1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. 6K Man

    6K Man Bureaucrat

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,155
    Location:
    in a Gadda Da Vida
    Note that on standard map scripts, the BFC surrounding your starting settler will not have any desert, mountain, or jungle. So in some rare cases, you’ll get Plains Forest Deer or Plains Incense (which normally spawn on Tundra and Desert, respectively).
     
    R82 and sampsa like this.
  2. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,875
    I think you are right. Some GOTMs are on no-standard scripts or doctored maps, which is probably where I got that idea....maybe spices too.
     
    R82 likes this.
  3. sampsa

    sampsa Ghost

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987
    Location:
    Finland
    Started second guessing it so I checked some autosaves from recent games. Spices can be jungled, at least on fractal map script. So it's the only resource that can be either jungled or forested (hmm, maybe oil/uranium too).
     
    R82 and lymond like this.
  4. R82

    R82 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you all! So on those heavily forested maps created by the planet generator that comes with the BAT mod under standard setings, I know that any copper or iron will be in the few non-forested tiles.
     
  5. Lennier

    Lennier Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,234
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    Note that bonuses from Imperialistic or Expansive leaders (+50%/+25% production on :hammers:s). So in the previous example, if it was an Imperialistic leader building a settler, there would be 12.5:hammers:s/turn (I think that gets rounded down to 12) towards the settler, not 15 as the description of the trait might lead you to believe.
     
    sampsa likes this.
  6. DadeCariaga

    DadeCariaga Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there a really good "Civ VI for complete Newbies" web page or tutorial that some kind soul might point out to me?
     
  7. AcaMetis

    AcaMetis King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    Civ IV does truncate fractions, yes. It's why you see people do "binary research", only researching at 100% or 0% slider - nothing is wasted due to rounding.
     
  8. rah

    rah Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9,573
    Location:
    Chicago
  9. vorlon_mi

    vorlon_mi Just One More Turn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    Just clarifying something I read in one of the shadow game threads ... How does "granting a colony independence" work? They become a new tribe? Are they now a teeny-tiny rival civ, or are they a vassal? Does it matter if you haven't researched the tech for vassalage yet?

    I think I understand liberating a city, but I haven't dealt with colonies enough. Was this feature added in BTS?
     
  10. AcaMetis

    AcaMetis King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    If you control 3+ cities on a continent that your Palace is not on you can grant them independence in the...domestic advisor window? F1 window, IIRC. Granting a colony independence will give every city you control on that continent to a randomly chosen AI, who will start as your Vassal. Colonies I believe are a mechanic added in BTS, and cannot be made until you have Feudalism since without it you can't form Vassals, but don't quote me on that.

    Note that when Vassal States are turned off colonies are likewise disabled, as is Colonial Maintenance.
     
    earthy likes this.
  11. earthy

    earthy Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    @AcaMetis do you get the diplo penalty for vassals that you colonized?
     
  12. AcaMetis

    AcaMetis King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    641
    Gender:
    Male
    Not sure what penalty you're referring to, but as far as I know colony vassals don't have special mechanics to them as far as them being vassals is concerned. If a regular peace/war vassal penalizes your diplo in some way, colony vassals should do likewise.

    One difference is that vassals you've liberated have something like a +10 diplo modifier towards their master for being a liberated colony, to ensure they get along even if Gandhi ends up giving control of his oversea holdings to Ragnar, but other than that they should act exactly the same as far as I know.
     
  13. earthy

    earthy Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    I mean the "we are worried about our rivals being vassals in your empire" penalty. I thought maybe in this case it wouldn't apply, but I suppose they still are rivals.
     
  14. sampsa

    sampsa Ghost

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987
    Location:
    Finland
    I think it applies. Also, your cities get the +1 :) for having a vassal.
     
  15. TruePurple

    TruePurple Civ wanna B

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,110
    Is there a command to select all uninjured units? I'm invading and I want my uninjurd units to move on while my injured units hang back to heal and protect the towns in the process. But selecting individual units and moving them individually is a pain. Even more so because I keep accidentally grouping units together, which is ever so confusing how the unit grouping together thing works. I also hate unit grouping together because it makes it hard to apply promotions, no way do I want to use the same promotion on all qualifying units of the same diverse group.

    Also do medic units heal units that have moved? Even attacked? Units heal more in friendly territory, right? Heal more in towns? Don't heal at all if they've moved any even if they haven't attacked?
     
  16. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,875
    Group your units and then use Ctl+H (or maybe Alt +H..forget at the moment). This command separates the injured units into a stack and just set them to heal or fortify...the other healthy stack will then be under your control
    (Interesting..it wasn't that long ago..like in the past year..that someone posted a thread on this feature. Some knew this but many did not..ha...I'd played the game for about 12 years and never knew of the command. Now I use it a lot)

    Only the March promo allows a unit to heal while moving. However, note that if a unit with the March promo moves in the same stack with a medic unit, he will heal faster even on the move.

    Otherwise, units only heal the turn after an action...movement or attacking.

    Units heal more in friendly territory. A bit less in neutral territory. And much slower in enemy territory. Of course, that is why you need a medic or super medic.
    (there's actually specific % of healing by territory type but I don't know it offhand...someone does)

    Healing in towns is a good question. I'm not sure if it is faster than a tile outside of town in your territory. I've never really paid that close attention to it. Someone may know. My guess is it is the same.

    Again, only units with March promo will heal some each turn regardless of movement or attack..otherwise no.

    edit: Reread your comment about stacking and promos. I really don't find it much of a problem myself, but then again, I've been playing so long that stack management is just second nature o me. However, stacks are really not that complicated once you get used to it. And even if you have a stack of units ready for promotion, you can still select an individual unit (or units) - promote it (or them) - and then click on him again and now you control the whole stack. The stack is still a stack until you ungroup it or move an individual unit away or ungroup it individually..
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  17. earthy

    earthy Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2019
    Messages:
    177
    I think it is a little bit faster but not much. Same with friendly territory vs friendly city.
     
  18. lymond

    lymond Rise Up! (Phoenix Style!) Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20,875
    Yeah, pretty sure there are static % healing capability for each situation. In fact, someone may have recently posted that info somewhere around here if I recall - maybe in this very thread. It might have been sampsa ...he usually know this stuff well.
     
  19. TruePurple

    TruePurple Civ wanna B

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,110
    Thankyou for that hot key for separating out injured, I haven't tried it yet but next chance...

    So medics don't heal units that have moved that turn? But medics boost healing even if they themselves have moved?

    Do forests help with pollution of all towns within their radius?
     
    sampsa likes this.
  20. sampsa

    sampsa Ghost

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987
    Location:
    Finland
    Cities. Yes.
     

Share This Page