1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'CivBE - General Discussions' started by joncnunn, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ

    It's not too far. Do you have miasma under that colonist?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  2. Aotrs Commander

    Aotrs Commander Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    I completed my first tutorial-y game yesterday (scraping a transendance victory), and am now starting to look at playing "proprtly" now I jave some avgue idea of what I'm doing.

    I did just have a crack again, but I set it to marathon mode (as I tend to do for most Civ games since Civ IV). This... seemed like a really bad idea in hindsight. For one, I could't explore half the ruins because they were under miasma, and the productions were all cripplingly slow (meaning casualties were basically irreplacable).

    Is marathon setting now really just pushing the difficulty significantly up (i.e. is it really as balanced at the slower speeds) or was I just having a really bad start?
     
  3. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
  4. Leathaface

    Leathaface Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    Is it normal to take around 60 turns to research a tech that is outside of the immediate centre of the tech web?

    (ie the techs that take around 15 turns to research.)
     
  5. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Yes. You need to develop more before you have the science for them.
     
  6. Leathaface

    Leathaface Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    OK. (I was talking about on Epic speed, forgot to mention that.)
     
  7. Xaks

    Xaks Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    OKC
    So...siege worms.

    I gave up on a campaign just now. After reading all 17 pages of this thread, I found only a single mention of the other question I have (I'll get to that one shortly)

    I played a random everything start game. And from the west of my capital and first placed city, I keep having siege worms pop and come rollin' in.

    They rip the snot out of everything, and wipe my armies to nothing before falling to city defenses.

    I've mostly not even finished repairing all the damage they've caused before the next one pops into view.

    I've explored the whole island I'm on (fairly small...30ish hexes wide, T shaped, about 15 long on the middle stalk as it were) and there are ZERO nests.

    I gave up when not one....not two...but THREE siege worms came into my city view on the same turn and simply laid waste to everything in order.

    What the hell do siege worms pop from?

    (the secondary question I have, I found a single reference to back on page four: what happened to 'limit growth' from Civ5? Is that completely gone now, or am I just an idjit trying to locate it?)

    Thanks :)
     
  8. forty2j

    forty2j King

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Location:
    NJ
    Ultrasonic fence. Then stand behind it and shoot the worm safely till dead.

    Nope, it's not there.
     
  9. Alloran

    Alloran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Alright, quick question. I notice there's no 'reveal the whole map' tech like Civ V's satellites. How do I see an area that I don't have access to. I don't wanna declare war on the PAC, but I wanna see what they're hiding. Yeah, my early game exploration was poor. Any way to do this?
     
  10. TylerB85

    TylerB85 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Covert Ops. Send an agent, build a network, reveals that city, gives you info on production.

    Spoiler :
     
  11. Alloran

    Alloran Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Right, but you have to have seen a city to send an agent there, right?
     
  12. keldaur

    keldaur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Tenerife
    Every few turns the convoy stops and i am given the option to take a different trade route if i want, is there a way to stop this from popping every few turns ? It's kinda cumberstome when i don't really want to change the trade routes.

    Edit - By the way, is there some Steam group going on for multiplayer ?
     
  13. V3N0M

    V3N0M Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Is there any benefit to international trade routes that benefit the other sponsor instead of you? Can you use them to improve diplomatic relations or anything like that?
     
  14. Pseudofate

    Pseudofate Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    NY
    I'm fairly certain I know the answer to this.

    Do all cities require the Ultrasonic Fence in order to receive the quest bonus? (Convoys won't be attacked) Or does having one fence in your capital work globally?
     
  15. TylerB85

    TylerB85 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Except for the Capital City I think.

    Once you trigger the event, I believe all your convoys are immune.
     
  16. LPR1441l

    LPR1441l Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    So here is the deal I subscribed to some mods using Steam but then when I go into mods in Civ I don't see them in the folder for Civ any help for this?
     
  17. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    They always benefit the other colony as well as you and it always improves relations. I don't think giving the a better deal makes them like you more, so still pick one that is good for you.
     
  18. parts

    parts Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    97
    So...

    Any word on future patches, now that December patch has come and gone?

    Even just fixing the affinity quest post-t100 bug? (Yes, I know Ryoga has hotfixed this).
     
  19. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    There are recent posts around from Firaxis people in bug threads saying things like 'we're looking into it' or asking for save games for bugs so they must be back from the holidays.
     
  20. TylerB85

    TylerB85 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Can anyone explain to me how the combat engine works, like, if I have 100 hit points, and 18 strength and I get attacked by something with 12 strength, or 20 strength, how many hit points will I be hit for?
     

Share This Page