1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Online petition for an updated Civ III editor

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Rob (R8XFT), Oct 3, 2006.

  1. Mirc

    Mirc Not mIRC!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    15,825
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, ->Germany, E.U.
    Additional terrain and more civs are probably EXTREMELY easy to do. Event editor will probably need to be programmed from scratch, so it's harder. But possible, clearly. :)
     
  2. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,344
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    In an ideal world - one in which we've obtained access to the code - IMHO the critical bit would be the APIs: "Application Programming Interfaces" which are "standardized handshakes" to other chunks of code (like an editor). I would definitely want to see those poured over with a fine-toothed comb to see what might be realistically accomplished without having to bust into the main code - if the APIs passed muster, then I'd say take it from there and get a walk-through of the main code.

    All of this would involve NDAs ("Non-Disclosure Agrements") and TakeTwo being willing to part with someone for a few days to walk us through what's been done (e.g., what are the Boolean forms of AI algorithms) and what, in their view, might possibly be done.

    -Oz
     
  3. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,344
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    I'm sorry to have to disagree with you there: if "hooks" for events aren't already in place to integrate an external events editor, then it would be a very, very large effort to add them. (I wouldn't give up hope entirely though - Heavens only know what leftovers might be in there from Civ2 - BTW, does anybody know if C3 was a complete rewrite or are parts of the code and/or algorithms lifted from C2, perhaps lying dormant in the C3 code?)

    -Oz
     
  4. Mirc

    Mirc Not mIRC!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    15,825
    Location:
    Düsseldorf, ->Germany, E.U.
    So how does this disagree with what I said? That's exactly what I said, that it's harder. :)

    And I think Civ3 might have some leftovers from Civ2... but I'm not sure.
     
  5. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,344
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    Sorrry if I wasn't clear - I was basicallly "upgrading" "difficult' to "effectively impossible." :(

    -And certain holdovers from C2 (like unimplemented event triggers) would be nice.

    -Oz
     
  6. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,121
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    You guys keep mentioning talking to a programmer from the Civ3 project. Are you aware that Brad Oliver was a regular poster on the Civ3 Mac subforum? He was a key programmer in the Mac port, and went so far as to give us a patch he worked on in his own time. If you guys can avoid spamming him so badly that he disappears completely his advice might be a potential resource.
     
  7. T.A JONES

    T.A JONES Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,471
    Sorry Brad if I spammed you. please help. :(
     
  8. flamescreen

    flamescreen Ancient Mariner

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    856
    Location:
    Europe
    According to Soren Johnson interview for the Civ1-4 bundle, they used for C3 the code of C2, so there MUST be a lot of leftovers. I don't know if they'd be usable though. Maybe they just left them there as garbage and were just adding code for what they wanted to do with C3
     
  9. Ares de Borg

    Ares de Borg Norman Knight

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,078
    Location:
    Heart Of Europe
    Some other features to dream of:

    COMBAT ALTITUDE (low/middle/high) - to give planes certain levels of operation (e.g., a WW1 fighter can't intercept a high-flying bomber from the 1960s)

    SIZE / WEIGHT : for transportable units. A tank that's too heavy could only be delivered by very large airplanes or ship. And do I want to take two tanks with me or six infantry for the same weight?

    Just dreaming...
     
  10. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,344
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    And dreaming well :) My immediate ex-programmer's instinct for your second idea would be to have a "base" unit size for transport purposes, with units being whole number multiples of that number (e.g., Spearman = 1; Armor = 4) and transports limited (as usual) in their carrying capacity. This works well both ways, so that, e.g., a galley wouldn't be able to carry an armor unit.

    -Oz
     
  11. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Do you mean, the good old idea I had for SSS first unit editor?
    Where units have "load classes"
     
  12. Ozymandias

    Ozymandias I saw the Great Library burn.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    9,344
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The lone and level sands
    :lol: Yeah. That. Load "classes" with each unit equaling a whole number, so that, e.g., Armor might take up as much space as 4 Spearmen.

    BTW Steph, how long do you think SSS is going to take? (I know, no time in the very near future) but you are very good about posting teasers for it.

    :) ,

    Oz
     
  13. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Am I? Just in hope to get more support
     
  14. Stargate

    Stargate Space Time Keeper

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Multiverse
    try to make a CIV IV style systems in upgraded CIV III editor.
    example 1. units need special buildings to build (not automatic every turns)
    example 2. civic government systems "needed most"
    example 3. change religion like government systems.
     
  15. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    By the way, that's not exactly how it's supposed to work in SSS.
    I plan to have limits for each class of units, in number and size.
    Like an aicraft carrier can carry Three "aircraft class" units, size max = 2 (so it can carry F18 but bot B52), and 1 infantry unit, size max = 1 (it could carry a marines battalion, but not a full infantry division), etc.
    So if you have a galley fleet that can carry 4 spearmen, it may not carry 1 armor. The ships need to be able to carry armor.
     
  16. Powerzilla

    Powerzilla Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    I agree with this petition

    I vote yes
     
  17. DragonBird

    DragonBird King

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Outlying Colonies
    Update! It would be cool when your working on a mod that the terrain you've programmed and units and resources would show.
     
  18. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    ... what do you mean.. show? Placing things on a map in the editor, is that what you are talking about?
     
  19. cubsfan6506

    cubsfan6506 Got u

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266
    Location:
    Awesome Land
    I would be interested in this a ship has to dock every x amount of turns. But could also dock in other nations ports. ALso sell the right to build air bases.
     
  20. Virote_Considon

    Virote_Considon The Great Dictator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9,337
    Location:
    Skaville UK Reputation: 1
    Like the Aircraft "Fuel" in Civ2, and a Dial per unit which states the amount of time out of a city before it uses fuel? :)
     

Share This Page