1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Colonization: 2071

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by orlanth, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. cowsgomoo

    cowsgomoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Couple of snags with A.I.: with their zero movement, they have to be built where you want them but right now it means they're not actually allowed to join a colony or change profession. Or am I just doing it wrong? :)

    The other thing is that purchasing an AI on Earth is incredibly cheap (1350, I think it was) so as long as they can bought and loaded into a ship and dropped appropriately into a colony, it doesn't make much sense to build them yourself on anything but an inland colony. You could remove them from the purchase list, but I think even if you found a way around the profession problem, you could still shuttle them from place to place in ships... unless they, say, took 7+ cargo spaces or something uncarryable?
     
  2. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    Thanks for the report, I didn't realize 0 movement prevented them from joining a colony when manufactured :eek: I guess their movement should be changed to 1, I liked having them stationary and reliant on ship transport but it's better to allow manufacturing of them.

    Playing as Japan you can import your first several AIs cheaply from Earth (especially with the discount from your Cybernetic trait), but the oppressive Emperor will rapidly raise prices as you buy more :scan: forcing you to move to advanced manufacturing for full independence.

    (edit: hmm, I wonder if setting <TerrainImpassables> in civ4unitinfos.xml could allow them to be stationary while having Movement score of 1!) :hmm:

    (edit: it works! see attached patch):king:

    I changed Cargospace to 2 so they're a bit harder to import.. maybe should up it to 3 or 4 so you'll need better vessels than the Corvette to carry them.
     
  3. LefferDP

    LefferDP Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    I had some Platinum spawn in game on one of my mines and... It apparently didn't grant any extra Hard Currency. After some futzing about with various terrain, I think the particular bonus is broken. Copper and Gold work okay on the same terrain and grant proper bonuses where Platinum doesn't. Also discovered Precious Stones seems to have similar problems in the process of fooling around.

    Will report back if I run into a spawned version of either of those resources that has the appropriate bonuses.
     
  4. CCA

    CCA Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,449
    Keep up the good work! Been a while since i played but I came back today.
     
  5. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    Thanks for the report. After looking a little I don't think there's a problem with specific Bonuses like Platinum (BONUS_SILVER in xml/Terrain/Civ4bonusinfos.xml) since these are all set up relatively the same way. Rather, it looks like the standard Colonization game does not update all yields for a tile after a new Bonus is discovered on a tile (this happens by using <BonusTypeStruct><iDiscoverRnd> in xml/Terrain/Civ4ImprovementInfos.xml ). Firaxis probably never implemented this tile yield updating for Colonization, but I think the DLL could probably be adjusted to do this. Does anyone happen to know where this type of code would be in DLL?

    Thanks a lot, it's good to know people are still playing & enjoying this mod. :scan::cool: I'm hoping to work on developing a new & improved version of this mod in the coming year; I have lots of graphics collected, but would love to have some help with it, so anyone interested please feel free to PM me or post here.
     
  6. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    weplayciv.com which had hosted this mod has apparently gone down for some reason, and has remained down for a while :eek::(
    I'm not sure if it's permanent or not, but fortunately I had posted a mirror of the main download at atomicgamer and it looks like it's still there: :):scan::assimilate:

    http://atomicgamer.com/files/95495/colonization-2071-v1-41

    Is there anyone interested to work with me on updating this mod? I'd gotten several offers a while back but it looks like they didn't stick around after all :sad: I can do most of the graphics, sound, text and XML coding myself if needed :hammers: but probably can't accomplish it all on my lonesome.. to really make it good I would need at least a little help from a C++ programmer:science:. This got over 6000 downloads on weplayciv, I hope someone who liked it will someday see this & be interested to help develop it further :king::scan:
     
  7. Robert Surcouf

    Robert Surcouf Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    France
    Hi Orlanth,
    We'll yes! I'll download your mod. :goodjob:
    And I may help you a little. ;)
    But I would have to share my time with Religion and Revolution (see my private message too... ;)) ...
     
  8. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    Thank you Robert! I guess it's best to continue RaR before this mod, I wouldnt want to distract you from it. If Inventions can eventually be included in the RaR DLL, maybe I can later use that as a base for this mod.
     
  9. Androrc the Orc

    Androrc the Orc Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,621
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
  10. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    thank you Andre, I saw those too & they look good. He also posted a big set of unit nifs that would be good for aliens. However unfortunately I don't think I can redevelop this mod alone. I will try to help with the scifi mod started by Ray, so hopefully it can get off the ground: http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=487130
    I would love to see some of the 200 New Terrains Pack make it into a scifi mod somewhere! :scan::cool:
     
  11. Sankofa1

    Sankofa1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    And I seem to like it. A little bit "much" going on but workable. My only big issue I'm having is, "How the heck does one send colonist to alien colonies so they can become farmers etc.? Please help. Hope to hear from someone soon. reference to the Space mod.
     
  12. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    Thanks a lot Sankofa, I'm glad you're enjoying it! :)

    You should be able to send colonists to alien settlements to learn specialist skills as usual if you have learned the appropriate Tech for that specialist type. Note that you start out with only a few techs and specialist types, and gradually unlock access to more and more goods, units, buildings and specialist types through research in your Research Labs, or trading for technologies by diplomacy. :borg::scan:
     
  13. shivan

    shivan Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    So glad to see this mod is still living! Ill give it another play i think!
     
  14. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    Thank you shivan! Please post any feedback you have especially about the aliens gameplay is doing & how it might be improved; there may be a new playable-natives mod in the works :king:
     
  15. drjest2000

    drjest2000 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    retired
    I just wanted to post that I have some ideas for 2071, but they're vague and unrefined at this point. I'm fighting with Blender at the moment, the NIF plug-in seems to be... well... it has "personality".

    I'm still finding my way through all this, having to relearn so much of the things I used to know. I read some of my posts from 2009 and I can't help thinking "how the Hell did I forget so much"... I know the answer... I rotted my brains playing WoW for 4 years >_<

    I haven't posted in this thread before, which may be a blessing. But rest assured, when my head is finally wrapped around Blender, and Python, and the one thousand and one moving parts of the DLL, I will be a lurking menace to the quiet of this thread, because I do so love the sound of my fingers hitting the keys :crazyeye:
     
  16. drjest2000

    drjest2000 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    retired
    @Orlanth - I keep getting a crash when I exit to desktop. It's a minor nuisance, but may be important.

    The error I get is : The instruction at "0x7c910a9" referenced memory at "0x00000000". The memory could not be "read".

    Attached is the crash dump file (normal size, no one wants the 350 MB one, I'm sure)

    Other than this error, I am having no problems with the mod running on my old system. Well, other than I am very slow at figuring out what is what on the map >_<
     

    Attached Files:

  17. drjest2000

    drjest2000 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    retired
    I located duplicate ARTDEFs for LEADER_GLORIANA in CIV4ArtDefines_Leaderhead.xml. Lines 23-29 and line 51-57.

    There is no LEADER_GLORIANA listed in CIV4LeaderHeadInfos.xml, but one of the 3D Models mentioned is used for Sayyadina

    I don't think this is causing any significant problems, but I thought you'd want to know.
     
  18. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    Thanks drjest. I downloaded that dump file but couldn't really make head nor tail of it :confused: Anyway, if I make a new version it should probably be built from the ground up on an improved DLL base like M:C or RaR/RaRE, which could hopefully resolve a lot of the remaining issues and improve performance & overall modding flexibility. I did set up a sourceforge for planning an eventual version 2, & anyone can feel free to join if you want. https://sourceforge.net/projects/col2071

    There's an early outline of a design document here, on second thought maybe it should be less ambitious and require less yields, buildings, terrains etc to stay achievable. If Androrcs cool Space Domain modcomp (seen a few pages back in this thread) can also be merged in, that would enable both space terrain and aquatic and non-aquatic planets on the same map. I have some ideas of how to tweak the python Planets mapscript so it could create several different planet types (Volcanic, Aquatic, Barren, etc) using some new terrains from the pack in my sig.

    Also, feel free to have a browse through the nifs zipfile in the sourceforge file section; it's a large collection I'd pieced together over time several of which could be suitable for a range of other mods & modders.
     
  19. Newfloridian

    Newfloridian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    I've managed to get past turn 500 (currently 542) without spawning an alien to attack me. I just wondered whether it would be possible to make some sort of enhancement for the tracks between settlements ala sliderails, tubes etc that appear in Civ4?

    Also is there a simple amalgamated entry which will tell what professional I need to (say) take full advantage of a PM Industrial Complex once the mound was removed? Also is it currently possible to harvest resources from the squares outside the "town" limit but inside the colony borders?

    Great and enjoyable mod

    Alan
     
  20. orlanth

    orlanth Storm God. Yarr!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,776
    Thanks. I agree it could be a cool feature to add a "railroad" type enhancement like a Maglev Tube perhaps using the jumplane graphic from Final Frontier. Currently you can only work a 1-tile radius around cities like in the regular game. Discovering & excavating the Progenitor facilities usually allows you to harvest advanced goods directly (for example harvest Fusion Cores from the Progenitor Reactor) which I think should be visible in the pedia. Any colonist type can do it, but ones with an advantage for that good will get that advantage as well (eg Brilliant Physicist getting a boost to Fusion Cores production).
     

Share This Page