1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Realism:Resurrected

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by KGrevstad, Jan 4, 2006.

  1. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    The howitzer is part of Lost Units and is in the Realism mod. It's called UNIT_MARI, but I don't know why. I have not inserted the mobile same unit yet.

    --Kristine
     
  2. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    @keldath -- I have not yet included the promotions and traits mod, it is on my list of things to do. As for MP, I don't play MP, so I don't know if this mod is compatible or not. dbkblk has reported out-of-sync errors, and believes they are related to this mod, but others have reported generalized OOS errors with mods.

    --Kristine
     
  3. Exavier

    Exavier Destroyer of Worlds

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    906
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Ok well as far as I know only me and the guy with the Green Mod are playing with the script for the Mobile SAM so if you want a copy of it let me know.
     
  4. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Thank you. It's been a lot of work, and most of it's not mine.

    CivII had a dragoon unit that was real effective. But I do think the timeline is too quick in this period. It often seems I go from horse archer to knight to the mark v tank, but maybe that's just an artifact of how I play the game. Most of the time, I'm not warring too much from knights to armor. This mod does already have a trebuchet, available with the guilds tech.

    I do agree that we need some more effective anti-armor unit. And a faster movement artillery would (perhaps) be useful. Usually when I go conquering, I load up on armor and air units, using the latter for bombardment to reduce defenses and strike to reduce HP. If it's a water assault, then I use naval bombardment to reduce the defensive bonus and throw the troops at the city, establishing a beachhead where I can subsequently base air units. I very seldom get involved in amphbious assaults before the modern era. I guess what I'm saying is that the current artillery is not real useful to me because it can't keep up with the armor.

    I thought artillery was strictly siege/bombardment.

    I think it would be very appropriate and useful to have a protracted discussion about the various units from an historical and realism perspective, about their strengths, weaknesses and bonuses. I am not a military historian so I rely upon the kindness of strangers to give me the information.

    --Kristine
     
  5. dbkblk

    dbkblk Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,781
    Location:
    France
    heyhey! Someone apart of me have tested it in multiplayer??? because it doesn't work !!! (at most, it work during 10min..then OOS) ??
     
  6. jimdeb

    jimdeb Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the work done so far...

    Is there any though to making arty able to bombard adjacent tiles/units without taking damage, seeing as that is what real arty can do - they can fire over the horizon if big enough.

    Jim
     
  7. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    No. I was referring to what Exavier said about OOS errors showing up when playing other mods. I don't know if anyone but you is playing this mod MP.

    --Kristine
     
  8. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    You are quite welcome. I hope you're enjoying this mod and that there aren't too many flaws.

    Yes, there's been plenty of thought concerning that, as well as allowing unit damage and maybe even lethal damage, which should include defensive naval bombardment. The problem, though, is I don't know if this is changeable without the SDK. Whether with artillery or navy, you will note there is no targeting reticle, such as you get with aerial bombardment. Perhaps some adaption of the aerial bombardment is possible, but there may be some unwanted side effects with that.

    I have not looked into any of this, though, so I may be completely lying to you. :)

    --Kristine
     
  9. OTZ

    OTZ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Not quite...you can use stacks of arty as offensive units. They act jsut like any other military unit in the game.
     
  10. naf4ever

    naf4ever Dread Lord

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Southeast Washington State
    I never understood why this was in the Realism mod. I think you can find plenty of instances in history where conquering armies basically wiped out and torched cities they had just conquered and then enslaved and shipped off the population.

    Also this feature might be ok in a game with just humans. But not being able to raze stupidly placed computer AI or barbarian cities kinda blows..
     
  11. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I didn't understand either why Jaynus put this in, so I removed it.

    --Kristine
     
  12. OTZ

    OTZ Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I was just wondering if the Barbarians were meant to be as brutal as they are - before I even have archery, they are throwing chariots at me. It's a little disheartening, but a challenge nonetheless...
     
  13. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Yes, they are meant to be that brutal. To make them a little easier, you can tweak the values in Assets/XML/GameInfo/CIV4HandicapInfo.xml for the level you're playing on. Compare that file to the original to get some suggested values, checking all the tags that have "barbarian" in them. There are several. On the other hand, for a real exciting experience, you could always switch on "Raging Barbarians" on the game options page! :)

    --Kristine
     
  14. tyball

    tyball Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    A very nice mod. But why are all the maps being generated almost entirely of grassland and no plains or desert? That doesn't seem very realistic to me. Also the arid and rocky options in the beginning don't seem to have any effect on the de map generation anymore.
     
  15. KGrevstad

    KGrevstad Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I toned down the generation of deserts (I HATE deserts), probably too much, so in the next release I'll tweak things a bit. As for the arid and rocky options, there's no reason why they shouldn't still work, unless it's because of changing the percentage of desert.

    If you want to change it for yourself, this is what I changed, in Mods/Realism/Assets/Python/CvMapGeneratorUtil.py:

    Code:
    < # $Id: CvMapGeneratorUtil.py,v 1.2 2005/12/30 02:16:12 kristine Exp $
    
    975,977c974,976
    < 	def __init__(self, iDesertPercent=5, iPlainsPercent=20,
    < 	             fSnowLatitude=0.9, fTundraLatitude=0.8,
    < 	             fGrassLatitude=0.5, fDesertBottomLatitude=0.2,
    ---
    > 	def __init__(self, iDesertPercent=35, iPlainsPercent=20,
    > 	             fSnowLatitude=0.7, fTundraLatitude=0.6,
    > 	             fGrassLatitude=0.1, fDesertBottomLatitude=0.2,
    
    --Kristine
     
  16. Rumpullpus

    Rumpullpus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    i not sure if anyones tryed this but what i would like to see from a realisim mod like if enough people in your nation become unhappy it would be cool if like they were unhappy long enough they would revolt and the city could become like a new nation or somthing not sure how you could do this mabe barbarian states or somthing.
     
  17. Porto

    Porto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    can someone tell me as to remove the possibility from the privateer to go to the ocean? because in 1000 already the whole world is known and is not for me a very realistic fact. I hope to have been clear and I apologize me for my language. hi to everybody
     
  18. sidwannabe

    sidwannabe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Greenwich, CT
    Hola! I am not nearly as technically saavy as any of you, I'm sure, but I spend a lot of time thinking of ways to make Civ4 more realistic :crazyeye: - chronologically and historically. The first thing that jumps out at me is building a Spaceship to Alpha Centuri, seemingly the easiest and quickest way to win, should come lastly in the game. All of that technology should be in Future tech, no? Maybe future tech should have a separate tech tree that would allow you to build that ship. Being able to build nukes should come waaay before flying into space...

    My 2 cents...what do you think?
     
  19. Rumpullpus

    Rumpullpus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    i like my idea better:)
     
  20. taltos

    taltos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the mod.

    A few points you should address:

    I really love the increase in exp from fighting the barbs... one problem i see in it though... when i upgrade , say a horse archer to knight, the total exp needed to get the next level stays the same but your accumulated exp drops to 10 ( for horse archer to knight) ( this i noticed from my 12 hours straight playing the mod) ... example i had a horse archer with 36/38 exp, upgraded to knight, it's exp was 10/38. notice the drop in exp?

    the other thing i noticed about your mod is in the top left of screen, the game has a running list of the happenings in the world. ( so and so built this and so and so built that etc..) while i was playing with 0.63 of your version numbers would come up instead of whatever the number represents. I would see a number come up and if i click on the log it would show that one of your barbarian cities was destroyed. this would have to be fixed sometime.
     

Share This Page