1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions , Quick Answers

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by TaylorItaly, Jul 18, 2019.

  1. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It does and it may have coding to get it to, at times, select that promotion. I almost always set something up to make it possible whenever designing a new promotion tag though I'm not sure what I did with this tag in particular.

    The strength of weight it's given for selection can be somewhat apparent when you watch what they do with their units.

    The current local need for that tag's effect might actually be a factor in whether they would select such a promotion - though units are rarely trained where they are needed. Still, in the case of say a LE unit, for example, that happens to be promoting while in a city that's in danger of cultural revolt, they might be compelled to select a promotion that helps them prevent such revolt. Unfortunately, there aren't a lot of ways entertainer units can promote just because they were passively doing their job somewhere and that passive low grade xp income for more unit types is also a project in the works.

    However, it would need special coding in the AI to think to use the units for that purpose - aka, make some for this purpose and send them to where they need to be so that they can actively take part in keeping a revolt from happening.

    The unit AI plans I have coming together do include them actively having a unitAI type that is meant to address civil unrest issues. Such units would be created for that purpose, specialize their promotions for that purpose, and go where they are most needed to fulfill that purpose.

    Another thing the AI Entertainers might be doing is going around to try to fill out the buildings they can create in various towns. If they aren't seriously needed anymore for education control, they may start looking for fulfilling this aspect of what they can do - though it could be a fix that would've caused that because I don't recall it ever seeming to work previously but it's possible someone corrected something about that routine and this is what we see as a result.
     
  2. CainStar

    CainStar Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    203
    Is SVN still the best(only) way to get the latest versio of the mod?
     
  3. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Technically you can get the git version, though it's more involved to set up and will likely have bugs flash in and out of existence (an alpha version, if SVN is the beta). If you're familiar with git at all, the dev setup guide should be sufficient to get you set up, but if not, is probably easiest to stick with SVN unless you want to learn how to use git.

    Also: Join the discord if you want to have the really cutting edge content ^.^
     
    CainStar likes this.
  4. west india man

    west india man Immortal

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9,329
    Location:
    Brazil
    Why is it taking my Great Farmer 242 turns to place this Corn bonus on the tile north of Lautoka? :eek: I'm on Snail speed, Monarch difficulty and importing the corn from abroad. Additionally, where in the mod files can I see information about the Great Farmer (what he can plant where etc.)?

     
  5. MattCA

    MattCA Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    322
    Gender:
    Male
    def canBuild(self, argsList):
    iX, iY, iBuild, iPlayer = argsList​

    # Bonus placing builds
    CyPlot = GC.getMap().plot(iX, iY)
    if CyPlot and CyPlot.getBonusType(-1) < 0 and not CyPlot.isWater():
    szType = GC.getBuildInfo(iBuild).getType()
    if szType[:12] == "BUILD_BONUS_":
    iBonus = GC.getInfoTypeForString(szType[6:])​

    if iBonus > -1 and GC.getPlayer(iPlayer).getNumAvailableBonuses(iBonus):
    return 1​
    return 0​

    return -1 # Returning 0 means "No", 1 or greater means "Yes", and negative numbers means "continue this evaluation on the dll side".​
     
  6. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,254
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Just asking, but you do know that Snail Game speed is 12,000 turns right?
     
  7. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Great farmers are slow when they get introduced but there's a lot of build speedups to come afterward that soon makes them more relevant.
     
    west india man likes this.
  8. west india man

    west india man Immortal

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    9,329
    Location:
    Brazil
    What folder is that in?

    Well, yes, but I'm researching techs in 10-20 turns and building great wonders not much slower than that, so seeing something take over 200 turns is a bit startling :run:
     
  9. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    "Caveman2Cosmos\Assets\Modules\NotSoGood\AnimalPlacing\AnimalPlacing_CIV4UnitInfos.xml" contains the data for Great Famers I think; by upping the work rate you should be able to increase the work speed, but yeah snail + intention of great farmers being slow is, oof. At 15 turns a tech though, that's close to 15 techs before placing bonus which seems about right before later boosts, tbh.
     
    west india man likes this.
  10. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Great Farmer placements never took longer for me than 85ish turns, on Eons, even without promos, so someone must have 'recently' made them take longer.

    Apparently in the pedia under the resource it tells you (the terrains/features) where you can place it. If not, please report it in the bugs thread.
     
  11. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,700
    Location:
    Poland
    Great Farmer can place all known plants and animals anywhere.
    Resource you want to place must be already existing within your borders or be imported.
     
  12. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    They always took a long long time when first introduced but there are some 5 or 6 +50% build speed boosts that come up fairly quickly thereafter iirc.
     
  13. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,153
    Location:
    Norway
    That code doesn't handle how long a great farmer build will take, that is handled by the xml where the great farmer is defined.
    Great farmer is defined in "...\Assets\Modules\NotSoGood\AnimalPlacing\AnimalPlacing_CIV4UnitInfos.xml"
    <iWorkRate>500</iWorkRate> - Higher value means less turns for GF to build stuff..
     
  14. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,254
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Is it based on 1000?
     
  15. Kohnoshish

    Kohnoshish Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    I want to set victory conditions that the AI won't bug out trying (or not trying) to achieve. Which ones can the AI achieve?
    It looks like a Scientific victory is completely out of reach, since it requires space tiles, which I read that the AI is completely unprepared to handle?
    Does Mastery lead to less-than-optimal decisions by the AI? (a thread a while back mentioned that it would)
    Is the AI able to path correctly towards winning the Space Race (a thread a while back mentioned it would refuse to build the chemical plant necessary to make rocket fuel, for instance).
    Does the AI approach the other victory conditions (Time, Conquest, Domination, Cultural, Religious, and Diplomatic) in a decent way? I kind of want to avoid Conquest, Domination, and Religious just for the play style. Does Cultural still depend on just having 3 highly cultured cities? Does the AI optimize score+survivability for the "default" option of Time (and does it react appropriately to surviving until the end of Time)?
     
  16. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,153
    Location:
    Norway
    Not sure what you mean.
    It's just a relative value, it is relative to the iTime value defined for each build.
    Gatherer has an iWorkRate value of 100, while its builds have a typical iTime value of 200-300.
    Great farmer has an iWorkRate of 500, while all its builds have an iTime value of 2 000.
    iWorkRate is modified by techs, while iTime is modified by terrain and features.
     
  17. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,254
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Thanks for the info.

    My question about the base value comes from long ago when koshling 1st started to Mod for StrategyOnly and C2C. Many Modifiers back then had base values of 100. But some where changed to base 1000 for more granularity. This is why I asked what I asked.
     
  18. dmd175

    dmd175 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    Mountains
    What are these jumps in the AI's (Arabia) culture graph? Settled a GA I thought but I don't remember seeing GA born flags.
    Spoiler :


    When selecting cities from the map, many tiles are circled - I've seen blue, green, red, yellow. I can't find in the forums, or clearly figure out do they mean worked/unworked, not fully improved, or some other BUG/interface guidance.
    Spoiler :


    Thanks!
     
  19. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    This is a bug option that tells you what tiles are being worked and can be improved, are improved, with bonus, etc.

    Spoiler pic :
    upload_2020-10-21_14-6-26.png
    No clue about the culture graph; could be traits if you're playing with developing leaders, completion of a wonder, few other things.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2020
    dmd175 likes this.
  20. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,254
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    This might also be that a city or several in that Empire have/has achieved a Higher Cultural Level.
     

Share This Page