1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mod Component Request Thread

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Mod Components' started by TheLopez, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,217
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    Nope impossible. Adding city-states that never existed is currently not possible.
     
  2. Klisz

    Klisz King

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    805
    Unfortunately I'm pretty sure it's impossible to add new city-states once the game has begun.

    EDIT: Argh I did not see Enginseer's post up there
     
  3. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,399
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    While strictly true, the same effect can be achieved by adding additional City States to those configured (eg 16 states for standard map size, set it to 32 by code during the pre-game), killing the extra CS settlers (16 in this example) as the map initialises and then resurrect them to create the "new" city states from the unwanted cities
     
  4. fissqui

    fissqui Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Then; maybe it would be possible to create a new "type" of city which looks like a city-state :D and then get the option to turn basic-cities into this new type :B
    it just could be cities with a different color, 2-3 armies and unusable by the player. Clicking on those towns would propose different options like "declare war", etc.
     
  5. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,399
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
    That would be even more complex to code
     
  6. bane_

    bane_ Howardianism High-Priest

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,559
    @fissqui - I'm working on a Persian Civ that has an unique unit that does something similar ("May be expended in a Conquered city to change ownership to a previously unknown City-State."). I can modify the code a bit to fit your taster after I release it, if you wish.
     
  7. fissqui

    fissqui Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    @bane_ It would be awwesome :D
     
  8. biship

    biship Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    186
    whoward69, any chance you can create a "UI - Overview Unimproved Tiles" mod that shows/highlights only tiles (within my border (if possible)) not improved? I tried to copy & hack up something based on OverlayResources.lua & OverlayLuxuries.lua but failed :/

    When I have a huge Civ, I find it hard to locate which tiles I am yet to improve.

    Including only city workable tiles would also be nice (as well as luxuries/resources outside city workable range).

    Hah, this escalated from a easy request to something complex quite fast!

    EDIT: Or even cooler, highlight when a worker is selected.
     
  9. whoward69

    whoward69 DLL Minion

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8,399
    Location:
    Near Portsmouth, UK
  10. Zar Legend

    Zar Legend Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Hi all. Got a mod request.

    Now I'm playing Super Power Modpack - Total Conversion Mod. It's got two great features: (1) loosing one population per two dead military units and (2) settlers cost population by building it. Why don't we combine this two, so military units cost population by building, not dying? For every unit class should be different costs: infantry - 0.5 pop; cavalry/tanks/archers - 0.3 pop, so one pop per two-three units; airunits - 0.2-0.1 pop; ships - 1-2 pops (carriers or battleships are actual swimming cities). And so on. Every city above 3 pops should randomly pay its tribute to the war effort. By this we won't have an army we can't support by population growth. I tried to do it myself, but I suck at LUA and Civ5 programming =(

    Would really appreciate if you'd do this. Thanks in advance :)
     
  11. notque

    notque Artificially Intelligent

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,654
    I think a fun mod component to try would be removing roads and replacing them with where Caravans go, like in Civ 6.

    Might be too much work, but it would be fun to try this out and get a feel for how it goes. Would also need to have the AI work internal traderoutes to get roads up, so maybe it's all together too complicated, and we're just waiting for Civ 6, but thought I'd say it out loud.
     
  12. killmeplease

    killmeplease Mk Z on Steam

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Samara
    i need a small hut model for the Hermit improvement
    it could be taken from the Plantation improvement i think
     
  13. ifLaMaster

    ifLaMaster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Is there is possible to create the mod who redesign month increment system from turn-based next turn -> next year, to tech-based next tech -> next year?
    What i mean. It's really hard(maybe even impossible) configure month increment to learn "future tech" in our time. Perhaps, there is some way to add new years from learning tech? Like:
    Ancient era tech + 150 years for each tech
    Classical era tech + 100 years for each tech
    ...
    Information era tech + a few years for each tech
    and future era tech + maybe normal turn-based system, or leave information era "few years for each tech"
     
  14. biship

    biship Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    186
    @whoward69, ty for all your mods :)

    2 ideas which would be nice.

    a) For workers, when set to auto-improve, customizable "permitted/not-permitted" actions (using a gui similar to https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=220250184). ie. repairs on/off, road building on/off, do not improve (marsh/forest/etc). For example. this mod could be used to set workers to only repair when on auto-improve.

    b) Using a similar interface, enabling auto-decline to other civs when they propose specific trade deals. ie For every trade deal where they want one of my cities, auto-decline regardless of what they are offering (unless its one of their cities?). I'm sick of civs, almost every turn wanting to five me almost nothing for one of my cities.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  15. SRAKER123

    SRAKER123 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    sorry if such mod already exists but i didnt find it to make all unique units and availiable to any civ and to allow cities to work infinite amount of tiles or rings
     
  16. Sang_Froid

    Sang_Froid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    Some ideas, if everybody havent leave civ 5 for civ 6... (maybe some have been said i havent read all the threads )

    Workers can sit(work) on an improved tile to increase its yield
    Workers can turn to militia when in war ( must be activated before it gets attack or it just gets capture ) could be available with Honor policy
    Improvement: training ground; unit standing (training) on it for a complete turn gets xp
    Trade routes to other civilizations who has a luxury you dont already have gives 1 happiness.
    A remake of Great Heroes mod, including admirals with correct attack animations and era evolution
    I would split most of ressources, like unstead of gem , have diamonds, rubys, saphir, emeralds, unstad of fish, have tuna, salmon, shark, trout (only in lakes) , different timbers, oak, maple, pine ebony
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017
    Rustam_NB likes this.
  17. DracoTheGreat

    DracoTheGreat Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    Messages:
    163
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lawrenceville, GA
    A mod that converts unhappy cities into a civilization randomly chosen from the civ selection screen that isn't in the game.

    Kinda like how America used to be British, then turned into, well, America.
     
  18. tedav

    tedav Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    A mod that changes the demand tribute formula so that the maximum pressure from total army size (not counting presence nearby) is 150 rather than 75.

    Alternatively, have the pressure from total army size be based on your strength, strength city state's army, and strength of anyone protecting them, with no absolute cap.

    Basically, if you have a large enough army, you ought to be able to demand tribute without being close by - this is not currently the case, since whomever has the strongest army gets only +75 and the minimum you need to bully them is +110.

    Long story short, the most powerful empire should be able to bully without sending troops. Smaller armies should have to be on their doorstep.

    [Also, if setting the max from total military from 75 to 150 can be done with a simple XML edit, just let me know what line to change, and I'll do that myself]
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2018
  19. pineappledan

    pineappledan Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    5,003
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I'm wanting to make a new unique improvement for a custom civ. If I made the wireframe/textures in blender, could someone convert them into the requisite art asset files?

    Or just do it all? lol

    I'm trying to make a Kofun improvement
     
  20. Eddie Verdde

    Eddie Verdde Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    I need a mod where I can toggle on/off all the icons in the map. When I zoom out the map becomes a mess, not only because of the "Carpet of Doom" icons but also because of the city icons. It's very hard to get the whole picture of your civilization.

    I've seen in another thread a mod that disables unit icons, but I simply have no clue of how to implement it. It's a zip file with a few files and I don't know where to put them.

    If someone can help I would be very grateful.
     

Share This Page