1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Modders Guide to FfH2

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by Kael, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. Nikis-Knight

    Nikis-Knight Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,636
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ah! Thanks, I changed the # of teams but didn't think about the units.
     
  2. Farmer Bobathan

    Farmer Bobathan Sanity is for the weak

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Michigan
    Can you make roads give gold? If in XML even better.
     
  3. Qendivardo

    Qendivardo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    In Assets\XML\Misc\CIV4RouteInfos.xml, you can change <Yields/> to
    Code:
    <Yields>
    	<iYield>0</iYield>
    	<iYield>0</iYield>
    	<iYield>1</iYield>
    </Yields>
    in the first RouteInfo, which will make roads give one point of commerce. However, it doesn't appear to work with deserts, burning sands and ice, which remain yieldless.
     
  4. Farmer Bobathan

    Farmer Bobathan Sanity is for the weak

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Michigan
    thanks a lot:goodjob: but that's ok i wanted to do this because in history a good network of roads would help the keep empires together (reducing maintenance hence the commerce increase)
     
  5. Maian

    Maian Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Is there any reason why this project isn't open-sourced? If it were, then the team could have a public CVS or SVN tree, which would make modding a lot easier, since any official changes checked into the tree can be checked out into the modder's working directory. That means that there would be no need for the team to keep repackaging the SDK every release, and that modders get instant access to the latest SDK changes. You'll just have to be careful to configure the repository so that modders cannot merge changes into the trunk without permission.
     
  6. MrUnderhill

    MrUnderhill Civ-loving Hobbit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    655
    I'm still trying to add sliding-scale alignments but ran into a major roadblock which I still don't have an answer to, so rather than revive the other thread I decided to repost here.

    My biggest question is this: How are the named alignments (ALIGNMENT_GOOD and whatnot) in 0.25 and up different from the number alignments in 0.23 (1 = Good, 0 = Neutral, etc.)? Are they interchangeable? And how does the enum file work?
     
  7. kenken244

    kenken244 Grammar Nazi

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    980
    Location:
    Grammar Nazi Conclave
    How would I change the preferance for unit conscription? I'm trying to make demagogs always be conscripted during a crusade, but I can't find out a way to do that. I have found a python function in CustomFunctions that looks like it could change that, but by the way it is described, it looks like it would always spawn a demagog no matter what civ you are and basically make it useless to all other civs.
     
  8. Nikis-Knight

    Nikis-Knight Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    5,636
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Kael usually posts the source a week or two later to include bug fixes.
     
  9. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nobody would want live access to what I have, functions come and go so quickly that it wouldn't do anything but frustrate people trying to work off of it. In this case more access is a very bad thing. Better that I release the full source as soon as its stable so you have a consistent codebase to work off of rather than the code of the day.
     
  10. Farmer Bobathan

    Farmer Bobathan Sanity is for the weak

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Michigan
    what do patches do when you install them? do they replace all the files or only specific parts and how?:confused:
     
  11. Kael

    Kael Deity

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    17,401
    Location:
    Ohio
    I overwrite all xml and python files (they are tiny and it keeps me from tracking each individual change) and modified art files.
     
  12. Farmer Bobathan

    Farmer Bobathan Sanity is for the weak

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Michigan
    thanks :)
     
  13. Maian

    Maian Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Well I don't mean that trunk should be your latest work. You would have your own branch, and there would be a trunk which would be stable. Then SDK modders can just check out from the trunk, while you and the rest of the team can work on a dev branch(es) that would later merge into the trunk once stable enough.

    I think one of the main benefits of a revision control system is that it makes it very easy to update a branch from a trunk, especially with good RCS GUIs (like TortoiseSVN). For example, if I had a SDK mod based off 0.25, I can update it to so that it will work with 0.30, using the generated diffs between 0.25 and 0.30.

    In any case, using a revision control system is a good thing from the software engineering perspective, regardless of whether it's open source or not.
     
  14. westamastaflash

    westamastaflash Lord Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    933
    Convince my boss of this. GOD FORBID we use an *shudder* free tool to do something we have problems with.... No, if we want version control we're going to PAY for it, dammit. And get ****** clearcase in the bargain...
     
  15. Maian

    Maian Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Dang, lemme guess. Your boss ain't a software engineer. People coming from other fields assume that the more you pay for something, the better it's going to be. But for the software world, all you have to do is look at linux and firefox to see works of massive engineering available for free.
     
  16. westamastaflash

    westamastaflash Lord Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    933
    Nah, just an old-style MIS person. See, people used to use these things called mainframes.... ;) We still run a freaking IBM monster, with lots of COBOL to boot. Anything else has the fantastic pseudonym "alternate platform"... God forbid we bring in anyone to run software development from outside the company - so all of our IT management is stuck in the '80s.

    Heh, sorry for the off topic. I'll stop it now. :blush:
     
  17. Mailbox

    Mailbox King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    873
    If I was wanting to add a trait called "Xenophobic" that did several things:

    • Added a F/H/C bonus and happiness (national forests) to Forts, Castles, and Citadels
    • Decreased Cultural Borders per expansion (Make it so that the first ring only works the 4 squares to the north, south, east, and west, then after the first expansion it works as normal)
    • Cities are only able to work the first ring of tiles

    Would these things be better as a palace change or if they would work as a trait, where would I begin with these modifications?
     
  18. westamastaflash

    westamastaflash Lord Commander

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    933
    This trait seems incredibly crippling....
     
  19. Dunraven

    Dunraven Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Does anyone know why you can't drive 'ImprovementFreeSpecialists' (the building tag that gives free specialists based on particular improvements) off of the cosmetic 'land worked' improvement (IMPROVEMENT_LAND_WORKED)?

    I've been trying to modify the Ljosalfar so that they have smaller populations but are 'better'. I figured free specialists per population using the land worked improvement as a proxy (essentially, each elven citizen counts twice) via the Ljosalfar palace would do the trick as an initial attempt at the 'better' part of the equation.
    However, it just doesn't work. The game recognizes that the changes had taken places, the palace displays, '+1 Free Specialist per Land Worked', but the specialists don't actually show, as they would for a farm or other 'normal' improvement. Is there something I'm missing, or is this just not possible for some reason?
     
  20. Mailbox

    Mailbox King

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    873
    Yeah, I just want to play around with it, to see if I can make something intresting out of it. I was just wondering if messing around with the Sprawling code might help (or even finding the sprawling code), or if I'd have to look elsewhere.
     

Share This Page