1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions and Answers

Discussion in 'CivBE - General Discussions' started by joncnunn, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. Progenitor Race

    Progenitor Race Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Can't exactly understand one thing. Editing the MyMod.civbeproj
    Which situation I should use TRUE/FALSE parameter of ImportIntoVFS:
    Code:
       <Content Include="Units\PW_UnitsSubColor.sql">
          <SubType>Lua</SubType>
          <ImportIntoVFS>False</ImportIntoVFS>
        </Content> 
    Is it wrong if I past every file in import=true position?
    Even for those which inset also in content section:
    Code:
          <Action>
            <Set>OnModActivated</Set>
            <Type>UpdateDatabase</Type>
            <FileName>XML/PW_Starts.xml</FileName>
          </Action>
        </ModActions>
        <ModContent>
          <Content>
            <Type>MapScript</Type>
            <Name>Inland Sea</Name>
            <Description>Unlocked basegame map</Description>
            <FileName>Maps/PW_Inland_Sea.lua</FileName>
          </Content>
    
     
  2. Guide-on

    Guide-on Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Sorry that I cannot help you. Mya computer skills are less than yours. Ryika could help if she is still on this site. However, if you do get it working, I will at least look at the mod on steam.

    Something you might want to consider when you get it working. There are several T2 versions of the explorer, but none of them have what is needed/wanted most...HOVER! I think that the reason is that making a new picture is much harder that changing the strength or movement values. However, I have noticed that the flotation device on the explorer when embarked looks somewhat like the skirts on a hovercraft. All you would have to do is have the T2 Astroscout use the embarked artwork. I WOULD download this mod if I found it on steam! ;) :)

    Good luck on getting the help

    p.s. BERT uses Civ V code, and Civ VI uses SQL which is similar I'm told. The modding thread on either could probably answer your question. I noticed that you did not say that your mod was for BERT, so asking it in the same way would probably work.
     
    Progenitor Race likes this.
  3. Progenitor Race

    Progenitor Race Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    45
  4. TheyMadeMeDoThis

    TheyMadeMeDoThis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
    Question: this game worth another go for a civ fan? Got a few hours of play time in with beyond earth short after release, i really liked it. But then i never went back and it got quite a bit of bad press.. Now I'm a bit tiered of civ 6 and thought to give this one another whirl. But it's still quite pricey. Anyway, this game good?
     
  5. vorlon_mi

    vorlon_mi Just One More Turn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    Did you play Civ 5 much? Your opinion of Civ 5 may well influence your opinion of BERT. If you've been playing Civ6, then you're used to 1UPT.

    For me, I am enjoying BERT more than Civ5. They tweaked the mechanics a bit (global happiness --> global health) with ways to dig yourself out of a healthiness hole. One can build multi-city empires more easily than in Civ5, though not as broadly as Civ3 or Civ4. Naval battles are more fun, and founding cities in the ocean is fun. The aliens are more interesting than plain barbarians, though they don't form cities for you to conquer. I like the tech web and not feeling like I am always marching through the past history of discovering human knowledge.
    On the negative side, I find the diplomacy options limited. I'm used to the idea of trading resources, knowledge, or asking an ally to declare war on a mutual enemy. None of those options are possible. It's more transparent about why an AI doesn't like you, but there are not many AI leaders and seeing the same ones game after game can be a little repetitious.

    Look for a sale, and I think that you'll have fun.
     
    Progenitor Race likes this.
  6. TheyMadeMeDoThis

    TheyMadeMeDoThis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
    I'll wait for a sale, good idea
     
  7. TheyMadeMeDoThis

    TheyMadeMeDoThis Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
    Are mods essential to enjoy this game? If so, which mods are recommended?
     
  8. Guide-on

    Guide-on Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Definitely put it on your wish list! I purchased it some years ago on sale at 75% off. Memory says I paid $14.95 for Be and BERT together plus $1.95 for a map extension pack. BERT by itself is worth $14.95, but for replayability you will want some mods. The map pack is definitely worth $1.95 if you can get it for that, but there are a number of map mods that would probably give you most of it for free.

    The mods I use most are Artifact helper, Awesome pods and ruins, building quest trigger instantly, Awesome Rocktopus, and either Improved units or Affinity units less nerfed (you can use both at once with it crashing. You WILL need to do the "mod dance". I.e. load the mod/s you want, click next, hit the X in the upper right to go back and load again. Then proceed as usual. All of these can be used at the same time.

    Changing a couple of mods can change the nature of the game. None of the above will change the game a lot, but they are fun!
     
  9. vorlon_mi

    vorlon_mi Just One More Turn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    Can the Beacon (Contact Victory) be build on Water? I started a Terran planet, but ended up making planetfall on one of the small islands instead of the large landmass. I'm doing OK in other aspects, but don't have many land hexes next to my most productive cities.
     
  10. vorlon_mi

    vorlon_mi Just One More Turn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    Which units can shoot down orbital units?
     
  11. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y King

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Cleveland Clinic, Ohio class RNC
    Siege range units.
     
  12. vorlon_mi

    vorlon_mi Just One More Turn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    How is the Score calculated? Is the algorithm similar to Civ V? In one of my early games with Samatar (Africa), my score is relatively low on my personal leaderboard. I played again -- and I thought I did better -- but the score is still much lower than my games as KP and Brasil.
     
  13. s0nny80y

    s0nny80y King

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Cleveland Clinic, Ohio class RNC
    Polystralia by far is the strongest.
     
  14. vorlon_mi

    vorlon_mi Just One More Turn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    I got the Steam achievement, "Aim to Misbehave" by winning on a Duel Map. I'm trying to get the achievement, "Fearful Symmetry" by winning on a Skirmish Map. But I don't see that map type. I'm playing BERT. Was that the name for the 2-player map in vanilla BE? Is there any way to get that achievement? Is that also blocking me from getting the one I really want, "United Federation of Planets" by winning a game on every map size and type?
    Is there a way to play the base game rules, to disable some of the RT features?
     
  15. vorlon_mi

    vorlon_mi Just One More Turn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    I downloaded, installed, and started a game using Ryika's Awesome mods. What do I need to do, when loading the save and resuming the game? Do I need to select the mods again, before loading the game? Or will loading the save file bring in the mods that I used to start the game?
     
  16. vorlon_mi

    vorlon_mi Just One More Turn

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    829
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    Found the answer in part of the article here https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=569681601
    Emphasis (underlining) mine ...

    3 - Saved Games cannot be loaded
    Problem: Mods are not loaded properly when trying to continue a saved game.

    Explanation: This can happen because of a number of reasons. The game seems to have problems loading mods "on the fly" instead of through the mod menu, mods that don't have the "Affects Saved Games?"-Attribute will not be active in saved games unless activated before the savegame is loaded and mods that got updated may have become incompatible with previous versions which will often result in a crash when trying to load a savegame from previous versions. Also, when using tons and tons of mods, savegames will sometimes simply get corrupted.

    Solution: There is no way to prevent this 100%, sometimes save games just won't work, especially if a lot of mods are active.

    There are however a few precautions you can take:
    • Do not use too many mods. It can be fun adding more and more stuff, but the more mods you add, the more likely you are to experience problems.
    • Never update Mods until you have finished your current game and want to start a new one
    • Always go through the mod menu and load games after you have manually enabled all the mods that you were using in the savegame.
    • This problem seems to affect save files somewhat randomly, so setting the auto save interval to a very low number and the amount of autosaves kept to a very high number might give you access to a working save file from just a few turns ago.
     
  17. Guide-on

    Guide-on Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    First of all, you need to "do the mod dance" each time you load the game: Not just the first time. Second, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you do NOT change any of the mods. I have run as many as 32 different mods without it crashing. It was not a good game, but I regularly run 15 to 20 mods at the same time.

    The "mod dance" is what I call the loading procedure. 1. Select and load the mods that you want to play. 2. click next. 3. Click the X in the top right corner to go back to the screen where you select the mods. 4. Click next. Now you can start play as usual. You have to do this EACH and EVERY time you load a mod that includes units. It is a problem is the C++/python code that is NOT available to us. The dev would have to fix this (and they won't).
     
    vorlon_mi likes this.

Share This Page