1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,638
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    No change in BNW - mechanics are the same.
     
  2. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    What about worker turns?
    Estimation is off by 1 turn in vanilla.

    When you start a farm for example it says 6 turns, next turn it says 4.

    Has that been fixed in BNW?
     
  3. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,538
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    This was fixed in the (Fall?) Patch.

    ... And what a relief it was! :goodjob:
     
  4. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Looking forward to that.

    And last Vanilla to expansion question.

    Do 'free' great people from social policies still increase your GP pool size? (they aren't all that free)
     
  5. Legedi

    Legedi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    I quit playing before the last fall patch. What were the big changes and how did they affect immortal and deity play? Or a link to something like that :).
     
  6. _alphaBeta_

    _alphaBeta_ King

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I took an interest in figuring out the city connection gold bonus, and when it makes sense to invest in roads for the connection. I'm not understanding the tooltip that displays when calculating the amount. It says "-1 base :c5gold: Gold per route" and then "1.1 :c5gold: Gold per :c5citizen: Citizen"

    In the example above, Braga has 2 :c5citizen: Citizens, so I'm basically getting 2 :c5gold: Gold for the route. The "-1 base" doesn't seem to have an effect. What is it supposed to be and what "route" is it talking about?

    As a side note, I could have sworn that the total city connection amount showed 1.25 when the connection was first created, which made sense with the tooltip.

    EDIT: I believe I did see the total go down when the city was created, and now I'm seeing the same whenever the city grows, and only for that turn.
     
  7. northernscribe

    northernscribe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    How do I airlift units? i have an airport in my capital and an airport in a small city on another continent. I have a bomber in my capital that i'm trying to move to the the small city on the other continent. I don't see any airlift icons. I tried the rebase icon, but I wasn't able to move it. Help!
     
  8. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,638
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    The airport-to-airport airlift function only works for land units.

    Air units have to be rebased the old-fashioned way, by hopping from the originating city to another city within the air unit's range, and then onward to another city in range until the air unit gets to the desired destination.
     
  9. northernscribe

    northernscribe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    oh. Damn. Well that makes NO sense!!!
     
  10. jogi

    jogi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    The only way to transport air units to a city that's too far to rebase is to build an aircraft carrier. They're nice to have anyway.
     
  11. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,538
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    The formula given is incomplete:
    append to it "plus (capital citizens * 0.15)"

    ... and it should come out right every time (it does for me).

    (Lisbon's 8 * 0.15) + (Braga's 4 * 1.1) -1 = 4.6
     
  12. northernscribe

    northernscribe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    80
    Another question: What are the mechanics for terrace farms? Some of mine have one food, others have two or three. I've seen scren shots, and they have four (before fertilizer). Does anyone know how teh food is determined?
     
  13. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,638
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Terrace Farm food output depends mainly on the number of mountains immediately adjacent to the terrace farm, plus ordinary farm bonuses (Civil Service and Fertilizer, as applicable).
     
  14. _alphaBeta_

    _alphaBeta_ King

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Ah, thanks. Seems like the math was never working out. Plus I do remember reading that the capital's population played a role, which your complete formula supports.

    Guess my question is reduced to why the sum of the city connections doesn't add up in my second screenshot (reproduced below). This seems to happen when there's city growth involved and goes back to normal the next turn. When doing the math, I'm only getting the 3.5:c5gold:. Since we're off by exactly 1.1:c5gold:, I'm guessing the city-specific number updates the turn of growth, but the total the next turn. Looks like a minor bug, or am I missing something?
     
  15. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,220
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a quick question about the liberty social policy. I see that representation gives a decrease in culture cost increase by 33%. Does this apply to all cities? Or only the new cities that are founded?
     
  16. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    All cities, retroactive.

    If your next policy costs 1000 culture and you have 10 cities on a large map (10%), the policy cost will probably be 2000 or 1900 (don't know if the capital increases the culture cost).

    Once you take representation the cost should go down to 1600 or 1666 culture.

    I found that it is usually enough to offset the cost of 1 policy. As in, current one costs 500, you take representation and the next one costs 500 as well.
     
  17. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Has city blocking been addressed in the expansions? (where you surround a friendly city, preventing an attacker from being able to take the city, since they can't pass through)
     
  18. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,638
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    That still works -- no change in the expansions.
     
  19. Ansive

    Ansive Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    OK, I'll stop doing it, it feels cheesy.
     
  20. Erelich

    Erelich Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    I upgraded from Vanilla to Brave New World yesterday and I'm still playing through my first game. Science victory was my 'go to' victory condition in Vanilla so that was the way I intended to win, but that changed when I saw the production times for the spaceship parts... SS booster is going to take nearly 40 turns (in my capital)! That's crazy, it took me like 10-20 turns to do that in Vanilla. Is my production just crap, or did they increase the hammers needed by a massive amount? I also find it quite annoying that aluminium is needed to create these parts now... none of my five citys have a aluminium source so I would have to rely on city states trading with other civs.

    Guess I'll just go for the diplomatic victory, it seems like that's going to be far quicker at this point...
     

Share This Page