1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Next patch

Discussion in 'Civ4 - MOO2Civ' started by Agent327, May 19, 2009.

  1. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    Cool! Sure I want to use it for patch4l. Go ahead and post it.;)
     
  2. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    Also, I have some custom intro music, but no start screen as of yet. Any suggestion will be welcome (not on how to create one, but one to use).
     
  3. TC01

    TC01 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Alright, I've posted it in the Wormholes thread.

    I don't really intend to do much more work in Wormholes, maybe other then update it to the next Star Trek version or if we get a BTS 3.2x patch of some sort. I was considering adding a handful of scenarios where the map was divided by a barrier of nebula, and you had to use Wormholes to cross them, but that's about it.
     
  4. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    Thanks again. Actually, that's an intesting scenario idea: it might also be useful in order to try and include the Antarans (currently barbs/pirates), who're supposed to be accessible through Dimensional Portals only. (That would require quite a small map portion only, to fit the Antares star system.) So, by all means, go ahead!:thumbsup:
     
  5. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30,780
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    You'd need to make the nebula thick enough to maintain fog-of-war around the Antaran dimension. I'd like to see the MoO dating system instead of months and years. It would certainly be more authentic!

    How about some MoO wallpaper as the intro screen? I've attached one to this post.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    I agree. Thanks for the Wallpaper suggestion, BTW - should have thought of that myself... :blush:
     
  7. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    MoO2 turns were actually one tenth of a year, so going by months is actually closer to MoO2 than years would be.
     
  8. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    Hmm, yes... I was wondering more about the designation, but 1/10 of a year might pose a problem with dating...:(
     
  9. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    BTW (just thought of this playtesting them), I don't suppose you know of a way to give the Elerians a map-reveal-ability?
     
  10. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30,780
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    I thought that that was the easy one, seeing as one of the FfH races has the omniscience ability?
     
  11. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    I just tested it and giving a civ a starting technology with
    Code:
                <bMapVisible>1</bMapVisible>
    set will reveal the whole map. It doesn't let you see units or cities though.
    You'd also have to set the cost of the technology to -1 which means it can't be researched.
    Code:
                <iCost>-1</iCost>
                <iAdvancedStartCost>-1</iAdvancedStartCost>
    Also to keep it from being traded, you'd need to set it to untradeable.
    Code:
                <bTrade>0</bTrade>
    So if you create a technology with all that set and give it as a starting tech to the Elerians that would do it.
     
  12. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    Cool. So a tech called ELERIAN_ABILITY with those attributes would do the trick. Can those lines be included as is or do they need to be inserted at specific places, do you know?
     
  13. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
  14. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    Good to know.;)

    I'm also thinking the Elerians should get a free Space Academy in every star system to simulate their piloting skills.
     
  15. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30,780
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Well then the Alkari certainly should as well. They're natural pilots, after all.
     
  16. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    Umm... no, the only Alkari ability currently not in place is Artefact Homeworld (that is, it is simulated by +10 science; they also get +40% defense and free promotions for multiple ship designs). The Elerians are the only race with no ability as yet. (They only get free promotions for recon units.)

    EDIT: If possible (+10% research seems a bit overdone) the Alkari should rather get 1-2 free techs to start with.
     
  17. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    30,780
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    That's fair enough, but obviously many of the racial abilities are very similar.
     
  18. Agent327

    Agent327 Observer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    16,048
    Location:
    In orbit
    In Civ-terms perhaps, but I'd say NCCSavage has done a fair job of translating most MOO-specific racial abilities to Civ IV. More finetuning is ofcourse always possible.
     
  19. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Regarding an artifact homeworld, that could be done by having a palace unique building that adds to science. It wouldn't technically be the homeworld with the artifacts since you can move the palace, but it's close to the original effect.

    One other possible ability for Elerian's is their mind control of colonies. Now it couldn't be done in as interesting as was as in the original, but there is something that could work. Mind controlled colonies never revolt and there is a field in the promotion entries called iRevoltProtection. It's not actually used in the regular game but I checked the code it is written to use it. Anyway this changes that chance of a city going into revolt because of cultural influence. It's works as a percentage so if iRevoltProtection was set to 50 and a cities change of revolt was six then it would be half that, three. So you could give the Elerian promotion revolt protection and they would mind control captured citizens to keep working without a large number of unit needed to counter foreign culture.
     
  20. TC01

    TC01 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Irregularly Online
    Don't know if you'd want to do this, but you could create a "Dimensional Portal" feature and have barbarian units belonging to the Antarans spawn on those tiles. It could be another wormhole recolor. It wouldn't allow access to the Antares system. However, you could make a scenario with a region of space blocked off with the dimensional portals leading to another dimensional portal in that blocked off region.
     

Share This Page