1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] Snoopy/Dale PatchMod

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Mods and Files' started by Dale, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. Öjevind Lång

    Öjevind Lång Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,371
    Also, of course, I think the game should last longer so you don't have to prepare for the WoI from day One. It detracts from the fun of the game. And we do need more land on the map.
     
  2. rf900

    rf900 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    194
    What was the reason to give so much money to the indians for trade? Now you can make a lot of money with them and you don't need to sell to Europe. So all the prices/taxes mechanics looses a lot of meaning.
     
  3. Öjevind Lång

    Öjevind Lång Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,371
    That's the point. As it is now, taxation is way overpowered.
     
  4. pajeg

    pajeg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    trade a little with the native instead of just selling to them (or to europe once they no longer have cash...)

    with the horse/guns you sell to them, buy their ressources and specialists from europe to produce goods (i buy 2-3 cargos for each tribe, my tax rate go up to 5-10 % in revolutionary and stay at that)

    now that you produce goods with their ressource, sell it to them to buy their food (you need trade point anyway, and getting a colon by putting a distiller 20-30 turn in a factory is nice)

    by the time their ressource/food production is no longer enough to sell them your goods, you''ll have cyrrus and no longer need them , it's time to train sugar/tobacco planter in their villages (and to train your troops on the native^^)

    as for your extra production, just build a warehouse expension, it's a pain in the ass to send it to europe and sell it there, only to got it's price go down and your tax rate go up
     
  5. rf900

    rf900 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    194
    So with the patch/mod we have the opposite situation, there is no reason to sell in Europe. You will always find a village that needs certain good and will pay more money for it than Europe (considering taxes) and will not raise taxes.

    I think it has been unbalanced in another way, ¿or is there any benefit to selling to Europe?
     
  6. lovepuppy

    lovepuppy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    great mod! I really had fun grinding my teeth on something which has been easy mode since 1994...j/k it was a remarkable reworking of a pretty good reworking (say what you want but companies have screwed up remakes/sequals a lot worse)

    two things:

    I tried fiddling the unit.xml in the mod and while the changes listed inside the xml ok, they didn't show up in the game....I'm sure I did something stupid somewhere

    and Did ya'll get "all graduations at once" through the xml's or is inside the code (stuff which I'm not bright enough to mess with)
     
  7. _alphaBeta_

    _alphaBeta_ King

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Not ready to call this a bug.

    "Auto-Peace" with natives means what? I thought it meant that natives could not declare war on you for the duration of the game. I just found out that this is not the case.

    Or does it simply mean that you get a one-time auto-peace with any natives you are at war with when the founding father joins?
     
  8. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,018
    It's a one-time bonus that all Natives at war with you become peaceful.
     
  9. Roberth1

    Roberth1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Dear Dale
    Thanks for your MOd I down loaded and installed it ok and it works fine.
    Question do I also have to down load the other file which you mention as just addressing specific bugs in order to get full benefit from this mod?

    If I do have to download and install the specific bugs file how do I start a game with 2 mods to load?

    Query about the trade routes with waggons.
    Am I doing something wrong when trying to set up a triangle path between settlements.
    i.e. load goods in A take to B unload and reload go to C unload and reload back to A. I cannot seem to make this work.

    Apologies if this bit of my reply is in the wrong part of the forums it gets a bit confusing for new players.
    Robert
     
  10. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,018
    Hi Roberth1, PatchMod includes the bug-fix patch so there is no need to download the other mod. :)
     
  11. rf900

    rf900 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    194
    Possible bug:

    Each time I use the clear speciality option inside the settlement screen the game crashes. Works fine when using it in the main interface, in the general map screen.
     
  12. jenks

    jenks Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    big respect for the mod but a query on the below if i may:

    is this any different for jesuit missionaries? if i remember correctly the main bonus of jesuits in col 1 was that they were ALWAYS successful?
     
  13. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,018
    Jesuits do get a bonus. They get a 25% bonus on top. So if the standard success percent is 80%, then Jesuits have a 100% rate (+25% of 80%).

    The actual calculation is half of the iMissionaryRateModifier as set in Civ4UnitInfos.xml
     
  14. jenks

    jenks Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    nice one I am liking this addition/flashback to the original, and i just had my first failed mission (came at my 7th attempt with a missionary criminal, first 6 were successful - is this what everybody does with criminals and servants or is it just me?!) :)
    also does the 'standard success rate' vary for difficulty level? Is it 80%?
     
  15. fabboz

    fabboz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Hi.

    Can someone provide a list of patchmod-compatible maps?
    Is there one with huge americas?
     
  16. Dale

    Dale Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,018
    Hi fabboz, I've updated the original maps in Col to PatchMod. A few other modders have also made compatible maps. FaireWeather seems to be the most popular.
     
  17. QwertyKey

    QwertyKey Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Maybe there could also be a minimum any good could go to, varying by good. I'm a little sick of trading silver for 1 gold.
     
  18. rcoutme

    rcoutme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,792
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I noticed one problem with the Patchmod: Due to the 'make trip to Europe even for everybody' modification, there are times when a section of the 'to Europe' demarkation is actually west of an island. I have even seen the comp. start players in such centralized locations.

    Edit: I read through the entire posting (gads it was big) and saw that someone else also noticed this. He used a . X O map. That is what I was referring to. It doesn't happen often, but it does happen. Perhaps there needs to be a method of ensuring that the European squares are contiguous (or at least are attached to squares that get to the eastern or western edge of the map)?
     
  19. Commander Cody

    Commander Cody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    I have come accross a big pain in the game. That is after I have built all of the structures, and I do not want to continue building things on that place. I think it would be helpful if there was an option to just build nothing on a settlement.

    On another note, I think it should be possible to improve upon the settlement square as in the orginial Colonization. In that game a person could clear the forest, build a farm, or a mine; depending on terrian.

    Other than that, this mod is nice.
     
  20. lovepuppy

    lovepuppy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    you can continue to build politcal/military/etc points, and take out your carpenter which would do more or less the same thing, unless you are super attached to the "nothing" symbol...
     

Share This Page