Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. philyburkhill

    philyburkhill Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Guys, I need help.

    Everytime I start a new game on huge map, there are about four or five big continents with plenty of resources which are empty. No matter how many AI I select, we all start out on the same continent. It stinks. STINKS
     
  2. cabert

    cabert Big mouth

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,710
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    do you play terra? (in this case it's designed to be so)

    It never happened to me playing continents.

    I don't know if it is designed to be but I know it is boring.
    Easy? Well I won easily at noble level, and never tried at a higher level, the boredom would just kill me :lol:

    yes!
    So it's not really a good move. The good thing is you can spread your religion to them if you want.
     
  3. Crighton

    Crighton Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,136
    If possible, some Civs prefer to run Theocracy all day everyday, get them to convert to your religion and spread it before he can convert back. If it spreads fast enough or becomes dominant the Civ may not convert back at all and you get teh borthers in faith diplo bonus.
     
  4. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    If they're converting as a result a surrender though, it's unlikely you'd get the Open Borders necessary to allow your missionaries in to spread the religion. ;)
     
  5. Crighton

    Crighton Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,136
    The Master enjoys freedom of movement in his Vassals territory, open borders allows him into yours (and I think it then enables trade routes with vassal as well).
     
  6. Totibbs

    Totibbs Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Europe, Netherlands, Haarlem
    What to do against a too crowded city?

    In cities Ive "people" who refuses to work because it is just too crowded. What to do against it?
     
  7. civ 4 rules

    civ 4 rules Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    how do you get those sayings and other things to pop below your messages without typing them evry time
     
  8. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    There are a number of things you can do to fight unhappiness in your cities. The first few methods involve increasing the number of happy citizens so they outnumber unhappy ones:

    • Religion: adopting a state religion and gives you +1 happy citizen in each city.
    • Buildings: various buildings such as temples and theatres give you happy citizens.
    • Civics: some civics, such as representation and nationhood, add happy citizens to your cities.
    • Resources: several luxury resources such as gold, whales, silk, and so on make citizens happy. And several buildings (such as forges and markets) increase their effectiveness in this regard.
    • Culture: culture makes citizens happier; you can increase culture by using the culture slider, which becomes available with the discovery of drama.
    • Peace: If you're at war, make peace, and the unhappiness created by war weariness will disappear.

    Of course, there are other ways to deal with unhappiness.

    • Stagnation: reassign tiles worked by citizens so the city will not grow to the point where it's unhappy.
    • Slavery: whip away unhappy citizens to finish builds. Usually you need to whip away the number of unhappy citizens +1 for this to be effective, because whipping will give you +1 unhappy citizen for several turns.
    • Starvation: let the unhappy citizens, who are consuming food without growing any, die off.

    You can also just ignore the unhappy citizens, though this means the city is not running optimally, especially the more unhappy citizens there are.
    Use the link marked "User CP", above, and change your signature.
     
  9. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    You're talking capitulation, we just meant a peace treaty with harsh terms. I couldn't care less what religion my vassals are, they'll never like me and I'll never need them to.
     
  10. TonyHanzo

    TonyHanzo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,

    I have a very noobish question: How do you use your gold/money to buy/rush unit production in Civ4? I know there was a way to do this in previous CIVs, but I haven't been able to figure it out yet.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  11. Dudj

    Dudj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Hello, excuse my English is so badly which I "babelfish" to the assistance take. If I understood correctly you need you the korekten systems of government around slavery or however moneyrush to use. Greeting dud
     
  12. Forellenfilet

    Forellenfilet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Gold-rushing is only possible if you run the Universal Suffrage civic (requires you to have researched Democracy). The gold-rush button is below the DRAFT button.
     
  13. Dudj

    Dudj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Property also one asks in own thing.

    Is it to be affected or predicted possible the movement of the Barbaen? if how?
     
  14. Forellenfilet

    Forellenfilet Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    I hope this post answers your question.
     
  15. Dudj

    Dudj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    No, unfortunately it does not what I meant am whether I as in civ3, which can affect barbarians with movement or units. If I place e.g. a unit here or there, the barbarians run in such a way or in such a way.
     
  16. scloopy

    scloopy Lost One

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    Location:
    SC
    Are there laptops that Civ IV will play correctly.

    It seems the problem is the built in video drivers but I am not sure. We have 3 Laptops but none of the work and as far as I know I can update the video in a Laptop.
     
  17. Masquerouge

    Masquerouge Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    17,790
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    The IBM T42p definitely plays Civ4.
     
  18. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    After updating the drivers on the video card, the BIOS and everything else, my year old Dell Inspiron 6000 with ATI 128mb graphics card plays it fine at medium graphics. It took a long time to hunt down all the proper driver updates though, and I'm still not sure which one fixed the initialization problem.
     
  19. TonyHanzo

    TonyHanzo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    What exactly is the "Univeral Suffrage civic?" I have researched/learned Democracy, but I still don't see an option to rush unit production.
     
  20. ChicagoCubs

    ChicagoCubs Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    361
    First, have you switched to Universal Suffarage as a civic? If you don't know what I mean, hit F3 in the game, and it will bring up the civics screen. On this screen you need to select one from box 1, one from box 2, one from box 3, one from box 4, one from box 5. Available civic options have icon beside the name. If the icon is missing you lack the technology for that civic option. Now, make sure Universal Sufferage in box 1 is selected. You may need to switch to it.

    Once the anarchy period is over, you should have the option to now rush units with cash. Open up the city screen. In the bottom center of the screen is where you select what you want to build. Immediately to the right of this box 8 little buttons all grouped together. The upper right button (has an up arrow and coins on it I think) is the option to rush production using cash. If you have enough money, you can rush items.
     

Share This Page