1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[NFP] Monopolies and Corporations Game Mode Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by bite, Jan 19, 2021.

  1. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    379
    Maui nerfed, I cry...

    Vietnam and Kublai Khan Pack
    · [Babylon Pack] Hero ability “Maui’s Inventions” will now only spawn a random resource that already exists in the world to prevent players from being granted a Monopoly on a single resource.
    · Fixed an issue causing redundant failure messages for Corporation creation.
    · Fixed an issue causing Kublai Khan’s agenda to not count negative modifiers towards military power.
    · Fixed a crash that would occur when a player tried to steal a Corporation from another player.
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  2. Shibooyeah

    Shibooyeah Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Messages:
    61
    BTW, unless I missed something in my game yesterday, it seems the amenities granted by great merchants do not count as monopolies, is that right? Perfume, toys, jeans, etc
     
  3. Laurana Kanan

    Laurana Kanan Don’t underestimate who I am. Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3,243
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Near the Greatest Snow on Earth
    Correct, they have to physically be on the map.
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  4. CromulentRomulan

    CromulentRomulan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2021
    Messages:
    35
    No it does not take a combination of modes, the requirements for reaching 500 - 1000% tourism modifiers have been detailed in several threads on this forum so please do your own research as to the error in your argument
     
  5. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    379
    My GPU crashed while playing the game I started earlier today. Just before I could use Maui (the prepatch version that can generate all resources)
    Right away steam forced the latest patch on my install.

    Luckily it seem Firaxis implemented a way to revert to the previous patch. I'm glad that exists.
    "ineedlegacyaccess" beta code
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Nerevatar

    Nerevatar Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2019
    Messages:
    188
    Gender:
    Male
    Just to post it here: Firaxis agree there is some kind of bug with tourism modifier. It was unclear what exactly they are going to change it to, but their are aware and working on it. From Carl:
     
  7. FloodPlain

    FloodPlain Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    What is this infamous glitch and how do I avoid it?
     
  8. Chocolate Pi

    Chocolate Pi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Gender:
    Male
    Essentially, a Monopoly that should be providing a +50% tourism bonus will provide a +150% bonus against 3 players, a +250% bonus against 5 players, or +1000% bonus against 20 players. (Because tourism is applied to all opponents, that would be a total of +450%/1250%/20000% total generated tourism respectively.)

    You can avoid this by not playing this mode (duh), disabling tourism altogether (turn off culture victory), or by playing against only 1 opponent. :p
     
    Kotofei and AsH2 like this.
  9. joyodongo

    joyodongo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Confinum
    Is there a way to check if you have a monopoly before Mercantilism? In my last game I have 5/6 cocoa and I see no bonuses at all (money, tourism).
    Thanks in advance.
     
  10. InsidiousMage

    InsidiousMage Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    501
    You get a historic moment for your first monopoly but other than that the only way would be to count every instance of a resource on the map.
     
  11. Cerilis

    Cerilis Stormrider

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Germany
    More importantly though, have they acknowledged the bug that the AI isnt improving luxuries anymore?
     
  12. Abaxial

    Abaxial King

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    928
    Gender:
    Male
    Apropos of that, I have noticed an interesting trait of AI civs when trading. They propose quite elaborate trades in which they demand a luxury and multiple strategic resources and offer a mix of things, often including a great work. On balance, the deal would usually be bad value if you accepted it. But if you remove everything except one luxury from you and one from them, they accept this happily. Grrrr - why didn't you propose that in the first place? When monopolies mode is active, this never happens because they only ever have one copy of any luxury.
     
  13. UWHabs

    UWHabs Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,724
    Location:
    Toronto
    You can see if you're getting a tourism or gold bonus, but it won't tell you the details. So you might get "+45 gold for monopolies", but you don't really know what that comes from other than counting instances and guessing.
     
  14. FloodPlain

    FloodPlain Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there a screen for monopolies and corporations? How can you check?
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  15. jsurpless

    jsurpless Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    I am rather confused by how monopolies work - according to Civ Fandom, the tourism bonus should be more variable than the {some number} times 125%.

    Civ Fandom seems to indicate that anywhere from 25% (on a 6-civ map) when I have the only copy of a resource improved on the map. But I seem to start at 125% period, though, I could be mistaken.

    Also, after Mercantilism, I am being told that I have 4 monopolies, yet I only have a +250% bonus...

    What am I missing? Many thanks in advance!
     
    Hellenism Salesman likes this.
  16. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,572
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    At the bottom of the reports menu (though not included yet in Better Reports Screen mod).
     
  17. Abaxial

    Abaxial King

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Messages:
    928
    Gender:
    Male
    For all that people are complaining that Firaxis doesn't playtest, it's quite possible to play this mode and not get outrageous bonuses. This is an example - you would be quite justified in saying, "Problem? What problem?".
     
  18. jsurpless

    jsurpless Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Completely hear you, my goal is to just understand how it works - that's all... if you told me that it was 25% bonus for each monopoly, that'd be just fine... again, just looking to understand
     
  19. Tigranes

    Tigranes Armenian

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,720
    I don't think they did. There is a mod fixing it with some side effects...
     
  20. X_MasterDave_X

    X_MasterDave_X Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Its not just this. The AI is completly broken since 1.0.9.9 and even now in actual Patch. Look at the AI Lands. Nearly no Luxuries get connected. Thats why the AI has nearly no Luxury to trade. And that until the very lategame.

    Has to do with the new Monopoly Game Mode. If this is chosen, the AI wont connect Luxuries. Just a few in the Start City.

    See Bugreport:
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/1-0-9-9-ai-not-improving-resources.666943/
     
    Kotofei likes this.

Share This Page