1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[mod] TOTAL REALISM 2.0

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Houman, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    certain civics give free specialists

    they may be super specialists from great people

    they may not be free at all. perhaps the computer merely assigned two citizens to be specialists

    There might be a bug in the mod

    Thats all i can think of

    WarKirby
     
  2. Nightravn

    Nightravn Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    239
    @warkirby - those ideas with the Barbs are nice but the limitation with the barbs is built into the core of the game and is not something we can adjust without rewriting the entire code which is not going to happen.:) Once the limit to the number of total Civs allowed is broken then we will be able to do more in terms of not having one huge Barb Civ that is interconnected.

    As Houman pointed out the game is basically designed to be the most balanced at the noble level IF you are an average player. If you are better than the average player then of course noble will be easy so going up a level is called for. I find the prince level to be where a lot of players can play and still have it not to easy but not really hard either so you can still play around with strategies and different leaders. Monarch level is where it starts to be a challenge and you wont be leading the power score from the getgo but then it also doesn't give the AI such an outrageous advantage like the higher levels in order to make it challenging and fun. This is the level where you wont be getting the majority of the wonders and you had better have a goal and a plan.

    As for the barbs taking out Civ's and/or being to strong. Well it's been mentioned if you play at noble or above then that usually isn't the case but when they do occasionally take out a CIV or two I think that is great. This is what gives the mod more realism and makes it such a fun scenario as each game is different even if you play the same Civ.

    @AvianAvenger - Both maps are suppose to have the barbarian cities. The original maps has them to limit and slow down the growth of certain Civ's in those area's. The new Cities map is the same as the original but I went ahead and place the first three Cities for each Civ so They all start with pretty much an equal footing because with the original map some Civ's got cut off and never was allowed to get more than one or two cities as the other Civs would beat them to it. Now the Cities maps also has other things adjusted to basically represent that you are starting the game after so many turns. I like and then again don't like this map as I am the type of player who basically tries to eliminate at least one rival Civ ASAP (ie As Soon as Axes aPpear) but with the Cities map makes it allot harder to do so and it produces a more interesting game because of that.
     
  3. Zoo7

    Zoo7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    I didn't have any of those. And if I did, shouldn't it give me free specialists in ALL cities, not just two?

    They were not. I could assign them to all available types of specialist (citizen, priest, scientist, soldier). And it said "(Free specialist)" in the mouseover :)

    No, they were free specialists. I verified this by trying to assign them to work tiles. This was not possible.

    Those were good guesses though ;)
     
  4. Houman

    Houman TR Team Leader

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,083
    You have a Creative Trait and those two cities have a population of 12. ;) Thats a feature! We really should work on a FAQ. :D
     
  5. Zoo7

    Zoo7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Indeed! I was just going to post as another clue that it seemed to affect all cities with population over 12 ;) And I wasn't complaining.... oh no! :p
     
  6. Zoo7

    Zoo7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Is it a bug or a feature when some mounted units DOES get defensive bonuses? I nearly choked when my knight was about to attack a conquistador, and only had 10% odds because the bugger was on a hill with a town... Oh and incidentally, he also had the attack 1 & 2 promotions, but did not get -30% defense, probably due to terrain feature (floodplain). Annoying...
     
  7. Spartan117

    Spartan117 Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Chicago
    conquistador get terrain bonuses

    makes them real hard sometimes
     
  8. Los Tirano

    Los Tirano God-King

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Driving my enemies before me.
    This idea comes from a poster by the name of Zaimejs, in another forum. He proposed that great prophets function much like a general, that they provide a strength bonus to any unit in a stack with them. Given the power of faith, and the love people have for great religious leaders and their ability to inspire determination, enthusiasm and perseverence i think this is a good idea.

    Perhaps missionary units could provide a 5% strength bonus to a stack (giving them another use) and great prophets a 15% strength bonus to all units. Great crusades will look even more realistic with missionaries and a great prophet in tow.


    @Spartan and Zoo7. The Conquistadors did not always fight on horseback, as not all of them had horses when they invaded the Aztec and Inca Empires. At one stage, at the battle of Tlaxcala, the Conquistadors dug into a forested hill (75% defence bonus) and could not be moved or overrun by a force many times their size. Sorry, but history proves that the Conquistadors certainly could defend, and defend well. See the BBC series Conquistadors (2000 tape.1) for more information.
     
  9. alyx

    alyx Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    great mod, but i think you should do something about biplanes, i mean, they should NOT be able to shoot down strike fighters, no matter what :) i gather a peasant with a shotgun has better chances to do that, yet i had two strike fighters shot down completely during one sortie, two others heavily damaged. very frustrating and unrealistic.

    same goes for aegis crs. primitive, dang biplanes bombard aegis crs four times in a row, with 100% success rate. none shot down. it's ridiculous :(

    btw, are you guys considering adding cruise missiles? with conventional payload? i do feel the game lacks them sorely (especially with those uber biplanes ;)).
     
  10. WarKirby

    WarKirby Arty person

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,317
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Will you be adding more great people to the next patch?
     
  11. Spartan117

    Spartan117 Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Chicago
    i am not saying they shouldnt get terrain bonuses...

    however i am saying it is rather difficult fighting against them:)
     
  12. pk4yahweh

    pk4yahweh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    I keep getting this same problem. Mod wont load at all after playing a few times. I emptied my cache file prior to downloading as instructed... but now this problem is preventing it from loading at all...

    Any suggestions?
     
  13. kszyhoo

    kszyhoo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Gniezno, Poland
    @pk4yahweh

    I had same problem. In my case simply deleting all "rundll*.pf" and "Civilization4*.pf" from Windows/prefetch helped.
     
  14. ew0054

    ew0054 Troll Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    718
    Location:
    N.J., U.S.A.
    Regarding the U.N., I was thinking there could be an "opt out" feature (sort of like what Bush does) where you can refuse to adopt the voted resolutions but it would have diplomatic penalties. These come to mind:

    * Less votes on future resolutions (probably by a percentage of what you originally had)
    * The other civilizations would be less willing to trade with you
     
  15. Los Tirano

    Los Tirano God-King

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Location:
    Driving my enemies before me.
    The U.N resolutions always troubled me slightly. That the U.N can determine the features of all governments and societies in the world system, i found a bit of a stretch. The opt out feature should be a possibility.

    Result: penalty to diplomacy
    "-1 You refuse to conform to the standards of the international community"

    But the idea that there really is a united international community that obeys the rulings of the U.N is a falacy. If opt out becomes a feature, then many of the AI should also opt out of voted resolutions. Especially when they have had a civic or a very long time. Then we will be approaching realism. :lol:
     
  16. geebo

    geebo Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    will the next version of this mod be for vanilla Civ, or will their be a new version supporting Warlords? thanks in advance...
     
  17. Bray

    Bray Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    England
    Hey there, good job guys this mod is awesome.

    Someone might have already said this but i'm not gonna read 53 pages of comments to check lol. Anyway at a glance I'm just a bit bummed that the Americans get a Modern M1A1 Tank yet the British Challanger 2 Tank was left out....so if you are gonna bring out another update could you please please please do a challenger 2 tank....but there might be one as i haven't acctually played as the british yet and i might have just missed it so if i have just call me a muppet.

    Anyway Nice One :goodjob:
     
  18. Ankenaton

    Ankenaton "The Heretic"

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Far Rockaway (New York City)
    I agree. Nothing is more frustrating being the dominant power and then having to conform to UN Resolutions from a coalition of much smaller states.
     
  19. Opiate

    Opiate Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    I have tried that as well as deleting all of the cache and am still having problems. Any hope of resolving this issue in a patch?

    Btw, I love the mod that is why I am so bummed I am having such trouble playing it. :(
     
  20. Opiate

    Opiate Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    I would think that if a state opts out, then a resolution could come up in the next round of votes to possibly take police action against that state...
     

Share This Page