1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'CivBE - General Discussions' started by joncnunn, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. Khtugg

    Khtugg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Hi all,

    I'm considering the bonus strength for unused movement points perk and I think I know how it works offensively but what about defence? Does it effect defence? If so how does it work? I'm selecting this perk for a ranger upgrade(2 movement points) and it is attacked by the enemy, does it actually gain +20% strength IF it did not move or shoot in my turn? Any clarification would be appreciated.

    Thanks for reading.

    Follow up question: if I from the above perk(purity) go supremacy/purity and thus gaining the ability to attack twice how does the above purity perk work? If the ranger type unit remains motionless and it attacks once it gains +20%, right? If it then attacks a second time does it get +20%, +10(attacks consume movement points?) or no bonus?
     
  2. oakdragon

    oakdragon Stagnating amonst the Siliconians Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Does enabling or disabling victory conditions affect the way the AI approaches the game? Will the AI be less warlike if a domination victory is disabled, for example? Will the AI know not to pursue other conditions if they're disabled? What if none of them are enabled?
     
  3. Ryika

    Ryika likes cookies and milk.

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,323
    Yes and no. If a Victory Condition is disabled then the AI will not use the "Grand Strategy" that is associated with that victory. The AI-Flavors are still in place though, so if an AI rolls heavily in favor of producing units then it will still play offensively - not every AI that declares war a few times is trying to win by Domination.
     
  4. Makavcio

    Makavcio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Has the promised black market etc. patch been already released? If so, could you give me the patched game game version number? If not, what is the ETA? Thanks in advance.
     
  5. Olodune

    Olodune Chieftain GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,083
    It has been released. My current client version is: 1.1.2.3007 (With Rising Tide, obviously)
     
  6. oakdragon

    oakdragon Stagnating amonst the Siliconians Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    The Mac version isn't out yet.
     
  7. matlajs

    matlajs Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    709
    guys. is anywhere in game some indicator of allien relationship what i can watch? ty
     
  8. frnknbry

    frnknbry Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Wallyland (some where in Canada)
    Are there Charts that explain Diplomacy (ie whats available and the defaults what works best etc.) and what artifacts get what rewards etc?:help:
     
  9. kipwheeler

    kipwheeler Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    The only indicator is the color of the emblem above the alien: blue, green, orange, or red. Blue=perfectly peaceful; Green=mostly peaceful; Orange=mostly pissed; Red=really really pissed.

    You can only see their attitude toward you. As far as I know, you cannot perceive the aliens' attitude toward other faction aside from observing their behavior.
     
  10. MetalPhilosophe

    MetalPhilosophe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I think I'm going to feel like a total moron when this question is answered, but here goes. When I try to destroy a station, I can get its HP down to 1 with ranged units, and then I can do nothing. My Soldier units can't do anything to it, they can't even attack it (the game says they have no valid targets to attack even when they're standing right next to it, and right mousing over the station with the Soldier displays a red star of "you can't go here"). I've tried moving artillery units into the city too, and no dice. The only time I ever took a station was once when I drove a boat into an aquatic station.

    What on earth am I doing wrong? I can't get the station's health any lower, and nothing I have can enter it (hell, only my ranged artillery units can even attack it). Please help!
     
  11. efferatus

    efferatus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Hi! Hope I'm posting this in the right place; I just got through with my first play-through with BERT, and wasn't able to find a way to make roads/malevs upkeep vanish (like it would with Supremecy levels in the original.) Did I miss something, or have they just been left as drains on your energy all game long?
     
  12. Bloodstone

    Bloodstone Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Tallahassee
    Does anyone have a link to Strategy Guides for BE? I just got it and have been playing CiV BNW, but thought I might try BE for a change of pace. Thanks
     
  13. stebobibo

    stebobibo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    How many levels of veterancy can a unit get? Asking this because the Precog Project wonder allows u to get 2 additional levels of veterancy.
     
  14. stebobibo

    stebobibo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    What units count against you for unit supply? I can be over the supply limit and not get the penalty in production. Some of my units aren't counting. Which ones?
     
  15. stebobibo

    stebobibo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Crushing noise? Do you guys get this noise that happens all the time, whether you are moving around the map, or the game moves to another unit? It kinda sounds like a small explosion, or crushing snow. Is there a way to turn it off, cause it's really annoying. Thanks!
     
  16. Octopuss

    Octopuss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Could anyone recommend me decent strategy guide? I started playing about a week ago and quickly realized I was doing something horribly wrong: diplomacy doesn't "work" (I don't get 90% of it and nothing I try to suggest to the other players is accepted) and the moment the others start building military they simply attack me and I'm done. I don't want to go the military way so I only have a few such units. If I start building an army I pretty much don't develop at all.
     
  17. ajil

    ajil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    So i haven't played or kept up with BE since shortly after launch. Back then the general consensus was that it wasn't very good. I know firaxis usually does a good job improving their games with patches and updates, has BE gotten significantly better since vanilla?
     
  18. Sauron 3

    Sauron 3 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    With Rising Tide DLC has become better. Especially diplomatic part. One thing I really don't like at all that sea cities are have more preferences than land-based ones.
     
  19. dewast

    dewast Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Hi, is there a Command, that allow adding another specialist to a building.
    I want to make 5 separate building for
    -Factory for Production,
    -Farm for food,
    -Lab for science
    -"Market" for energy,
    -"Cinema" for Culture
    I want to add to them Specialist slots, insted adding them to new build building, so instead Holosuite and CEL Cradle (2 buildnig), I would get +2 artist to Cinema from Holosuite and after build CEL Cradle + 4 Artist to Cinema.

    Wnated to create and use something like this:
    Code:
    
    	<Table name="Improvement_SpecialistCountChanges">
    		<Column name="BuildingClass" type="text" reference="BuildingClass(Type)"/>
    		<Column name="BuildingType" type="text" reference="Buildings(Type)"/>
    		<Column name="SpecialistType" type="text" reference="Specialist(Type)"/>
    		<Column name="SpecialistCount" type="integer"/>	
    	</Table>
    
    	<Improvement_SpecialistCountChanges>
    		<Row>
    			<BuildingClass>BUILDINGCLASS_CINEMA</BuildingClass>
    			<BuildingType>BUILDING_HOLOSUITE</BuildingType>
    			<SpecialistType>SPECIALIST_ARTIST</SpecialistType>
    			<SpecialistCount>1</SpecialistCount>
    		</Row>
    	</Improvement_SpecialistCountChanges>
    
    	<Buildings>
    		<Update>
    			<Where Type="BUILDING_CINEMA"/>
    			<Set SpecialistType="SPECIALIST_ARTIST"/>
    		</Update>
    		<Update>
    			<Where Type="BUILDING_CINEMA"/>
    			<Set SpecialistCount="0"/>
    		</Update>
    	</Buildings>
    
    
     
  20. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10,623
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC

Share This Page