1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by ori, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. MeteorPunch

    MeteorPunch #WINNING

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,789
    Location:
    TN-USA
    Also how do you sell buildings?
     
  2. The Mongol

    The Mongol Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Is there a map editor! I just got attacked by a rifleman in the Classical Era!!??!? I assume this was caused by ancient ruins.
     
  3. HoldenA

    HoldenA Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Do cities you have annexed ever assimilate? If not does that mean in the long run it's best to just raze everything you can so you don't take the permanent hit o happiness?
     
  4. Frasco

    Frasco Drunk costarrican civer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,107
    Location:
    La Liga, Costa Rica
    They are assimilated by building a courthouse. After that there is no more penalty.
     
  5. Xger

    Xger Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Denver
    Thought I'd help with some answers. Still new here (post wise at least) so hopefully I'm at least more right than wrong with my answers.
    1. It would be impossible to know since we can't see others tech knowledge if the civs have the same techs prior to the agreement. However, they can be different, as I have received a tech from them in an age no one else is in (Tech after civil service slingshot, where I am the only one in Medival)
    1a. No, at least not that I've been able to see, I will see about testing it if no one else knows.
    2. Yes, or at least based on number of techs. I have had games where they start at 200 and go to 350 by 50 gold jumps.
    3. Not sure.
    4. Yes, and it is rather annoying :cry:
    1. At the least it is based on difficulty, map size, empire size (# of cities). I don't think the details are known atm.
    4. It seems unlikely the random element would ever be known. As for the margin of error, it is most likely tied to the random element, so also would be unknown.
    Workers are 'civilians' and so wouldn't stop military units. You could use scouts/warriors to do the same. Also one spot blocking wouldn't be enough unless it was rough terrain that ate up movement points. 2 layers would be necessary on flat ground.
    No
    You need to build a courthouse (comes with Mathematics tech) for that unhappiness to go away. You will still always have the population and number of city unhappiness hit however.
    It behaves oddly. If it is out of sight, I have seen it where I am told which encampment it is by that single hex being revealed. Also when you mouse over the encampment, it says "City-State Quest" if it is one of the correct ones.
    In the base game it is most likely not possible to extend the character limit of Civ names. Not even sure if that could be modded.
    If you could build in their territory in theory maybe. Keep in mind though that workers have a 1-turn ability to remove roads, so they could just remove them.
    It's permanent war, so they are gonna be at war with you permanently :rolleyes:
    Replays of games are saved in the same file area as save files, but I am unsure as to how to actually watch them.
    The starting settler I believe is given a high chance of starting next to a river, but it is not certain.

    My question: Is there a reason that my saves don't always stay around? I have had a few drop from the normal list, and 1 from Steam Cloud just up and vanish
     
  6. shpeka

    shpeka Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Cultural expansion.

    The next city hex that is going to enter your cultural borders is outlined in pink. I thought I should be able to choose the next hex (well the AI does a pretty decent job of selecting the best one, but still...). How do I choose the next culture-expansion-hex manually?
     
  7. Shteevie

    Shteevie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    -If you have say, 10 Swordsman (requiring Iron) and a deal for Iron expires reducing you to less than 10 Iron, all of your Swordsman will fight at 50% strength. I don't know for sure what the penalty would be for a factory for which you could no longer provide Coal, but my guess would be a similar 1/2 efficiency.
     
  8. Shteevie

    Shteevie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    -Far as I know, you don't.
     
  9. Shteevie

    Shteevie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    -This only occurs if the newly-revealed resource lies inside your borders, and even then, not 100% of the time. If you want to see who you have to beat up to get Aluminum or Uranium, you have to scour the map manually.
     
  10. dcace1983

    dcace1983 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    So this seems fairly simple but I can not for the life of me figure this out.

    Mods - Download Simple Clock - Go to the area where it shows the mods I have downloaded - Put a green check next to the Simple Clock mod indicating it as enabled - Back to the main menu - Mods - Singe player - Set up game - Once in game no sign of clock anywhere.

    Anyone?
     
  11. FrzrBrn

    FrzrBrn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    When another civ calls me on having troops near their border and I respond with "Just passing through", how long before I can attack them without them telling other civs that I'm a liar? Also, there seems to be a bug that they can complain about my troops near "their" border when I'm not near their border, just near one of their scouting units. In my current game, I'm separated from Elizabeth by an entire ocean with all my troops at home and she's still complained.
     
  12. Knightlax

    Knightlax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    What other "Unique Civ Bonuses" have you guys found, that aren't documented ?

    For Greece, they can travel through city-state boarders without the need to be friendly. Have you noticed any others?
     
  13. ninjapug

    ninjapug Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Where can i download replays of pros playing?
     
  14. AldermanTom2

    AldermanTom2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I have seen posts where they mention "Puppet States". Can someone describe what a puppet state is, how you form one, and what they can be used for?

    Thanks
     
  15. Dusk

    Dusk Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    When you conquer another city you can either annex it (it becomes a regular city), you can make it a puppet or you can raze it.

    Annexing it creates a lot of unhappiness until you build the courthouse (which is 5g in maintenance)

    Making it a puppet means no additional unhappiness from an occupied city and no +30% policy points for next policy. It also means that you can't control what the city builds, it just builds random buildings. Note that you pay maintenance for these buildings and that it may also build buildings which require strategic resources.

    You do get the resources, science and culture from puppet cities though. For more info on them, search for the word "puppet" on these forums.
     
  16. sarah_aus

    sarah_aus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Have fishing boats, create marketplaces then banks, trade with other civs, ally gold rich city states, build a lot of wonders with attached golden ages and delete excess units. The Persians are good to as their golden ages last twice the usual time.
    This is what I've been doing and it's worked out well
     
  17. RobO

    RobO King

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Location:
    Slangerup, Denmark
    In a pinch, focus city production on Gold.
     
  18. sarah_aus

    sarah_aus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Oh yes, I forgot about the city gold production. Good job Rob :) xx
    U could also demand gold from other civs if u don't mind going to war shortly thereafter :)
     
  19. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Can wonders be destoryed if a city is taken? I seem to have kept most wonders. The Russians built Machu Pichu in one of their cities. It was pretty sweet, I could see the wonder peeking up from the tops of the clouds and the sun glinting off its snow capped peaks.

    But after a few turns of taking cities, I noticed it had disappeared! I checked all the cities within 2 tiles of the mountain and none had the wonder any longer.
     
  20. yogesh33

    yogesh33 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Sydney
    Can any one tell me how can I move my stacked units (1 Military + 1 Great general) with one order?

    I am tired of repeating the orders again and again.
     

Share This Page