1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Realism Invictus

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modpacks' started by Walter Hawkwood, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. Hian the Frog

    Hian the Frog TR Designer and XML

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Near Nancy, FRANCE
    It's the first part of the future RevMod Component of RI.
    Note that it is far from beeing finished. :cry:
    Don't be too impatient. It could take time to finish.
     
  2. Toys®Us

    Toys®Us Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Shawinigan
    This is one of the best Mod ever done.

    Nothing more to say.

    Just: Thank you.

    :c5faith:
     
  3. Routalempi

    Routalempi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Finland
    I can't wait! Lets just hope merging those components works fine and doesn't take too many years... :D
     
  4. sami_snow

    sami_snow Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Is there any chance of getting a Felipe Dos leader for Spain? just asking because he's my personal favorite monarch

    edit: also, the perfect mongoose script is not placing any floodplains at all. anyone having this issue? can I fix it? It makes playing egypt sad.
     
  5. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    Is there any help I can offer? I have a very basic understanding of XML, so I could do some simple stuff with XML files for you. When I say basic I mean I have messed around with XML in RI for my own play style and not managed to break anything! Any menial tasks I would be happy to try and help.
     
  6. Hian the Frog

    Hian the Frog TR Designer and XML

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,133
    Location:
    Near Nancy, FRANCE
    Thanks but you won't be very helpul. We 're not speaking of XML there but hard code. Only Josh has the knowledge the create this component. I don't have, Walter don't have (or only some basics). So, we all must wait for him. ;)
     
  7. PKSRoman

    PKSRoman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    i found another error:
    when you unload slaves at enemy city, u can hurry up his production. also you know what he actually build
    i have latest SVN.
     
  8. Ahnarras

    Ahnarras Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Hello RI team :)
    It's been a long time since i was able to play R:I, but i can see it's still improving (and it was already good before :D ). I'm really excited about the new revolution component !

    In my last game, i was able to gather a few thing that (i think) could be improved. Maybe it can be helpful ^_^

    - somes units/building, which are "distinctive" for many nations, have more distinctive text than real stats text on them. Can be a bit confusing. Maybe hide the distinctive lines and keep them for the civpedia?

    - since the change to the medical stuff in SVN, i sometime encounter plague that won't kill a citizen the first turn. I always tough plague add a 100% killrate if the city has more than 4 population. Was i really unlucky, did you change it to be less deadly, or is it unintended?

    - The second archer (with power 4) is available with archery tech, but require iron working. Seems a bit confusing. Wouldn't it be better that his icon is put in the iron working tech, and he require archery tech to be build?

    - When you encounter a new civ, they automatically start a 1pt in value of espionnage. Not a problem in vanilla game, but in R:I game, with sometime 30+ game, it is tiresome to switch it to 0 everytime you encounter a new civ. Could it be make that a new civ start with 0 in espionnage value, so it won't mess with how your esp point are granted? Or, at least, make the " - all " button works in the world builder mode ?

    - still playing egypt on huge world map (someday, i will be able to finish a game, or at least see the medieval era xD ) and i still start with the berber already discover. I know it's very particular and not a priority at all, but i would love if you could switch them off ^^

    - in huge world map, barbarian fort are way to powerful to be destroy in early game. I understand why. But the AI doesn't seems to, and i always see somes empire wasting their whole army on a fort (usually, carthage vs berber or ethiopia vs west african), rebuilding it, wasting it again... It tend to make them really weak, and the nation having no kingdom with fort near to them finish by eating them. Not sure if something could be done about that... maybe cancel war declaration against kingdom before gun powder tech ? Or give them a huge diplo bonus that is cancel when gun powder is discover?

    Thanks for your time, and i'm looking forward to test the revoluton component :D
     
  9. Jorad

    Jorad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    I can sort-of confirm. It sometimes places floodplains on the map, but often only a few tiles and sometimes none.
    There are very few deserts placed outside of the poles in general in that mapscript and this seems to cause the issue.
     
  10. Antmanbrooks

    Antmanbrooks Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    The Cheshire Plain.
    I have messed around with the Perfect Mongoose map script and came up with a good compromise. It creates more habitable land, less desert in general but better poles, with more tundra and some ice. I could tweak it some more if people would like? I called this one Eden, because it's more hospitable. I play on a Giant Earth Map size, so I'm not sure how this plays on smaller maps?
     
  11. lordofcivs

    lordofcivs Lord of The Civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Civland
    Honestly, for me this is the Civ 5. And I wish it was really Civ 5. It's far far better than the game Sid Mier's developed for Civ 5.
     
  12. cfeyyaz

    cfeyyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Hi, I came once again with some suggestions and ideas:

    0. First of all some praises:

    a) I criticized the implementation of str 4 archer before, since i thought, it twists the balance to the favor of the defender too much. But after playing a while testing different styles of plays I am completely convinced that it was a very good change.

    b) The cottages, hamlets etc. work very well now. Since you can't produce many specialists at the early stages of the game, I feel myself forced to build a cottage or two in some of my cities. And indeed I realize that, as cottages grow, I feel they become the backbone of my economy. They are now quite strong, but at the same time spread annoying epidemics, and they can be pillaged. A very nice trade-off!

    c) The decision to put despotism under bronze working is good. I also liked to put swordsman under armor crafting. Now we have a much longer bronze age and interesting battles.

    d) I'd also like to thank you for implementing my ideas about trade fairs, levee and many more.

    And now to the main part :)
    First of all, small issues:

    1. How about the option of cultivating cotton just like corn, wheat etc.?

    2. Celtic UU Gaesatae doesn't upgrade to anything, but it probably should.

    3. The Persian UU Immortal becomes available too early with archery, and enables a very early aggressive and dynamic play against your hopeless opponents. How about at least Archery+Woodworking or Archery+Bronze Working?

    4. Those scrubs along the river banks are annoying. They are placed near the starting location as a part of starting position sweetening to cut of epidemics and unhealthiness, but I'd prefer to have flood plains anyway. So they actually destroy a cool starting location. These scrubs are aesthetically pleasing, but they don't have any effect on gameplay, so I would either consider removing them altogether, or at least wouldn't let them appear at the starting position. (Or you may boost the scrubs near the rivers)

    5. Would you consider that some of these gives you the opportunity to turn one citizen into a priest: Stonehenge, Statue of Zeus, Oracle

    6. Leader with legislator trait should maybe be able to build the patent office 50% faster.

    7. I would set Mathematics as required technology for Academy.

    Some suggestions about the tech tree:

    7. How about making storytelling a prerequisite of the philosophy? Kind of makes sense...

    8. What are your thoughts about integrating the religious techs better into the tech tree? I would propose polytheism as a prerequisite for literature (like in the vanilla civ), and maybe ritual might be a prerequisite for code of laws or dynasticism. I don't know...

    9. Taoism is most of the time the firstly discovered religion. But, actually it appears around 5. century BC and so. So maybe switch it to later tech?

    Some more important issues:

    10. In previous versions, the science works went obsolete, now they are only discontinued. It is kind of dull, because you know which city produces the most :science:, and very probably this city will stay as the main science city throughout the game. So it is a no-brainer to build all great scientific works in this single city. I'd either go back to the old system and strengthen the science works a bit, or I'd somehow limit the number of great works on a city by 1 great work/(era*city).

    11. Once again, I'd like to beg you to change the city advisor system, which makes poor decisions. It completely neglects city growth:

    a) In a newly built size 1 city, which can grow up to size 4 without reaching the unhappiness or unhealthiness cap, a plains+hill+forest tile is preferred over a grassland+cattle+pasture while building a carpenter.

    The decisions are also inconsistent. I was playing as Mentewab (Philosophical + Industrious). The following things happen:

    b) It prefers scientist specialist over a plains+hill+forest - which is fine.
    So: 3 :science: + 3 :gp: > 3 :hammers:

    c) At some point, I wanted to produce great prophet as soon as possible so I started to run theocracy+organized religion with a sacerdotal palace and also managed to build St. Peter's Cathedral. That means I had great priests that produces 2 :hammers: and 4 :gold:. I also had workshops and sawmills, so my craftsmen produced 4 :hammers: which is also pretty cool. But the problem is, craftsmen are prefered over priests, that means:
    4 :gold: + 3 :gp: < 2 :hammers:
    This contradicts definitely with the point b)

    I would really like to know, according to which principles these choices are made. Is there a code or so that I could look at?

    12. After the change in tech transfer from 50-25 to the 30-15 system, the pace of the game slowed down a lot. I am not totally unhappy with the fact that the eras take longer so you can enjoy each eras distinctive military units. However, because the new techs come a bit too rare, I end up building everything in every city and then I had to build military units all the time, because there is nothing else I can do. I end up having a huge army. So it seems that I can't even neglect my military (which happened pretty often in my earlier games), because I don't have a choice in the first place!

    So what I would do is to speed up the technological advance and/or slow down the unit and building construction slightly. I would also consider adjusting settler :hammers: cost, worker's building speeds and cottage -> hamlet -> village -> town evolution speed for this slower pace.

    I have changed the iresearchpercent in the gamespeedinfo from 310 to 250, and I feel that the game is already running a bit too fast. So I feel that a slight adjustment should do the trick.
     
  13. cfeyyaz

    cfeyyaz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Further complaint about city automatization:

    I have a 2-sized city, it has two unworked wine tiles on riverside plain with 3 :food: 1 :hammers: 2:commerce:, very cool. I go into the city screen, clear all the tiles, then turn on the automate the city automatization. Both tiles are selected, which is fine. Then I change the production, the city automatization stops working one wine and instead goes for the 3 :hammers: hill+forest. Then I keep changing the constructed building from carpenter to hunters lodge to warrior to the carpenter etc. , and the city automatization swings between the wine tiles and sticks to the 3 :hammers: tile. So far so good, we learn that for the AI 3 :hammers: is as good as 3 :food: 1 :hammers: 2 :commerce:. Then I have another 1-sized city. It has a 3 :food: 1 :hammers: 1 :commerce: tile, as well as a 3:hammers: tile. Then I do the same operation, that I did above. The result is that the choice once again swings between 3 :food: 1 :hammers: 1 :commerce: and 3:hammers: tiles. So, for AI 3 :food: 1 :hammers: 2:commerce:, 0 :food: 3 :hammers: 0:commerce:, 3 :food: 1 :hammers: 1:commerce: are all the same.
     
  14. Routalempi

    Routalempi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Finland
    I was about to give some feedback on SVN 4888, but it seems like cfeyyaz above already described my thoughts pretty well. I overally like the recent changes, but these three things could use some kind of a tweak:

    While lowering tech transfer values was definitely a step to right direction, game speed did indeed slow down a little bit too much. I guess the simplest way to combat this is to modify iresearchpercent, or tech costs over the board.

    This is the only point I don't really agree with. I like the fact that in order to find a religion you have to go slightly off the normal tech route, which makes them more difficult to get.

    Also there is this graphical glitch in economics advisor screen that blocks the exit button on it:

     
  15. sami_snow

    sami_snow Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    hi guys. I feel like the great scientist wonders are a little too good. maybe the multiplier bonus should be lowered a bit? to 20 or even 15?
     
  16. Routalempi

    Routalempi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Finland
    Agreed. I think the biggest problem with Great works of Science is that you can stack them all to a one city, which eventually makes a huge amount of research beakers. It seems like AI doesn't really like building those things that much either, so you are free to get almost as many as you want. One way of nerfing them could be making a cap for science works per city, or make them go obsolete at some point as they went before. Or just lowering the procents like you suggested.
     
  17. [Y]

    [Y] Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    I'm going to selfishly re-propose an idea that I suggested a few years back...

    I think it would be very fitting if religious buildings required the technology for a given religion before they could be built. So, say, any civilization could convert to Judaism and receive its basic benefits, but it won't be able to construct any Jewish temples or monasteries until it researches Monotheism. It's always bothered me that I can be a major Hindu or Zoroastrian civilization, equipped with that religion's great temples and world wonders, and without having ever touched Polytheism or Dualism.

    Additionally, there's also the option of making religions spread more quickly throughout a civ if it researched the related technology. People would be more likely to adopt a religion if it fit a belief system with which they are already familiar.
     
  18. Drakarska

    Drakarska Epic Dadness

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,583
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    Then what's the point of making a specialist city if your wanting to handicap the player for using a valid tactic? Especially for us Dove's/Builders who use this method for a VC other than Dom/Con?

    Ideally, it would be better to have the AI use this feature to its advantage rather than penalizing the player. Just my 2:commerce:
     
  19. HannibalBarka

    HannibalBarka We are Free

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    3,954
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Humm, I don't see why you would put all great works in the same city unless you have the GL for example because it allows two additional GS. I usually have more than 1 "science" city because some are used in the beginning when farms and specialist can give more science and others later on when towns come into play. SGW give 25% more science but that is, like all other % multiplier, additive not multiplicative, so what matters is how much basic beakers a city produces. What actually bothers me is that GS are now just powerful compared to all other GP. We really need G merchant GW, GP GW and GA GW that are of comparable worth. the only GP that compares to a GS now is a GE to hurry a wonder and a GP if you have a HC of a "big" religion.
     
  20. Routalempi

    Routalempi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Finland
    I get what you mean, speciaIizing cities has always been a valid strategy in civ games and that's how things should work. I just find great works to be a little bit too good at the moment and I end up building a city with lots of them in every game I play. When there's a tactic you feel like it's always mandatory to do, it gets slightly dull and boring with time in my opinion.

    And yeah, AI should definitely use those works to it's advantage more.

    Most of the time I still find myself doing a one major science city where putting all of those great works makes the most difference. GL+Cheomisongdae is an amazing combo for such a city, by the way. It's difficult to get on higher difficulty levels though. I completely agree with you about the balance of different GP:s and RI team seems to be actually doing something with great merchants at the moment in SVN.

    Also, this will be the last time I write a post with a smartphone... That damn piece of trash already deleted my post twice. :lol:
     

Share This Page