1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Modding Q&A

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Oni Ryuu, Feb 1, 2017.

  1. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Thanks Vuldacon

    I’m actually working on that terrain project right now, so excellent timing.
     
  2. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    I may have made a huge oversight.
    Do terrain tiles only account for four directions? In other words; are there only four segments to a tile in the .pcx files?
    I’ve been working on the assumption that all eight adjacent (in-game) tiles have an effect on what’s displayed, like the road tiles.
     
  3. Vuldacon

    Vuldacon Dedicated to Excellence Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    6,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Oni Ryuu... yes there are four sides to each terrain file but there are different terrain files that affect each terrain all directions that were programed to go with each particular terrain file.

    Making and Adjusting Terrain Files is a daunting endeavor. Very time consuming and exacting to make well.

    There are some tutorials here concerning Terrain Files... Best to find out what terrain affects what other terrain first... then as you want to change any terrain, you will also know what other terrain files you need to change. This is also obvious by looking at the Terrain pcx files. You will see what other terrains are mixed in... example xdgc.pcx desert grassland coast mix

    Open any of the Terrain Files and look at the other Terrains that are mixed in with them. This was all programed and set in the terrain files for the mix.

    I made stencils a long time ago that I can remove any other Terrains from a base terrain. Helpful when one wants to change a terrain that is also in other terrain files.

    As for Floodplains... that is an overlay and you need Not worry about how that affects other terrain files... it doesn't... Only Floodplains because it overlays Desert base terrain when there is a Floodplain. If you add a River then the deltaRiver.pcx will also be added.
    I am not trying to dissuade you from making or adjusting Terrains. Can be rewarding and Fun... just a word up concerning what you are getting into :)
     
  4. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Thanks Vuldacon

    I foolishly skipped the beginner and intermediate steps and tried to do something special. I didn’t re-read the guides before I started (like a moron) and jumped in at the deep end. I’ve been working it out on graph paper and - it all being geometrical rather than Civ’s organic look - I became over confident.

    I made a logical misstep and thought it accounted for faces and corners instead of just corners. I now have half an Old Testament’s worth of meticulously designed nonsense.

    The only thing I’m sure that I can keep is the roads, and that’s more about excluding graphics.
    Spoiler Roads :
    Road – top half of straight ladders (N, N/E, N/W & S connections), bottom half of straight ladders (N connection), top half of Right leaning ladders (N, S/W, S connections) bottom half of Right leaning ladders (N/E, S/E connections), top half of Left leaning ladders (N, S/E, S connections) bottom half of Left leaning ladders (N/W, S/W connections), all other road is invisible

    I think we can put this under ‘cautionary tale’.

    I really appreciate your quick responses’.

    I'm going to go walk it off.
    Spoiler :
    upload_2019-1-28_8-10-47.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2019
  5. Vuldacon

    Vuldacon Dedicated to Excellence Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    6,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Watch Out for those pesky Airplanes :lol:

    Hey, you will be more efficient and fast at adjusting/making terrain files right about when you complete what you want to do... isn't that usually how it goes?
     
  6. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    We’re all armatures at everything until we screw-up enough to call ourselves pros. I just wish I’d stopped to check that I was climbing the right mountain before smugly planting the flag.

    It’s not all doom and gloom; all of the game’s features still work and I’ve just finished working-out some Civ friendly walls.

    Again, thanks for all the support.:thumbsup:
     
  7. Vuldacon

    Vuldacon Dedicated to Excellence Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    6,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Oni Ryuu... You will make it just fine. Most of the set backs make us better able to do and get get what we want.
    We have all been through mistakes and had to correct them... nothing new there.

    As for support, we all can use a big scoop of that and really, that is something we all share here.

    Sounds like your game is coming along very well and you are now making progress again, so all is good.
     
    Oni Ryuu likes this.
  8. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,673
    just a random thing . Was allied against an AI with Mordor , those murderers and they capture cities and the city borders immediately expand , they are obviously sacrifising slaves . But it's too early in the game for the relevant tech . Is Sacrifice a worker action ? That can be enabled by different techs ? As a more relevant example , could ı invent Railroading with two different techs in a more normal game ? Say one AI can do railroads with Steam Power , while ı can find electricity and start laying rails ?
     
  9. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    @r16
    Sacrifice is a ‘tech ability’ that doesn’t come under ‘worker actions’. It can be enabled by multiple techs if you have unique technology trees for each civ (I think).

    I can’t think of a way to allow railroads to be accessed at different times in the tech tree.
     
  10. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Is there a way to prevent goodie huts from providing free tech whilst you’re in the ancient period? I still want to get the free units.
     
  11. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,673
    thanks , that must be it .

    free units ? ı get only settlers , which can be really useful in my favourite scenario or warriors in the epic game , which cost Money and are practically useless . But ı , too , would really like to know the mechanics so that ı can get sciences at later eras . At Civ I , once ı got recycling , at the 4th era .
     
  12. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    When you find a goodie hut you can receive any one of the units you assign to the barbarians.

    Both the free units and free tech seem to work only for the first era.
     
  13. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,673
    thanks once again .
     
  14. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    You're welcome r16



    Hi guys, I’m having trouble with one of the features of my mod.

    I want it so that the only way the citizens can be happy is to use 1 military police to quell 8 citizens.

    I have set the ‘citizens born content’ to 0 and ‘citizens quelled by military police’ to 8. The city starts with an entertainer and is unproductive (as intended), but stationing a unit there only quells one citizen, allowing for two citizens per settlement and nothing more.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
     
  15. Vuldacon

    Vuldacon Dedicated to Excellence Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    6,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Oni Ryuu... I believe you will have to add more Military Police. I have not tried it but it may be Hard Coded that one Military Police only affects 1 Citizen regardless of setting them to affect more.
     
  16. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Everything I did indicated that the settings didn’t change anything. That’s going to tie-up so many units unnecessarily.

    Thanks again Vuldacon. I’m going to have to find you a cameo somewhere.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  17. Bluemofia

    Bluemofia F=ma

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    7,976
    Location:
    Dimension called Elsewhere
    @Oni Ryuu , have you tried changing Citizen Mood, Citizens affected by each happy face from 1 to, say, 2 or 3? That would make 1 happy face affect multiple citizens, though I'm not sure if "content face" from MPs are different from "happy face" from luxuries and entertainers.

    This might work in your situation, where if this is literally the only way to generate happiness (other than luxury slider), so you only need a few MPs to generate happiness.
     
  18. Oni Ryuu

    Oni Ryuu King

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    878
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    I tested it again just to make sure and it didn’t have any effect. I tried setting it to 100 and still nothing.
    I wanted to avoid using improvements where possible but I‘m just going to have to concede defeat and include some.

    Thanks Bluemofia.
     
  19. r16

    r16 not deity

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,673
    where would ı find this citizen mood , for ı have seen -in favourite scenario- that some Civs can entertain two with one "singer" and ı was thinking that would be due to their traits like Agricultural or similar ?
     
  20. tjs282

    tjs282 Socially distancing since 1975

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    here, for the job/ handout / woman
    In the Editor, under the Citizens/Specialists tab, you can adjust what each of the (default) Specialists do.

    You can even give them negative values (e.g. -1 Happyface for Taxmen/Policemen!), although I'm not sure (yet) if/how this carries into the game.

    (In my mod-in-progress, I adjusted Clowns to give 2 Happyfaces and Cops to decorrupt 2 shields/commerce, but Clowns, Geeks, Cops and CivEngs now also cost -1 gold)
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019

Share This Page