1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. ChinaBlue

    ChinaBlue Xenite

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    I want my intromovie :aargh: :badcomp: :ar15: [pissed] :hammer: :spank: :cry:
     
  2. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,561
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  3. ChinaBlue

    ChinaBlue Xenite

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    191
    Yes well thanks but I'm over it now;)
    I suppose that was a display of what can happen after a month of playing
    civ till the wee hours of morning and still go to work during the day:suicide:
     
  4. Jeffrez

    Jeffrez Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    London
    So Im trying to install the new patch (2.08) on my compueter which currently has patch 1.60 or something, i havent installed a patch before, advice or a useful link please?
    cheers
     
  5. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    You just download it and run it as a program, it will find your civ4 warlords program files on your computer and modify them. Or you can have the game do it automatically, it's under Advanced options in the startup menus if you're online, but that always makes my computer freeze. (Also, see Lord Parkin's next post)

    Has anyone here played the Total Realism mod? Any thoughts?
     
  6. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    If you have not yet bought and installed Warlords, then you cannot use the 2.08 patch. The highest patch which you need for Civilization IV without Warlords is just the 1.61 one (which from the above, I think you already have).
     
  7. Lord Jimbob

    Lord Jimbob Lord of the flies

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA USA
    would someone direct me to a post/thread that shows the rate, in turns, that cottages mature to hamlets, villages, and towns over time depending on game speed? I primarily play marathon speed fwiw. thank you! (yes I tried the search function).
     
  8. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    No, I'm not going to direct you to a thread, no way.



    I'll just tell it here. :D

    On normal speed, the first growth from cottage to hamlet takes 10 turns. The next growth takes 20 turns, the following takes 40 turns (so just double and double again of the first step of growth). On marathon speed, it all takes three times as long as most things take three times as long om marathon speed (30 turns, 60 turns and 120 turns). Note that the free speech civic halves these growth times (or doubles the growth speed). So that means 15, 30 and 60 turns on marathon speed.

    (on epic speed it takes 1.5 times as many turns as on normal speed, on quick speed it takes 0.67 times as many turns as on normal speed).

    You can also find these values in the civilopedia entry of these improvements.
     
  9. Lord Jimbob

    Lord Jimbob Lord of the flies

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA USA
    gosh, I knew it was going to be one of things I could just look up in the civ-pedia! :crazyeye:

    TYVM for the info, RJ- also, I think you meant to say that Emancipation is the civic that gives 100% cottage growth!
     
  10. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Yes, indeed. I don't know how that slipped in there. Sorry.
     
  11. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    Aside from the normal lack of shared civics, do non-Emancipated civs hold their happiness penalty against the Emancipated?
     
  12. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I never noticed a diplomacy penalty like this. I think they are oblivious to the fact that the emancipated nations are the source of their unhappiness.
     
  13. Lord Parkin

    Lord Parkin aka emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    6,374
    Location:
    New Zealand
    How is the unhappiness from Emancipation actually calculated? I always thought it was 1 unhappy face per city per rival civ which has Emancipation. However, I noticed that in a smaller game (a duel between two human players), if one switched to Emancipation then the other would get 3-6 unhappiness in all its cities, based on their size. :confused:
     
  14. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    I don't remember my source, but I think it depends on what fraction of known civs have Emancipation. So the last horse out of that gate gets whipped (unlike real life, where they get all the outsourced industry :mad: )

    Edit: Thanks RJ
     
  15. Megajosh

    Megajosh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    DE
    where do i exctract the 1.61 patch too?
     
  16. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    Desktop. Anywhere you can find it. When you run it, it'll find your civ files to update, you don't have to run it from within the civ folder.
     
  17. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    My theory for the "Special Edition" is that it has that different interface you always see in some places, like, I think, 2kgames.com somewhere, and it has a brown-colored, more [civ3]-like interface. Please clarify, because that was a wild guess.
     
  18. a4phantom

    a4phantom Perma-newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    MN, USA
    Nah, it's just a fancier box and some extra glossy paperwork, like a keyboard layout with all the hotkeys and a tech tree. Slightly cool but not worth paying extra for if it costs more. It was released in Nov 2005 and does not include Warlords.
     
  19. ggganz

    ggganz a.k.a. The Scyphozoa

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,485
    Location:
    Sector 5
    I got the techtree, but I got rid of it because I knew it was inaccurate because of Horseback Riding becoming a Classical tech with some patch.
     
  20. OscarWildebeest

    OscarWildebeest Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    London, UK
    Can anyone tell me if the final score is calculated with the map type as a factor? In other words, do you score more for winning on, say, Oasis than on Pangaea?
     

Share This Page