1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Janig

    Janig Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    thats a question more suited to strategy and tips forum. i suppose if im germany or songhai i'll focus on producing a warrior quickly cuz of their barb bonuses. if it looks like im on an island i'll go for growth + worker cuz theres no need to explore. otherwise my standard start is default worker focus + a scout, but u know its all circumstantial. i play small maps.
     
  2. goat9092

    goat9092 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    QUICK QUESTION: The answer is probably obvious but I'm not seeing it . . .

    HOW DO YOU BUY A TECHNOLOGY ??? I've got a ton of gold but am falling way behind. (I'm from Civ 3 where you set a percentage aside for tech research.)

    Minor question compared to that: Once having garrisoned a unit in a city, how do you get him up again?

    Cheers, goat.
     
  3. zulu8

    zulu8 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    how can I disable the automatic unit cycling after a unit has completed its move? it's very annoying. thank you
     
  4. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    You need to be at least friendly before you can protect a city state.

    You can't buy technologies, but you can make research agreements with other civs for a fixed amount of gold. Once the agreement expires, you both get a random tech.

    There should be an icon for your unit fortified on the city tile. Press it to select the unit.

    You can't.
     
  5. DrakenKin

    DrakenKin Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Montreal
    Questions :

    1) Both times I did a research agreement that went through, I got the technology i missed that needed the least beakers. Do you always get the cheapest tech you have?

    2) Is there a reference for unit upgrades? It seems I always beeline the wrong unit tech.

    Something like Warrior -> Swordman -> longswordman -> etc, and scout -> archer -> crossbowman -> ?? etc.
     
  6. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Credit goes to original uploader.

     
  7. Aless133

    Aless133 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    I'm trying to select optimal citi size (in hexes), but never actually used specialists.

    How much give each if them hummers/gold/science/culture? Ho mush they eat? What about unhappiness etc.
     
  8. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    If you mouseover a specialist slot, it will tell you what benefits that specialist will provide. Specialists eat 2 food like a regular citizen, though there is a social policy which will reduce it to 1. Specialists cound towards happiness like regular citizens.
     
  9. Aless133

    Aless133 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    Don't have game at work, can u tell me numbers? ;-)
    Scientist in Library and University have same effect?
    And does Library's effect extends to Specialists?
     
  10. Aless133

    Aless133 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    Another question:
    Culture from buildings are used to extend borders and to adopt policies. Culture from SC are used just to adopt policies?
     
  11. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Yesathatratjatjatrjtrjatj
     
  12. Aless133

    Aless133 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    Another reason to annex/demolish SC ;-)
     
  13. Overcastt

    Overcastt Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    how can i pick the hex which city will grow?

    would building GL+Oracle with babylon at immortal good strategy?

    thanks
     
  14. DrakenKin

    DrakenKin Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Montreal
    That's too bad, they should have made it so culture from city states are split among your existing cities or something. If I am warmongering and rely on CS for my culture, it should also help popping hexes.
     
  15. Aless133

    Aless133 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    So how much science/hummers/gold gives each specialist?
     
  16. DrakenKin

    DrakenKin Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Montreal
    I am pretty sure merchant gives 2 gold and scientist 2 science. Engineer should give 2 hammers, but I never tried it.
     
  17. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    You can't.
     
  18. Aless133

    Aless133 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    If so I can't understand why players move people from tiles to specialists? (only scientist is understandable - u can't get science from tiles)
     
  19. DrakenKin

    DrakenKin Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Montreal
    Because :

    1) you earn points towards great people. a great merchant gives you around 500-550 gold and 30 influence with a city state(a additional value of ~220 gold), which is more than you can ever earn from a tile.

    2) Some civics and wonders make specialists more powerful. One civic inside freedom reduces the food specialists take from 2 to 1. And another inside rationalism gives an extra 2 research per specialist.
     
  20. Raijer

    Raijer The 736th Beatle

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,206
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Can someone please tell me how to load a map made in World Builder into Civ V?
     

Share This Page