1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'CivBE - General Discussions' started by joncnunn, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is there a maintenance cost for units whom have been sent to earth via gate for the emancipation Vic?
     
  2. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
  3. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Ohio
    OK. Thanks!

    Does the Disciple's adjacency bonus stack?
     
  4. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Ohio
    Do purity players receive a diplo hit against the ai for being purity?
     
  5. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    The one that says 'per adjacent unit' does, the other doesn't.
     
  6. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Ohio
    Does the ai receive quest bonuses as well?
     
  7. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
  8. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Ohio
    O OK. Thanks!

    Can the Xeno titan embark?
     
  9. liv

    liv Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Yes but no water defense.
     
  10. Dee_Twenty

    Dee_Twenty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Is this one of those games that wants to force you to use Steam even if you buy a physical copy? I don't want to waste my money on it just to find out I have to install third party software that I don't want anywhere near my computer in order to play a game I legally purchased.
     
  11. Minor Annoyance

    Minor Annoyance Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
  12. wayneb64

    wayneb64 Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    Unfortunately yes, but the update and DLC content all come through Steam so you have to install it and deal with it. You can just exit Steam after playing the game so it doesn't have to stink up your computer all the time. You also can generally play the game without an internet connection IF you have one periodically to get updates.
     
  13. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Ohio
    Do I only need one deep space sat for the contact vic?
     
  14. Halbbruder

    Halbbruder Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Messages:
    387
    Just 1. However, it does boost science yield in cities and tiles so you could consider getting more.
     
  15. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm on a one city challenge bent after finding out the name of a Jewish preschool I attended.
     
  16. doganozm

    doganozm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Hello to everyone. I'm searching present day world mod. I want play with Turkey, India, Russia vs. vs. Help me please. :)
     
  17. nccrush001

    nccrush001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    I'm new to the game (latest patch btw). I found out through trial and error that strategic resources aren't mined every turn like normal ones, but seem to come in a "one shot deal" where their quantity is mined only once. However, in various attempts of playing around, by building another improvement on the strategic resource (firaxite for instance) and then cancelling before complete and rebuilding the strategic resource mine, it seems I can get a "one time shot" of the resource again.

    It hasn't always been successful. For instance in one series of attempts where I did this across my empire my firaxite went negative. But I think I know what I did wrong in that case, and in most attempts it seems to work.

    This does seem like a bizarre way to get resources, however, and I've wondered if I've simply stumbled upon a bug and am exploiting said bug inadvertently, or if there is some better way at getting these resources and I'm simply doing it wrong. Off the top of my head I doubt that I found a bug, because what I'm doing would be the first thing that legions of "bug exploiters" would have thought of, and knowledge of this should have been out there long ago.

    Questions:

    1) What is the intended mechanic for these strategic resources? One shot deal? Multiple shot deal? Etc.

    2) If one shot, then have I found a bug?

    3) If multiple shot, am I doing it correctly or is there a better way?

    Thanks.
     
  18. tedeviatings

    tedeviatings Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Let's take a floatstone-7-tile as an example. You have access to these 7 floatstone as long as the following two conditions are met:
    (1) You own the tile
    (2) It is improved with a (completed, not plundered) floatstone quarry

    In other words you get the 7 floatstone when you complete the quarry, you keep them as long as both conditions are met and you lose them again if (1) or (2) are not true anymore. All units or buildings that require floatstone require you to have it while you build them. As long as the unit / building exists their floaststone cost is deducted from your total floatstone - if you lose access to (some) floatstone you can even go negative.
     
  19. liv

    liv Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    It is a one shot deal.
    Are you saying you can get 4 firaxite out of a 2 firaxite resource by doing what you are doing? In that case it would be a bug
    I have to try that :)
     
  20. nccrush001

    nccrush001 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Basically infinite firaxite out of a 2 firaxite resource by doing that over and over again, but I find it hard to believe someone else hasn't tried it yet with as many people who play this game.
     

Share This Page