report. I played your save and did not find an issue on my installation.
    Noticed that there is a surrender event tho after clicking turn (Klackon surrender to Trilarian).
    Can you also upload your EXTRACT.CFG that you have after the game crashed? Tx...
     
  13. Depth386

    Depth386 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    4
  14. Alex/150

    Alex/150 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    I can't reproduce the freeze either, tried both your config and classic.

    1. Can you retry with the clean install? (i.e. rename current game dir, reinstall orion, reinstall patch, load the save and check if it still freezes) This is to rule out damaged lbxs.

    2. Also the following info might help:
    - your OS version and bitness
    - MOO2 distro (steam/gog/original cd)
    - dosbox version
    - did you edit 150/dosbox-base.conf?
    - did you overwrite/edit any lbxs?
     
  15. Depth386

    Depth386 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Oh pooh I feel so stupid, sorry guys.
    Yes I did overwrite the file Shipname.lbx
    And surprise surprise switching back to the old one fixes it.
    Even back in 1.31 I did have one time my ship names caused issues... I was just trying to make things a little more thematic. In particular the various numbered names like Bulrathi Battleship being "Wolf I" "Wolf II" "Wolf III" etc. up to VIII really bothered me. So I created my own ship name list just for the sake of immersion.

    So this issue is resolved upon me realizing my own stupidity but in case you're curious about the issue:
    I am running Windows 7 Pro 64 bit
    I bought Moo2 on Steam just to support but I had an old Moo2 folder somewhere and I think I used that so it would presumably be original 1.31
    DosBox version is 0.74
    I did not edit the .conf
    I did overwrite shipname.lbx because as far as I could tell it isn't supported any other way, and that was my problem.

    It's unfortunate that Moo2 doesn't seem to like having those strings changed lol
    In case you are curious here is a .xls spreadsheet I made, and then I edited the .lbx after. It was quite a little project of mine, for example with Alkari i literally went on Wikipedia for a list of types of birds for most of the names, Bulrathi = wiki list of types of bears, etc... I allowed myself some creative humor in the doomstar category.
    https://www.mediafire.com/?gt2xzof27oy6d77 Moo2 ship names .xls
    https://www.mediafire.com/?7dpnw92ah7unu79 shipname.lbx
     
  16. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    If you use the MOO2 Workshop or a HEX editor to edit such files, you should be fine.
    If you edit the LBX directly with a text editor, you are in trouble.

    edit: note that shipnames can be max. 15 characters long.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017
  17. Alex/150

    Alex/150 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    "Financial Survey", "Market Liquidity", "Sabretooth Tigre" and "Hammerhead Shark" are all 1 character too long. From file structure it might seem that the limit is 16 but 16th character has to be null. Otherwise your lbx looks fine. Also an interesting take on ship naming, i should try to play like this sometime.
     
  18. Depth386

    Depth386 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you so much for your advice Rocco.40 and Alex/150.
    I have disabled my old shipname.lbx mediafire link.
    I made changes:
    -revised the 16 character names
    -fixed a few errors where there would be a name, some null, a random character, then more null.

    Here is a new shipname.lbx :
    https://www.mediafire.com/?dhuqqirp7k8nmqu
    Disclaimer: I haven't play tested with this shipname.lbx much yet, I won't have time for a while. If there are any more problems I'll be sure to report it and upload any further revisions of shipname.lbx I make

    I'm honored that you like the idea of more immersive (perhaps cheesy) ship names :)

    I considered doing
    Starname.lbx too but I find it very difficult to decide on a theme. The old greek letter followed by constellation or region is one way, then there are all kinds of ancient biblical and arab star names, but the arab ones you end up with half your library starting with "Al" so its always like "Al Something" and that feels somewhat lacking in diversity. And with some other famous real names, Wolf359 or Bayern's Star could easily end up on the opposite end of the galaxy from the humans.

    Stock moo2 starname.lbx kind of draws on some of these naming conventions, but it also leaves something to be desired at times.
     
  19. Colon

    Colon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Messages:
    477
    Just to be sure: are planet max populations in 1.50 improved those of the original game, except of tiny?

    Great job with the launcher. It's amazing what you're doing with the game.
     
  20. Rocco.40

    Rocco.40 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    In the classic game (classic or 150 standard modes) the max population of tiny planets with ocean/ tundra/ desert/ barren/ radiated/ toxic climates is just 1.
    This 1maxpop makes tiny planets quite unattractive, so in 150 improved this has been increased to 2maxpop.
    Now these planets have at least some growth and become more valuable.
    As a consequence tiny gaia became 6 (5), terran 5 (4) and arid 4 (3), while swamp is unchanged at 2.
    There is also some effects for tolerant, aquatic and subterranean races.
    The precise effects can be analyzed using the Pop. Calculator in the file Manual_150.xls, if you wish.
    The popmaxes of small, medium, large and huge planets are unchanged in 150 improved.
    I have actually considered making more changes to popmaxes for 150 improved, similar to what was done for the icemod, but decided not too stray to far into modding territory for 150i.
    Hope this helps.
    Thanks for feedback!
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2017

Share This Page