1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Forellenfilet

    Forellenfilet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    You could improve the land in preparation for another city you're going to build next door.

    Resources will also still need their specific improvements (and road/river connection).

    Edit: I guess you could also slow down invaders by putting useless improvements near your borders and having the enemy pillage them.
     
  2. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    A lumbermill on a tile no city works is useless, but a mine on an iron deposit outside any city's borders but within your culture is very important, as with a road it gives you access to that iron. Other than harvesting resources, sometimes irrigation outside your city could be built in a chain to irrigate the city's squares (after Civil Service).
     
  3. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Also, you may need to bring in fresh water from a source outside your city's "fat cross" by chaining farms. So that's another use for improvements outside your city's workable radius. ;)

    EDIT: a4 beat me to it...
     
  4. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    And Forellenfilet beat me to the rest. Two of us should probably quit answering.

    If I capture the Egyptian cities the Germans conquer, and give them back to Hatshepsut, do you think she'll go to Homecoming with me?
     
  5. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    Eeeeeewwwwww!
     
  6. rychan

    rychan CS geek

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Awesome, thank you, but where the heck is this documented? and are there other equally arcane mechanisms anywhere in the game?
     
  7. linzamin

    linzamin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    What is considered a coastal city? Does the city have to be built on a tile right next to the water? Is this a requirement in order to use boats for fishing and exploring?
     
  8. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
  9. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    A coastal city must be next to a water tile, but that water tile must be part of a sea. Small lakes (called "fresh water lakes" in the game) are not considered "coastal" (ie you can't build ships and improvements such as Lighthouses in them).

    As long as that requirement is satisfied, then GingerAle's answers are correct. :)

    Incidentally, that raises my own question... how "small" does a lake have to be to be considered "fresh water" by the game? I know I've had some games with inland lakes which were actually large enough to be considered "seas" by the game (ie I could build ships and buildings like Lighthouses in cities bordering the lake).
     
  10. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I did a little search for that one as I was curious for the answer. From GlobalDefines.xml:

    <Define>
    <DefineName>LAKE_MAX_AREA_SIZE</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>9</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>


    So I think the answer is 9. But to be absolutely sure, you'd have to make a 'lake' of size 9 and 10 with the world builder and check it for yourself.
     
  11. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Just checked it myself. 1-9 tiles of water linked together are considered a Fresh Water Lake. 10+ tiles of water are considered a Sea. :)

    Gah. Each to their own, I guess... I'd rather take Elizabeth though. ;)
     
  12. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    As Ginger said, yes, and it's bad for a city to be one space away from the coast because then you can't build lighthouse or workboats (although a nearby coastal city could eventually do that).
     
  13. cabert

    cabert Big mouth

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,710
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    good answers already.
    Just to clarify a bit:
    - If you don't build on the coast, you can still work water tiles. What you can't do is build a lighouse, a harbor, or a boat.
    - another city can build a workboat and it can then move to the resource in your non coastal city.
    - a coastal city can have trade routes to every other coastal city in the world (with sailing for trade routes that don't require crossing oceans, and with astronomy for routes across oceans)
     
  14. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    Does that mean a noncoastal city, linked by roads to a coastal city with a harbor, cannot?
     
  15. cabert

    cabert Big mouth

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,710
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    No, but a coastal city doesn't need the roads.
    Sorry if I was not as clear as I wanted.
     
  16. ArghLuiz

    ArghLuiz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    ok, i don't know if this thread is the right place for this, but out of curiosity: are there any news on upcoming new expansions? or is civ4 already a "dead" game, meaning it's more interesting for firaxis to invest on civ5?
     
  17. ArghLuiz

    ArghLuiz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    oh yes, and thanks for all the previous answers...all three of them :)
     
  18. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    The previous expansion pack sold well, so I see no reason to not make another. Civ 3 also got 2 expansion packs. I do hope that the next expansion pack has a bit more content and I don't mean scenarios but content for the main game.
     
  19. Ben E Gas

    Ben E Gas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    Boston, MA USA
    Pig Eye.

    I've seen this a couple times in civ, but I forget exactly where. I discovered some tech and Mr. Spock said it in a quote. I always have skipped over it too quick to stop and take proper note of it. My questions are: Who said the quote?, What does it mean? and which tech was it, that it appears? And, what is the exact quote?

    Thanks.
     
  20. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Isn't it "Pig IRON", in the quotation you hear when you discover Railroads? "I fooled you. I got pig iron. I got pig iron. I got all pig iron."

    In any case, I'm not exactly sure what "pig iron" is, and what the quote means! :confused:
     

Share This Page