1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Composite Mod by Exavier

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Exavier, Dec 13, 2005.

  1. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    I know downloading it not even successfully (it downloaded just 124kbs) just caused my computer to utterly crash:mad::mad: Here is a pic of it not completeing the download like a second before my computer exploded:

    I am probably going to log off for an hour or so now to restore my computer before it crashed:mad::mad:mad:!!!
     
  2. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    I think your problem is with your PC because the download has worked fine for other so far... I know what it is... its AOL! darn thing is a virus! :p
     
  3. Kolyana

    Kolyana Czarina

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    651
  4. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Hi, thanks. I will e-mail you in a sec. Sorry for the anger it is just I put an old game back on my computer and spent half a day getting a patch, mods, and modding it myself because of some old flaws it has and I was pissed I lost it and I have to spend another day putting it back on. If it works I will post again.
     
  5. JohnSearle

    JohnSearle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    lol.. Was just about to say the exact same thing. :lol:
     
  6. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Oh, well thanks to Kolyana it is now on my computer and I can start testing:goodjob:. Thanks again Kolyana and hopefully within this month I get a new internet:woohoo::D. Yeah, it is kinda a cruel irony kinda thing how the day I decide to:A.Put on a old/new game plus its patch plus some mods to relieve the boredom I get from Civ B.Update almost everything on my computer (norton, spybot, etc.) and C. Delete or remove a lot of old junk that is just taking up space the computer has to have a BSOD so I have to system restore to a few days ago (losing everything I updated and put on my computer) and run a system check thing that unfortunately puts back on everything I took off (to open up space for the new game and to make other stuff run faster) among other things:sad:.... I really hate just about everything right now ('cept Kolyana, my fish, and my new/old game):mad:.
     
  7. Kolyana

    Kolyana Czarina

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    651
  8. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Those certainly look good. Good find Kolyana;). Those seem like an actually worthy addition to your mod Exavier.
     
  9. JohnSearle

    JohnSearle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    The foreign advisor mod I've been looking forward to seeing :)
     
  10. Kolyana

    Kolyana Czarina

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    651
    The foreign advisro one makes sense ... jesus, I don't know what these damned designer were thinking of when they put this game together, but it clearly wasn't usability.

    Anyway, I've just tested something and it works nicely: To have your civilization game START with the Composite mod running, open your civilization.ini file and find the line2:

    ; Specify a Mod folder (Mods\Mesopotamia), '0' for none
    Mod = 0

    Edit to:
    ; Specify a Mod folder (Mods\Mesopotamia), '0' for none
    Mod = Mods\Composite Mod

    (or whatever your Composite mod folder is called).

    When you start civ iv, this mod will be auto loaded and you will not have to go to the advanced menu, pick the mod and restart the game.
     
  11. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Yeah, that is cool and all but sometimes (yeah, I know it is hard to believe) I like to play the game standardly and besides I don't mind the two minute load but I bet other people will so interesting find;).
     
  12. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    @Kolyana - Nice suggestions. I think i will put the Enhanced Foreign Advisors Mod at the top of my list for new additions... thats actually very useful :p

    The ActualQuotes Mod is nice too but I don't think I'd want to impliment it... at least not yet. The reason is because of the work it would require (yea i am lazy, especially around the holidays). The problem with it is all those quotes and links to the qoutes (as they are usually in multiple files) have to go in there properly. If I keep adding new civilizations to the mod there is a high possibility that I could easily throw these custom quotes out of whack. And I honestly wouldn't look forward to cleanup :p

    That doesn't mean I won't look at how its set up... Because it is a very nice idea. It just means that I wouldn't expect it in the next update or so without me doing some serious research into what everything is linked to. :p
     
  13. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Yeah, I kinda have to agree I am very antisocial so most of the time when I declare war I just alt click the leader on the scoreboard or when I want something I just take it so I and probably a few others wouldn't get to experience the whole greatness of it and we also wouldn't want to trouble poor, old Exavier would we:p.
     
  14. Tomyris

    Tomyris Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Quick question- is this mod compatible with the earth map included in Civ IV? Maybe it's also compatible with Rhye's 18 civilizations unlocked in their starting positions mod?
     
  15. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    I honestly am no sure if it is or not. if your playing the earth map as just a map (no senerio modifications) it should work fine. Mainly because a senerio is basicly a mod by itself as they usually have special rules. As for the 18 civilizations unlocked in starting positions... again it depends on if that actually a map or a senerio/mod. easiest way would be to give it a try.

    Actually I'd like to know myself :p
     
  16. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    Hey Exavier, I have only played a forth of the new mod so far and it seems pretty nice however while I support the three national wonders per city cuz on my lovely little eighteen civ duel panageas I don't get to make to many cities but on bigger maps it is kinda bad in a way I can't really describe.
     
  17. Tomyris

    Tomyris Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    33
  18. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    @Condor - Yes I know it lets you create some powerful citys but the AIs do make use of the change. So I am not gona complain about it too much.

    @Tomyris - That looks like a nice mod he has comming there. Though he moved alot of things around so I would actually have to take a look at it.

    Actually if Condor and Kolyana want to take a look at it and give me some feedback as well I'd apreciate it :p
     
  19. The Condor

    The Condor On an excellent adventure

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,622
    Location:
    Where the streets have no name.
    I might (I am redownloading all the updates for my computer) and doesn't that make it kinda an unfair advantage against the AI since you can have super perfect cities forever where as they cannot?
     
  20. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    um... "The AIs "DO" make use of the changes"... so they build 3 National Wonders in their cities just like you can... In one of my test games I had trouble taking an AI city because of this lol. though it adds to the fun imo.

    besides as i war in the first post it isn't nessisarily balanced... if you think its too easy then up the dificulty :p
     

Share This Page