[MOD] Composite Mod by Exavier

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Exavier, Dec 13, 2005.

  1. Tomyris

    Tomyris Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    33
  2. calyth

    calyth /bin/sh of a man

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    436
    Hm.. Ok.
    I'm playing this archipelago map that being able to put forests near a city that's really short on production would really help. Don't have to worry about losing the one food for the workshop is great.
     
  3. Atlantean

    Atlantean Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    @Kolyana - For the questions concerning the Partisan unit I checked out the data on this site about civII.

    The Partisan became available when you discovered the "Guerilla Warfare" tech, so no ancient partisans (rational for this could be that in ancient times dissenters were simply executed or lacked sufficient organization to mount a meaningful resistance). I suppose for civ4 I would make them available after "Communism" at least.They had half as much offense as marines and slightly less defense (I don't know exactly how this would translate to Civ4, I guess they would be close to standard Infantry, i.e not mechanized). and they would be under the control of the city's original owner.

    Their special features were they ignored enemy zones of control (not applicable to civ4, however I suppose there could be a way to mod this so they can enter enemy territory like spies but not be concealed or they simply will be automatically removed after resistance in the captured city had ended). Their other feature was they treated all terrain like roads, basically a 1/3 movement bonus.

    Hope this helps and I'll be interested to see if anyone can create a mod that reproduces this old cool feature.
     
  4. Xavier Von Erck

    Xavier Von Erck Warlord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    I really want to try this instead of slower tech and other balances, but please don't add the inquisitor mod. It's too unbalancing and the AI doesn't know how to use it. It doesn't even add unhappiness when you religiously cleanse.

    This is looking great though, I can't wait to finish my current game and try it.
     
  5. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    hehe i wouldn't really want ppl to be able to remove my religion anyway... I usually found Buddism and usually make sure i spread it everywhere for the Line of Sight. I find it more useful then spys sometimes lol. Though it they do manage to balance it I might think about it :)

    Might add the UN Resolutions modifications in there though... I never play with Diplomatic Victory enabled so i usually don't think about it. I am hoping to make a new update within the next day or so to fix a few minor bugs with the Great Generals (they come on the scene too fast) and a few smaller tweaks.
     
  6. Kolyana

    Kolyana Czarina

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    651

    Let me see what's available to us in Python and without the SDK.
     
  7. Kolyana

    Kolyana Czarina

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    I liked the idea behind the INquisitor mod, but until the AI can use it and there are other balancing issues (such as unhappiness) I agree with shelving that idea.
     
  8. Aeon221

    Aeon221 Lord of the Cheese Helmet

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    Hiding from the Afro-Eurasians
  9. ACEofHeart

    ACEofHeart Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Sorry if this was already asked but why does it install 2 different Mod folders..

    (1) Composite
    (2) Composite Mod by Exavier

    which one do we run ?? :confused:
     
  10. JohnSearle

    JohnSearle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    I think your problem stems from your unzipping.. The name of the zip file is composite, but the folder inside the zip is 'Composite Mod by Exavier.' Regardless, what you'll want to run is the 'Composite Mod by Exavier,' since it holds the actual data.
     
  11. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    New Version Released
    v1.3 Changelist added put in first post
    Download size updated

    Changes:
    -Fixed West Point to be city specific again.
    -Minor Changes to Great Generals (specialist comes slightly later, Great General Building reduced it power)
    -Added 3 more units from Lost Units Mod (Howitzer, Bi-Plane, Zepplin)
    -Added Korean & Sumerian Civilizations
    -Made it possible to build 3 National Wonders in 1 city
    -Unit Upgrade Cost Reduced
    -Other Minor adjustments

    Let me know what you think :)
     
  12. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Hey, Exavier. Your mod is corrupt. I got a "invalid" and corrupt from it. It looks good though. Also, should I delete the composite mode, the modifications, and composite mod v1.2 when I can successfully download v1.3? Thanks.
     
  13. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Also, I am dead serious. If you "delete" your mod by editing it out it does something really neat: it places is it really conviently on the bottom with a totally accurate read out of how big it is and (big thing) it tells you how many people downloaded it so you can see how popular your mod is:D.
     
  14. Kolyana

    Kolyana Czarina

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    651
  15. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Uh, I thought it was bad luck but I tried another time and downloaded it but when I went to extract it said there was nothing too extract! Also, for a third time the thing said it was downloading but not a single file was transfered or anything so I quit. Also, your statement "it isn't stable by a longshot" is also very reassuring.
     
  16. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    @Condor - I am not 2 worried about how many ppl download it lol. As for the invalid i think your smoking something, works fine for me lol. Also I would get rid of all older versions as new ones are released. But its up to you.

    @Kolyana - I'll make the changes to the forum post and readme to reflect this but I'm not going to upload again so the download still will say Unknown (untill next update).

    @monkspider - If you read this my apologies on not having your name in it. I couldn't find the thread the mod came from and you didn't have your name in the files themselves (like a readme or something) :)
     
  17. Kolyana

    Kolyana Czarina

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    651

    Condor, where are you getting this? Everything works great for me.
     
  18. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Um it says it isn't balanced by a longshot... i don't see anything mentioning stability :p
     
  19. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Oh, well doesn't that mean the same thing:confused: and sorry for misquoting you and I am not making this up because there is nothing to gain and I like Exavier's mods:mad:!
     
  20. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    No, instability means probobly going to crash alot. imbalance means that the units are not completely balanced in line with others so not to creat "Super Units" that can wreak the game. I don't think i have modded anything game breaking into my mod but my opinion of what is game breaking can vary from others... thats why I made the comment.
     

Share This Page