1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions / Quick Answers

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Theral, Aug 23, 2016.

  1. CrazyG

    CrazyG Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5,386
    Location:
    Beijing
    I think it's the Arc de Triomphe in france. I think the Heroic Epic is a world war 2 era monument but I forget from where.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  2. Kim Dong Un

    Kim Dong Un The One & Unly Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    815
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pyongyang
    Yeah, I figured it was Arc de Triomphe. Thank you.

    Heroic Epic is the US Marine War Memorial, in Virginia, based off the famous Iwo Jima picture.
     
    vyyt and CrazyG like this.
  3. IljaMacabre

    IljaMacabre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Hello!
    Unfortunately the Ottoman is not growing in my game, it looks like he is not working on the food tiles, since the Amber creates more profit. But without working, the poor Ottoman will not be happy in a long term.. Is this a known issue?
    It makes the nice start in the game a bit frustrating when one civ is out of game because of a bug.. Therefore I even think of restart... But probably this will happen more often?

    https://ibb.co/f05CSby
     
    vyyt likes this.
  4. anastazjasz

    anastazjasz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Is it just me or progress is very weak comparing to tradition (authority ofc better without question), in my last 6 games I've seen AI picking P only 4 times (I'm playing huge maps, epic, immortal with 15 civ, and 25 cs). Else is half/half (Trad/Auth).

    So I was curious and tried 3 games with progress myself, boi by the midgame authority civs were smashing me like a small kid. Even though I had max unit number, and invested every single penny in the modernization of my units. Still, huge strain on the progress economy, also I wasn't able to hold to all those insanely promoted waves of navy/land units, like my navy was facing 4/5 promo AI from the very beginning.

    And one more thing from turn 150 (on average) there is no single turn I'm in peace, this is a joke. Civ from the other side of the map just dow me as soon as the peace is finished. E.g. I was second in army losing just to Songhai yet even 2 city AI was dowing me... Authority is way better with this, AI is just scared to dow you as it should be. Can I somehow modify diplo files to tone that down a little?

    To summarize, it is me doing sth wrong? Like overextension? (last game I had 12 core cities as progress and 0 conquered to avoid WM penalty, also never declared myself). Or it's like that with current version? Or it is thing with progress and how it plays?
     
  5. CrazyG

    CrazyG Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Messages:
    5,386
    Location:
    Beijing
    On the latest version progress is weak due to a lack of culture. It'll be fixed by the next update.

    You can change it yourself if want. Go to the liberty.sql file and change the 10s to 15s.
    Spoiler Files :

    VALUES
    ('POLICY_LIBERTY', 'YIELD_CULTURE', 10),
    ('POLICY_COLLECTIVE_RULE', 'YIELD_CULTURE', 10),
    ('POLICY_MERITOCRACY', 'YIELD_CULTURE', 10),
    ('POLICY_CITIZENSHIP', 'YIELD_CULTURE', 10),
    ('POLICY_REPRESENTATION', 'YIELD_CULTURE', 10),
    ('POLICY_REPUBLIC', 'YIELD_CULTURE', 10);

    Changing the first one alone makes a massive difference.
     
  6. HixBozo

    HixBozo Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    By any means I am not suggesting what best strategy is. Only opinion or rather how I take this decision

    Whether I will choose Progress or Tradition depends on the initial location of my capitol. If the city has a lot of food to grow quickly I will choose Progress. If the capitol has very scarce food (like in a forest/jungle area) I would rather choose Tradition.

    Tradition gives + 2 citizens which is very important to compensate the slow starting growth of a food-scarce capitol. On the other hand if plenty of food for quick growth, I can afford Progress which actually compounds this strength by rewarding the quick growth. But I will not choose Progress in a city which struggles to grow in a jungle.

    So pretty much the capitol location determines entirely P v/s T. Of course certain Civs better go Authority rather, like Greece.
     
  7. HixBozo

    HixBozo Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2020
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    Most Tradition players will say first building must be Monument asap. Fair enough. But consider actually rushing a worker. Why ? Because you want to "optimize" the birth of the +2 citizens. You might prefer +2 workers later when the cost of them is higher, rather than preferring them asap (the Monument). Keep that in mind and maybe rushing a worker is preferred before Monument.

    On the other hand you might want to asap the Monument on Progress. Because you want to capture the maximum possible effect of citizen growth. In other words rush production of Monument at the expense of growth and as soon as Progress is unlocked, start rushing growth.

    The Granary plays a critical role in both strategies. Extremely important building, most players I think start researching the technology immediately to unlock the granary asap. You want to time the granary perfectly, if possible, for maximum effect. For example, if you are Tradition you must build the granary in advance of unlocking Tradition for maximum effect of the granary. While with Progress you want to delay the granary for after Progress is unlocked, not before.
     
  8. Solic

    Solic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2020
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there a small mod mod out there that incorporates the 2 unit / 3 unit combinations from Civ 6? I quite dislike managing a large number of units, but it becomes necessary mid/lategame unfortunately.
     
    salty mud likes this.
  9. Jiggly

    Jiggly Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Does the AI have the ability to buy units and attack with them same turn cause I have had that happen twice in my current game where the Brazil didnt seem to have enough gold nor any religion aka zealotry and yet they purchased two swordsman to defend their city and attacked with them on the same turn.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  10. salty mud

    salty mud Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,944
    Location:
    die Schweiz
    I'm not aware of any, but do check out the Unit Path Viewer mod, if pathfinding is becoming a total chore. It shows units' destinations, their expected routes and, best of all, will automatically reroute units if there is a traffic jam. Much less cycling through units every turn.


    My own question: are there any mods that add Civ VI style labels to features like rivers, mountain ranges etc? It's a lovely bit of flavour and would really spice up and personalise campaigns.
     
    vyyt, Recursive and Solic like this.
  11. Deljade

    Deljade Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Messages:
    292
    Does the "Heat Wave" event expire? It does say permanent effect in the event overview.
     
  12. psparky

    psparky Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Gender:
    Male
    For the next 30 turns, drought events can start in your cities, which themselves last for 50 turns. The gap between Heat Wave events is at least 150 turns. Those are standard speed, some or all may be scaled by game speeds.

    I'm a bit surprised it shows as a permanent effect though.
     
    Deljade likes this.
  13. SuperNoobCamper

    SuperNoobCamper King

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Egypt
    AI has bonuses to production so it can do this if timed with any of the events that trigger their ABC bonus and it happens quite frequently.
    The other scenario is Authority's landsknechts and other units unlocked by authority's last policy; they can move the same turn they are purchased but cannot attack afaik.

    As someone who played progress for a very long period and experienced with different strategies to min/max it i would not say it's a weak tree, it's just different.
    • it's just the play it safe tree where the gap between floor and ceiling to what you can do with it is not as huge as Authority which can steamroll half of the map by the medieval era if min maxed well or just be a terrible execuse for a policy if you are isolated/barbarians are hunted by other civs/spawned to a neighbor you cannot defeat militarily/No CS to tribute; Progress is not so dependant on alot of variables and does not have as many moving parts to it compared to authority ... You just need enough space to expand early and turtle to get your infrastructure online.
    • Progress is not a strictly early game policy tree, it looks so lackluster especially in terms of culture generation *it was nerfed recently* but on the long run it provides you with a well established empire that can do whatever you like.
    • Progress is more of a generalist tree rather than being a specialised tree like authority or tradition
     
    vyyt likes this.
  14. Maelkoth

    Maelkoth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there a reason why I wouldn't be able to attack/capture a worker with melee units sometimes? I didn't notice it before this most recent beta version so I was thinking it might be a bug, but I also could be missing something. It just wont let me move into the hex with a worker/missionary etc sometimes. Sometimes it will work if i attack it with a different unit from a different angle, so it seems buggy to me. Thanks for any thoughts!
     
  15. General_Drax

    General_Drax Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Bologna, Italy
    Known bug. Already solved for next version as stated on github.
     
    Maelkoth likes this.
  16. SuperNoobCamper

    SuperNoobCamper King

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Egypt
    The fix was released and it's on the beta threadm
     
  17. vyyt

    vyyt Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Yes, there is! I will tell you the name when I get to my computer.
     
    salty mud likes this.
  18. vyyt

    vyyt Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    I don't think there is any, but you can try 2 units per tile / 3 units per tile mods. I think you can find them among the WHoward's pick'n'mix mods. You also need the related UI mod.

    But sadly, AI is not very good in combing/putting the right units together as far as I know.
     
    Solic and salty mud like this.
  19. Andresov

    Andresov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Doing more hotseats with a friend and we want to make it a bit crazier. Has anyone figured how to use ingame editor in multiplayer hotseat? I've tried putting it within the VP modlist folder which is inside the game DLC folder, like the other mods, but would be too good to work that way. Thoughts?
     
  20. BliTTzZ

    BliTTzZ Warlord

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    144
    Chose swap & optimize great works and my great work was given for free to another civ without receiving any great works in return. It's a bug?
     

Share This Page