1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Acken

    Acken Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,635
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC, Canada
    They do try to move great works if they perceive a danger but I wouldn't be surprised the function isn't very efficient.
     
  2. vesp3r1987

    vesp3r1987 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    i take it this will be seen on emperor and above
     
  3. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    AI evacuating artwork occurs even at Prince level. Of course, they have to have some place to evacuate it TO.
     
  4. Matty R

    Matty R Veteran Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Bolton, England
    Is that the same for all resources?

    When I built a pasture on a horse tile, I instantly got access to it even though there wasn't a road on it. However, there is a stone tile with a quarry on an adjacent tile with no road, and my resource list isn't showing access to stone.

    I'm currently playing my very first game on Civ V, and I think part of the learning process will be unlearning things from Civ IV. I get the impression that roads are more of a speciality thing now, rather than the necessity they were in Civ IV.
     
  5. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,814
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Stone is not a resource. You won't see cows and deer in your resource list either. In V, roads have nothing to do with hooking up resources and luxuries. Since roads cost maintenance, unlike IV, you want to be much more conservative with them.
     
  6. Matty R

    Matty R Veteran Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Bolton, England
    Thanks for the reply.

    I've gone and removed the roads I put in to link bonuses. Now I just have my 3 cities linked. Works well for moving my Spearmen around to deal with barbarians.

    Am I right in thinking that only Luxury and Strategic resources can be traded to other civs? It does appear that way, but I just wanted to confirm.
     
  7. vesp3r1987

    vesp3r1987 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Well you cant trade food with them... you can trade luxury and strategic resources and cities. Science trading comes with the RA and thats it.
     
  8. counterpoint

    counterpoint King

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Right. Of course you can also 'trade' production and food yields to your own cities via caravans and cargo ships, once you've researched the right techs
     
  9. Matty R

    Matty R Veteran Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Bolton, England
    Thanks for the replies.

    I'm getting there, slowly. I've just set my first Caravan up, and I should have my first Cargo Ship soon.

    So are the bonus resources like stone and deer only useful for the cities that can work them? Internal resources that can't be moved throughout my territory or to any others?

    I'm sorry if this is really obvious to other people. I've had Civ V installed for months but knew very little about it until I started yesterday. I only started it out of curiosity, to see how it looked compared to the previous game. More than 3 hours later I realised I couldn't go back to Civ 4.
     
  10. beetle

    beetle Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,814
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Correct. Bonus resources buff the tile, get another buff when improved, and most either unlock a building (e.g., stable, stoneworks) or buff a building (e.g., deer and wheat improve granary).

    Lux are similar but also provide happiness and are available to trade.

    Strategic resources are similar to bonus resources as well, but also give you something to trade or unlock units. Unlike luxes and bonus resources, strategic resources are only revealed by researching a tech.
     
  11. Matty R

    Matty R Veteran Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Bolton, England
    Thanks for clearing it up. It all makes perfect sense now.

    Is there a beginners guide or something like that available? I'm just looking for tips and basic advice. Maybe tips for unlearning things from Civ IV.
     
  12. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
  13. Matty R

    Matty R Veteran Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Bolton, England
    That's the sort of thing I'm looking for. Thank you very much.
     
  14. yew

    yew Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    According to the game,I have the following reasons for Unhappiness;
    123 total Unhappiness from all sources.
    0 generated from number of Cities
    111 generated by Population
    12.75 generated by Specialists


    I only have a happiness level of 31

    a)Should I stop building hospitals to keep the population from growing?According to the Civiliopedia, the hospitals are built if you want to have a big population.So the solution is to stop building hospitals?

    b)How did I end up generating "12.75 specialists"?I want to stop generating them if it causes Unhappiness.

    c)How do I cut down the population and how do I stop the population from growing further?I'm playing Russia in a scenario and I'm having trouble with too many citizens.
     
  15. Greggy08

    Greggy08 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    really i see a problem but that's not the population... i mean you have 31 happiness what are you worring about?:)

    the problem is... how do you have 0 from number of cities???:eek:

    Inviato dal mio GT-S5570I con Tapatalk 2
     
  16. yew

    yew Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    It's keeps on getting less as the turns pass by. :confused:
     
  17. counterpoint

    counterpoint King

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    678
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Keep in mind that the yellow number at the top of the main game screen is you're overall happiness surplus, after your unhappiness has been deducted.

    If this number gets low, or even turns red, then you have to be concerned. But 31 is a quite high number. You absolutely should not be limiting your population and specialists if you have that much net happiness. In fact, having good happiness is what empowers you to builds specialists and big cities in the first place. If you build a bush if cities, lose your luxury resources, or conquer too much, then you might run into happiness problems
     
  18. Acken

    Acken Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,635
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC, Canada
    Are you playing with a mod ? You shouldn't get 0 from cities.
     
  19. yew

    yew Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Yes.The one I'm using is one of those mod which you use to get new units.
     
  20. Acken

    Acken Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,635
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC, Canada
    Be more precise if you want help...
     

Share This Page