1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Questions , Quick Answers

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by TaylorItaly, Jul 18, 2019.

  1. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Europe
    sorry, you say "good single core" and refer to a i9 with 8 cores? 7 of 8 wasted for nothing?
    I5 or lower should fit the requirement, if it is fast, or what?
     
  2. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    I just recommended the CPU with the best single core performance, you didn't give any constraints on your question other than what CPU to recommend. I recommend the one with the best single core performance. If you have a price point or whatever then better specify it.

    /edit:
    "7 of 8 wasted for nothing?"
    Modern CPUs will overclock a single core to increase its performance if the other cores are idle.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
  3. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,369
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tough to get the fastest single core performance without the industry assuming you want more cores as well these days.
     
  4. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Europe
    what is with
    Intel Pentium G4560 3,50GHz
    Intel Core i3 7350K 4,2 GHz (Core i3 6320: 3,9 GHz)
    if not, why not?

    The PC is dedicated for C2C ONLY !
     
  5. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Here: https://www.cpubenchmark.net/singleThread.html
    Any CPU can play this game, the faster the single core performance the better. Not much point asking about specific CPUs, just buy the best one you can for what you want to spend.
     
  6. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Europe
    question is not what CPU "can play" it, but what CPU I need to get a fluent game. I have an i7 with 3,3 GHz and in late game a turns needs up to 20 min to get processed. (with the C2C UEM Map of Pit2015 )
     
  7. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Define fluent in numbers then, or you are just asking how long a piece of string is. Late game shouldn't be 20 mins though, what game version are you playing?
     
  8. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,142
    Location:
    Poland
    Sounds like bug (or V39), upload save.
    Typical turn time reduction compared to V39 is around 50%, may be more if original turn time was over 10 minutes.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
    billw2015 likes this.
  9. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Actually I think 25%? FinalRelease reduced by 50% and alberts and mine fixes were another 50% on top of that for average rounds I thought (maybe I remember optimistically!). Also, like you say, there are bugs we fixed that would cause extreme end turn times. The first one I encountered (which initially lead me here) caused 4 min rounds to jump to 17 minute rounds! I know of none of these remaining, so I am very interested if we found another.
     
  10. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,142
    Location:
    Poland
    Apparently he wants 2x - 5x slower game than it should be and constant MAFs because he dislikes PPIO design.
    PIT's scenario (double Gigantic map with 40 AIs) is much more playable with all those fixes - he plays on that scenario.
     
    billw2015 likes this.
  11. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Can't really help with that then, there is no CPU that can fix the perf bugs.
     
  12. Unmei

    Unmei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Hey there, quick question about the SVN releases:

    Last time I played, whenever I updated the SVN, my BUG settings reset. Is there any way for me to keep my settings from SVN release to the next? It's a minor inconvenience, but still.
     
  13. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    That shouldn't happen. When was "last time you played"?
     
  14. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,142
    Location:
    Poland
    I can't reproduce this. I used assert DLL, so I don't have to wait for final release lol.

    It doesn't happen on SVN too.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
  15. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    When I update the SVN I play on, I create a completely new Caveman2Cosmos folder. Maybe you do something different.

    A new Caveman2Cosmos folder has no UserSettings, so unless I copy mine over from the previous, they are reset to default (whatever 'PPIO' generates).

    Does that clarify anything, or am I missing something?

    @Unmei : save your UserSettings (folder in Caveman2Cosmos root folder) from before the update, and copy it back in afterwards.
     
  16. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you are playing on a version from before the PPIO merge, there was a bug introduced between 10528 and 10729: it increased [my] turn times from 3-4 mins to 18-23 mins.
     
  17. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,369
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    You shouldn't need to do that except in rare circumstances. Simply updating should be sufficient - oh unless you don't have the SVN repository in the mods folder, then yes, you need to cause lots of c drive clutter by deleting and recopying. Make sure to defrag the drive now and then.
     
  18. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,369
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Is that a current issue?
     
  19. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,345
    Location:
    Norway
    Updating from a revision before 10722 to 10722 or later requires a userSetting reset. At 11038 bill made the game automatically reset it if it had not been reset after passing 10722.
    In other words, updating to 10722-11037 required you to manually delete the userSetting folder, it is automatically deleted and recreated if you update from 10721 or earlier to 11038 or later.

    There's currently no way around this one time userSetting-reset-point found at revision 10722.
     
    billw2015 likes this.
  20. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    No, turn times for me are back down to 2-3 mins. Thus primarily of interest to someone playing a version from before the PPIO merge.
     

Share This Page